We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like absolute royals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Watergate Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Watergate Bangkok to your Saves list
Amari Watergate Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive: Save 15% Now
Ranked #48 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Treated like absolute royals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have never felt more special then when I stayed at the Watergate. The staff here are so lovely, the rooms are so luxurious with insane views of the Bangkok city. It's just a really beautiful and stylish hotel. The gym is fanastic - equipped with personal trainers, squash rooms and heaps of weight machines. The pool is beyond refreshing and the mojito I got on my first night was hands down the best of my life. Also, really recommend going the Thai On 4 - the restaurant inside the building which has amazing satay chicken.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Lucie C,
Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience during your recent stay
Again thank you for your comments and on behalf of the rest of the team here at Amari Watergate Bangkok, I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,727
    674
    182
    50
    28
See reviews for
527
883
201
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shell Cove, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We travel to Thailand often as we find it a great place to be and when we are in Bangkok then the Amari Watergate is the best place to be as far as location, pool facility and restaurant not to mention the quality, cleanliness and standards of the room facilities I say 5star quality.

Perfect location for any type of shopping you are interested in, walking distance to a great variety of markets, Puntip for all your it gismos, and many more.

Comfort fantastic, service fantastic you cannot ask for more.

Room Tip: Any room allocated to you is fine they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Bob156,
First of all thank you for your continuous loyalty. I am delighted to read that our team was able to provide you yet again with a memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in your home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed as a returning guest recently with my family three days at the Amari Watergate and felt home right away. The hotel provides an excellent service at high standards. The staff is very welcoming and makes you feel comfortable just after you entered the lobby. Should you have any special needs, the Concierge will pull the necessary strings and make the impossible possible.
The Watergate is close to many shopping facilities at different price levels. If you do not mind to walk a short distance you can get easily to the next sky train station and avoid getting stuck in Bangkok’s traffic.
The breakfast buffet is one of the most divers I experienced and serves probably every international culinary morning delight one could have. The rooms are spacious, cosy and well maintained.
The hotel is no bargain but worth every single bath you spend.

Room Tip: Pamper yourself and book a room at the executive floors. The executive lounge has excellent faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear martin_maier,
we thank you for your lovely comments, I am glad that you made us your home away from home and I do look forward to hosting you in your Bangkok home very soon.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I recently visited the Amari Watergate in Bankok with my family. We had an amazing time. We stayed in a beautiful Executive Room on the 31st floor, and we could make use of the Executive Lounge on the 32nd floor. This lounge is where we had breakfast and where we often spent a few hours in the early evening, being served with some nice appetizers and lovely sparkling wine. The staff at the Executive Lounge were always really friendly, helpful, interested in our day, and they always remembered what we liked to eat and drink. Ms Chatrapee Kantariyo, the Executive Assistant Manager, was also very helpful to us, as she often approached us and asked about our plans and offered us help when we needed it. Apart from the amazing Executive Lounge, the hotel provides everything you could possible need or want. There are some nice restaurants and bars, a comfortable pool, a fitness centre including 2 squash courts, a spa, a taxi service, etc. One could easily spend the whole stay inside the hotel, as everything is provided there. The location of the Amari Watergate is as great as all the other facilities. The hotel is at the heart of everything. It is surrounded by many small shops as well as many huge shopping centres, many bars and restaurants and the railway station and klong boat stop. All in all, I definitely recommend the Amari Watergate in Bangkok. Iris Peters

Room Tip: I definitely recommend booking a room on the Executive Floor with access to the Executive Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Iris P,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience in our property. I am delighted to read that you have a lovely time and I do look forward to welcome you back soon in your now home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at the Amari Suite recently for 3 days on a business trip. Bang opposite to Platinum mall, well there's good and bad in it! Also be careful when you get into a cab from elsewhere- the drivers take you to another Amari and pretend that they did not hear the 'watergate' properly. Located about 1 - 1.5 hours from the airport, it usually costs about 250-300 baht to reach.

The pool, gym, 32nd floor lounge are some of the strong points. Thai are super nice & hospitable by nature, so wont talk about the staff (its a given in Thailand). Bathrooms are superbly laid out, room itself is very comfortable with all the usual comforts (TV, mini fridge etc).

The biggest disappointment is the Food. Vegetarian choice is non-existent (except for veg and fruits) during breakfast, Lunch is a lean spread and Thai on 4, after all the hype, turned out to be a dud. They served meat to vegetarians even with a big flag on the table that mentioned "Vegetarian". I found the wine choice to be very limited at the 32nd floor. All in all, if you would like good food, you have to step out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Food is way to expensive for the quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Lvlakshman2008,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on you recent visit in Bangkok. I am very sorry and disappointed to read about your stay and genuinely appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our services are up to standards.
Please rest assured that your comments regarding the vegetarian food options and wines have been shared and appropriate actions have been taken; once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and I do hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in your upcoming visit to Bangkok to redeem ourselves.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Hotel is very good with clean rooms , a posh look, vibrant restaurant and amenities(Swimming pool gym etc). The lounge is so good and had thai women playing Ranad in traditional dress!.

If you stay for business/shopping trips this is ideal right in the middle of shopping district opposite to Platinum mall!. Breakfast choices are good and convenient distance from public transport.

Happening places in Thailand is slightly far away for party travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear priyamukhi,
We would like to thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay and do hope to host you again soon in your now home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hotel location is good. Walking distance to shopping and also many eating place nearby. The room is spacious and clean. Staff are polite and helpful. It's easy to get a cab or tuk tuk along the main road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear 93nico,
We would like to thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay and do hope to host you again soon in your home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Watergate Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.