We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Watergate Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Watergate Bangkok to your Saves list
Amari Watergate Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive: Save 20% Now
Ranked #46 of 761 Hotels in Bangkok
Martigny, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I again enjoyed my four nights there.
Very friendly staff making you feel at home away from home.
An amazing sense of anticipation for your needs thus almost no need to express any requests!
Privacy highly respected when you don't want room cleaning on late mornings...
Particularly enjoyed the fully renewed lounge on the executive floor (32nd) with an amazing view on BKK's skyscrapers.
Well, looking fwd to being back there!

Room Tip: More interesting view on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear TaKaten_VS

Thank you for your fantastic review. It was brilliant to read that you had such a wonderful stay and that the staff were anticipating your needs which is so good to hear from a loyal guest like yourself. I was also pleased you enjoyed the new look Executive rooms and lounge, we too are pleased with their outcome.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write, we really appreciate it.

I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,703
    659
    175
    50
    26
See reviews for
522
868
196
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We booked to stay at Amari Watergate for 2 nights during our trip to Thailand. We had previously stayed at Amari Orchid in Pattaya the 3 previous nights and were really looking forward to our stay following such an enjoyable stay at that sister hotel. We were not to be dissappointed. From the fantastic first impressions from the imposing lobby and reception, the friendliness and quality of service from the staff, to the room size (we were upgraded to Grand Deluxe room on 20th floor) - really good size room with fantastic views over Bangkok) and a huge wonderfully comfortable bed. We were not dissapointed.
Perfect position for the shopping malls (MBK is a 40 baht taxi ride away) so really convenient - Platinum Mall is directly over the road from the hotel and caters more for the local shoppers.
We also stayed here on our last night of our holiday after a week in Hua Hin which coincided with King Rama IX birthday. We this time paid to upgrade our room (27th Floor) and also booked for breakfast (good idea as the quality and choice of food from around the world was fabulous). Following a evening dinner river cruise we returned to Henry J Beans bar for a night cap - and ended up on stage singing with the resident band - great stay.
Fantastic Hotel and great value for money.

Room Tip: High floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Phil C,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the hotel. It is great to ready how much you enjoyed your stay and all aspects from the location and staff, the bedroom and bed comfort, the breakfast and even the fun of singing with the house band at Henry J Beans all contributed to this.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to write and I hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

we stayed at this hotel last month for a weekend and it was fabulous !
returning this month for another week of rest & relaxation and then once that's done, plenty of shopping !!!
the staff are really friendly and helpful and the restaurant in the foyer is first class.

Room Tip: stayed in the 28th floor, and the view was amazing and no noise ! the breakfasts are a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear choc-alock,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your recent visit with us and Cascade our lobby restaurant which does prove very popular. Most importantly it is your kind words about the staff and service which we really appreciate as this is the difference for us between being good and great.

Thanks again for taking the time to write, we are looking forward to welcoming you back, please do ensure you say hello when you return.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with family. Ideal for travellers looking to spend time shopping in bangkok and very central.
Good choice of restaurants and very good service
Will definitely be hotel of choice on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sachinraman,

Thank you for your great review. I was delighted to read you had such a wonderful stay and the location for shopping, restaurants and most importanty our good service would bring you back again.

Thanks again for taking the time to write, we really appreciate and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been staying at the Amari hotel chain for now 19 years specially Amari watergate hotel. The hospitality and the wonderful service provided by the staff of the hotels is very warm and welcoming ..
The new executive floor is just stunning and beautifully furnished with good taste of design . I loved the new rooms , simple but very warm and all the modern techno in the rooms is perfect for business traveller or just people like me who just wants t o relax at the 33 floor ad look down at the bangkok city .. It's like being on cloud 9.. Or Mount Everest ...

Congratulation to the GM Mr Pierre - Andre Pelletier and his staff .

Room Tip: The new Executive rooms at the 32 floor is just stunning and very cozy.. Highly recommended to every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Chomolungmatashi

Thank you for your fantastic review of the hotel. It is heartwarming to read that we are still meeting your expectations as hotel and group after 19 years. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the changes to the Executive rooms and Lounge and that you can see the positive changes being made to the product.

I will pass your congratulations to Mr Pelletier and I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

warmest welcoming and fantastic services as one of the best experience that I got during my stay in this hotel. When I book this hotel, I just mentioned that I need the room for honeymoon, than by surprise I got honeymoon cakes and a bottle of champagne on my first day of stay. Comfortable bed make you sleep like a baby.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know your proposes of stay, so the rest they will give you the right room during your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear JeffreyP3033,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear we made careful note of your special occasion and acted upon that. For us, it is always the details that count and is the difference in a stay being "good" and " great".

I was also pleased to see you found the beds comfortable. Thank you again for taking the time to write and I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you back again to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Every time I stay in Bangkok, the choice of hotels is overwhelming, but having found The Amari Watergate is a cut above the rest...! I am a frequent traveller all around the world but Amari knows how to make there guest feel like VIP's....! Not only are the rooms of the highest quality, excellently maintained....! The staff know you by name how is that for a little bit of personal touch..! The check in check out in the executive rooms are quick and efficient, I just would not stay anywhere else..! Oh and by the way the prices are very affordable, "A home from Home as you might say"....!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Gilligolf,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It was brilliant to read your wonderful comments and most importantly that the service you have received from the team is so personal as this is exactly the experience we wish for our guests to have.

It was great to see also that you enjoyed our new Executive rooms and the pricing was good value for you.

A big thank you again for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok in the not too distant future.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Watergate Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.