We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis amidst the mayhem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Watergate Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Watergate Bangkok to your Saves list
Amari Watergate Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive: Save 15% Now
Ranked #48 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis amidst the mayhem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights before Northern Thailand tour and then for two nights after. Due to information mix up with flights we arrived at about 3am but staff registered us very quickly. Room was large with huge, comfortable bed. Hotel is very well looked after and staff were very friendly and informative. Swimming pool on 8th floor was great (we hung about here on last day as we had to check out at 2pm but not picked up until 8pm) Lovely pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and the staff here were fantastic. On last night we had dinner in Henry J Beans which is in the lower level of hotel, very nice but the chips with chilli powder might not be to everyone's taste.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear BigredAberdeen,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and all aspects from the early check in, friendly and informative staff, large bedroom and pool area contributed to this.

I will be sure to pass your kind words to the team. We genuinely appreciate you taking the time out to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    675
    182
    50
    28
See reviews for
529
884
201
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co Meath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely hotel. very central. Had our room ready early as we arrived at 9am after a long haul flight. Great service. In a nice part of the city. Lovely room with comfy bed. Has that big hotel feel where it is very busy but everything runs well. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear worstnightmare,

Thank you for your brilliant review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such a great stay and that all aspects from your early check in, good service, location and comfortable bed all contributed to this.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and I hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok again.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location, great service, great room ! Huge room , clean and nice ambience, shopping centres just surrounding the hotel , you can just back to your room when you are tired of full with shopping stuffs !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear ngsiewcheng ,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that all aspects from the room size and shopping location contributed to this.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I Stay for 2 nights in this hotel during April 2013. i found it has a nice Room, clean and big TV. this hotel serve a good breakfast with variety of food from western, Indian, Chinese and etc.

There is a nice swimming pool at 8th floor, which also has a nice night pool view.

Opposite is The Platinum Fashion City shopping mall. Surround with local bazaar and store. Good place for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear chingsiang,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and the room, breakfast options, pool area and shopping location all contributed to this.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

checked in 0703 this morning, when i arrive at the exesutive lobby, my breakfast favorite was ready on the table. this i awsome place. if you thinking of traveling to bangkok severeal time and your first visit was good,at amari. it just get better better

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Fagerheim,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I am delighted you had another enjoyable stay with us and great to hear our service is continually improving. We always try to both remember and anticipate our guests needs so it was great to hear your breakfast was ready and waiting for you on arrival.

We really appreciate your recommendation and for taking the time out to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tel aviv i
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great hotel, very nice and clean room, huge full equip gym, huge sweeming pool, good location- just in front of platinum mall. they have very helpfull information desk wich you can ask 24 hours watever you need. geat breakfat and exellent valeu for your money.
we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We paid few more bhats and upgraded to the executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear ddffuunn,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with all aspects from the room, location, breakfast options and helpul information desk contributing to this.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Amari Watergate Hotel. Be specific when telling the cab driver which Amari hotel you are going to or you might end up elsewhere. The location was fantastic. Platinum Mall was directly opposite our hotel. Other malls like Central World were within walking distance too although in the Bangkok heat, I wanted to walk as little as possible outdoors.

We had a few minor hiccups with the staff at the hotel. The lady at the desk who served us seemed to be a bit confused about the bedding we wanted in our room because we had three people ina room. After a while, another staff member came and explained to her what we wanted so luckily that was resolved quickly. Another time was when I was in the shower. We had asked for extra toiletries/towels so a lady came to put it in our bathroom while I was still in the shower. My husband said to her a few times that someone was in the bathroom ( the door was also closed). However she didn't seem to understand and she walked straight in to put the things down. I had switched off the water then so I was awkwardly standing behind the glass not knowing what to do. When she turned to leave, she then realized where I was so she quickly apologized and rushed out. I wasn't angry. It's quite a funny story to tell actually. I just put it down to her not understanding english properly, although she should have checked to see if someone was in the bathroom seeing that the door was closed.

Besides these few minor incidents, the staff were generally polite and helpful. We had to go on a tour at 4:30am and asked the staff if they could pack us breakfast since the buffet breakfast didn't open until later. They organized all this and we ended up with a massive box for each person filled with different Danishes, sandwiches, a croissant, a banana, another fruit and a bottle of water. Wow, I wasn't really expecting so much food at 4:30am in the morning but I wasn't complaining!

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was big. It was nice to come to a room with fruits and a box of treats for us.

The buffet breakfast was excellent. They had a wide variety of food - Western, Japanese, Chinese and Indian. The food was tasty and of a good quality. All the other buffet breakfasts we had after the Bangkok leg of our trip could not compare to this.

I would definitely recommend this place to others, especially given its great location and buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear C A,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and despite the few hiccups, the overall experience was good.

With regard to to those hiccups, thank you for being so understanding, especially with the bathroom incident. Please do accept my apologies for this happening and we have spoken to the housekeeping team abut this to ensure it does not happen again.

I am delighted we were able to arrange your breakfast boxes for you as it seems such a shame to lose out due to early departure when you have it included in your package.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write, we genuinely appreciate it and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#35 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Watergate Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.