We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb corporate training venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Watergate Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Watergate Bangkok to your Saves list
Amari Watergate Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive discount 10% !
Ranked #54 of 781 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb corporate training venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second stay at Watergate and my 3rd at an Amari Hotel. Great location and facility for business conferences and corporate training workshops. Conference facilities are more than adequate, in fact, very good. Technical support, ambiance etc highly conducive to getting on with work, without hassle or distractions. Wi-Fi is reliable, vastly improved from a few years ago, when it was a mixture of weak signals and virus hit networks.

The food is brilliant : I loved the Sushi section at the buffet. A mouth watering array of eastern and western thrown into the vast buffet.

The swimming pool and well equipped gym are a good way to unwind/ workout.

The location of the hotel itself is proximate to all the favorite shopping venues. You get good street bargains just yards away from the hotel.

Overall, highly recommended conference venue.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view of the Bankok skyline, with a panoramic view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear danielceylon,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was really pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us and that the location, food options at lunch, conference facilities, technical support and pool area all added to this.

I was especially pleased to hear the wifi has improved from your last visit as we have upgraded the system last year.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and thank you for your great recommendation, we do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    849
    226
    67
    30
See reviews for
665
1,071
225
551
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel was great, staff very helpful with our extremely early check-in, rooms were fine, beds good and the breakfast was wonderful. We stayed for 2 weeks and there is so much variety we tried something new every day. The hotel is in a great position for shopping, Pratunam market on the doorstep and malls across the road. For cheap eating the foodcourts nearby are excellent. The Skytrain was just a short walk away and this links you quickly with the rest of the city. Beware the tuk-tuk drivers at the door, you have to make a detour to their gem factory but its fun to take the trip, the souveniers were reasonable and it leaves you right at MBK which is wonderful for shopping (top floor for bargains and floor below for good food) Pool area is great for relaxing and we spent the day there, using the wonderful bathroom facitilies while we waited for our late night flight out..

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view of the city lights and high up is better. Select a room far awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear WallySteiniger,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was so pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that the good beds, breakfast choices, pool area and location all contributed to this. I was most pleased though to hear our staff were so welcoming and friendly.

I will be sure to pass your kind words to the team. We really appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experiences and hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to the Amari Watergate again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In the heart of bustling Bangkok, this is a lovely hotel. Our room was not ready on arrival after long flight from UK (ask for early check in if you want this) but manager was very helpful and arranged coffee and croissants for us while we waited. After that, we ended up with an upgraded room which was a bit too big for us (but lovely). Hotel was great for arranging trips which we used once. Room service, which we had one night, was lovely and very efficient. Breakfast was a feast of everything you could possibly ask for. Pool area was quite shadowy but nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Neillands18

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. I appreciate that any length of time to wait can be painful after a long flight but am glad we made that process a little easier with the coffee and croissants and that you received an upgraded room.

I am most pleased though to hear our team were effecient and helpful in planning your trips and hopefully making your experience in the city more relaxed and enjoyable.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to write and I hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have stayed many times in this hotel and recently the executive floor has been given a complete refurbishment. The work carried out has been well done and it makes for a more enjoyable setting for an early evening drink and snack during their 'happy hour'. Staff are friendly and very helpful with several speaking different languages.
While location is not suitable for people who want to have many bars on their doorstep it is idea for shopping with several large centers where you can buy just about anything.
BST (Siam) is well within walking distance so no problem in getting about Bangkok and as always there are many taxi cabs available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Happydays260856

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I am so pleased you had another enjoyable stay with us and that you got to experience the new Executive floor and lounge. Most importantly it was great to see that staff were friendly and helpful.

We really appreciate you taking the time out to write and hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel location is excellent, walking distance to Platinium mall (low quality/chaos), Pratanum street markets and Centrall World (high quality/polished), while Siam Paragon (high quality), Siam Square and MBK require taxi or a bit more sweaty walk. Tip: ask a map of the surrounding area from the concierge, it proved very handy. However, after you have shopped till dropped, the hotel provides excellent relaxation facilities. Pool area provides sun loungers, pool bar, superb if a bit expensive spa, nice gym and great views. Our DeLuxe room was a bit outdated and had clearly been a smoking room previously, but still we found the room nice and comfy with exceptional views over the city. Our Check-in procedure was a bit messy (we had the get-away package), otherwise service was on par with our high expectations. Bed and pillows were among the best ever. Overall we really enjoyed our experience.

Room Tip: We requested room from the higher floors and were given one from the 30th floor. Thanks Amari staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Maunolito,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. It was wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your experience and that the location, pool area and good bed and pillows all contributed to this.

Careful note has been made about your check in and will be addressed. Regarding the room decor, we appreciate that we need to keep our product updated and we are currently enhancing all the rooms, as you will appreciate with a hotel of this size it does take time.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experience and I really hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to the hotel.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great location, fantastic service! Located in the heart of the city...everything that you'd want to experience is a stones throw away.
The hospitality is commendable...the staff looked after our various needs with a smile and did everything possible to make our stay more than comfortable. Would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Check out a few options before picking up your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Partha101

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel, it was brilliant to read that your stay with us was so enjoyable and that our friendly staff played such a key role in this.

Your kind words of recognition are great received and I will be sure to share them with all the team here.

I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

An excellent hotel! Staff are absolutely dedicated to make you feel special. Location great central location for shopping. We used the hotel's car for pick up and return to the airport. All drivers were on time and we felt safWill stay again on any future trips to Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear PJMckenzie,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was so pleased to read that your experience with us was such a positive one and most importantly our staff made your stay so special.

It was also great to hear our drivers were on time for your pick ups, that always starts your journey off on a positive note.

We always strive to ensure our guests have a brilliant stay and your kind words of recognition will prove a great moral boost when I share them with the team. I sincerely hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Watergate Pavillion Hotel Bangkok
0.1 mi away
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
0.1 mi away
Glow Pratunam Hotel
Glow Pratunam Hotel
#48 of 781 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
VIE Hotel Bangkok - MGallery Collection
2.5 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
0.9 mi away
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#47 of 781 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#39 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Watergate Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.