We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Watergate Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Watergate Bangkok to your Saves list
Amari Watergate Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive: Save 15% Now
Ranked #51 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,685 Reviews
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is located in the Prathunam area of Bangkok. The fashion mall & pentip plaza is located accross the street.

We travelled with a 2 year old child. We were provided with a descent crib on request. The buffet breakfast is good with quiet a good choice of spread. Rooms are comfortable. Washrooms are clean. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the fashion mall for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Horizonseaker,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was delighted to read you had such a comfortable stay and that the breakfast options, rooms and good location all contributed to this.

We really appreciate your taking the time to write and hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,740
    678
    186
    53
    28
See reviews for
536
890
202
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solna, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was at this hotell from 8 mar - 13 mar with my boyfriendd :).
Just entering the hotell was amazing and wonderfull.

The staff is kind, happy and so helpfull.
the rooms was just amazing we had a grand delux room 2508 :)
And the view from that rooms is breathtaking.

The resturantes in the hotell are perfect.
amazing staff good tasty food and fast service :).

There is a spa section in this hotell wich is just amazing breeze spa.
Most wonderfull massage and very kind staff there.


I will come back here again it was the best hotell during my thailand
stay.

Room Tip: room 2508 is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear ChristineNii.

Thank you for your amazing review of the hotel. I was so pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay and that the spa, views from the room, restaurants and most importantly the friendly staff all contributed to this.

We were really delighted to read that our hotel was the best during your trip to Thailand. We really appreciate you taking the time to write and share you experience and sincerely hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards.

Ciaran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you want to stay with comfort and services with smiles and make you feel so welcome and want to come back time and time again this is a hotel for you.

The shopping center just right out at the front door and a little bit further Central World, Paragon and Gayson shopping center just 5 mins walk from the hotel.

I stay on the 32nd Executive Floor which had been redone the whole floor and now they build the balcony just outside the Executive floor lounge with the stunning view, at night time you can see all the night light lit up the whole BKK from there.

At least but not last I want to say thank you to Khun Pierre that made my 60th Birthday at Heichinrou Chinese Restaurant such a special and memorable day by came down to greet and wish me a happy birthday personally, for the past 10yrs that I stay here I always regard Amari Watergate as my second home.

Suwanee Macleod

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Suwanee15,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was so pleased to read you had yet another great stay with us and we were honoured you chose to spend such a special birthday celebrating with us. I will most definetly pass your kind comments to Mr Pelletier ( Pierre) who will be very grateful to receive them as are all of the team here.

I was delighted to see you approve of the refubishment also and the new balcony which is proving very popular.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experience and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok very soon.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second stay at Watergate and my 3rd at an Amari Hotel. Great location and facility for business conferences and corporate training workshops. Conference facilities are more than adequate, in fact, very good. Technical support, ambiance etc highly conducive to getting on with work, without hassle or distractions. Wi-Fi is reliable, vastly improved from a few years ago, when it was a mixture of weak signals and virus hit networks.

The food is brilliant : I loved the Sushi section at the buffet. A mouth watering array of eastern and western thrown into the vast buffet.

The swimming pool and well equipped gym are a good way to unwind/ workout.

The location of the hotel itself is proximate to all the favorite shopping venues. You get good street bargains just yards away from the hotel.

Overall, highly recommended conference venue.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view of the Bankok skyline, with a panoramic view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear danielceylon,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was really pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us and that the location, food options at lunch, conference facilities, technical support and pool area all added to this.

I was especially pleased to hear the wifi has improved from your last visit as we have upgraded the system last year.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and thank you for your great recommendation, we do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel was great, staff very helpful with our extremely early check-in, rooms were fine, beds good and the breakfast was wonderful. We stayed for 2 weeks and there is so much variety we tried something new every day. The hotel is in a great position for shopping, Pratunam market on the doorstep and malls across the road. For cheap eating the foodcourts nearby are excellent. The Skytrain was just a short walk away and this links you quickly with the rest of the city. Beware the tuk-tuk drivers at the door, you have to make a detour to their gem factory but its fun to take the trip, the souveniers were reasonable and it leaves you right at MBK which is wonderful for shopping (top floor for bargains and floor below for good food) Pool area is great for relaxing and we spent the day there, using the wonderful bathroom facitilies while we waited for our late night flight out..

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view of the city lights and high up is better. Select a room far awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear WallySteiniger,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was so pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that the good beds, breakfast choices, pool area and location all contributed to this. I was most pleased though to hear our staff were so welcoming and friendly.

I will be sure to pass your kind words to the team. We really appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experiences and hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to the Amari Watergate again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In the heart of bustling Bangkok, this is a lovely hotel. Our room was not ready on arrival after long flight from UK (ask for early check in if you want this) but manager was very helpful and arranged coffee and croissants for us while we waited. After that, we ended up with an upgraded room which was a bit too big for us (but lovely). Hotel was great for arranging trips which we used once. Room service, which we had one night, was lovely and very efficient. Breakfast was a feast of everything you could possibly ask for. Pool area was quite shadowy but nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Neillands18

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. I appreciate that any length of time to wait can be painful after a long flight but am glad we made that process a little easier with the coffee and croissants and that you received an upgraded room.

I am most pleased though to hear our team were effecient and helpful in planning your trips and hopefully making your experience in the city more relaxed and enjoyable.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to write and I hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have stayed many times in this hotel and recently the executive floor has been given a complete refurbishment. The work carried out has been well done and it makes for a more enjoyable setting for an early evening drink and snack during their 'happy hour'. Staff are friendly and very helpful with several speaking different languages.
While location is not suitable for people who want to have many bars on their doorstep it is idea for shopping with several large centers where you can buy just about anything.
BST (Siam) is well within walking distance so no problem in getting about Bangkok and as always there are many taxi cabs available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Happydays260856

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I am so pleased you had another enjoyable stay with us and that you got to experience the new Executive floor and lounge. Most importantly it was great to see that staff were friendly and helpful.

We really appreciate you taking the time out to write and hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Watergate Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.