We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like returning to visit an old friend - warm, comforting, understated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save 50%
Ranked #24 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Like returning to visit an old friend - warm, comforting, understated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is not the world's best hotel. It doesn't try to be. It isn't about cutting corners or having the latest shiny bright interior when traditional wood will do. It is however about taking care of the traveller, making them feel welcome and at home and on that score, it achieves very high marks indeed.

I've known this hotel since the 1990s and have seen it ebb and flow, age and mellow and settle into a luxurious calm which belies its location near one of the busiest roads in the world.

I've been well received, used their services and had to push their patience to deliver when I needed help and each time they came through with flying colours. It isn't perfection though. Just occasionally there seems no reason why the fruit bowl has been only half filled but ask for any number of towels and pillows and they'll reappear like magic day after day. You can always get the fruit replenished with the one button "At your service".

Sometimes it prices itself out of the market but if you are able, just call them up and ask for a rate. This is Bangkok and almost everything is negotiable. The rates surely are; the service most gratifyingly isn't.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Torrenova

This is probably the nicest and most adequate review I have read on this forum about the JW Marriott Bangkok. Thank you so much for putting pen to paper, sharing your feelings about the hotel with fellow travelers.

Being in the service industry we believe that taking care of the customer is the most important thing to do. Everyone at the hotel knows that a happy customer will return again and again. There is no better location than being in Thailand with the Thai people being so well known for their genuine hospitality. Coupled with Marriott's "spirit to serve" philosophy we have a winning combination.

I have distributed your review to my entire team this morning and I look much forward to have you back with us here at the JW Marriott Bangkok soon again. The next time around the fruit bowl in your room will be an extra-large one, being replenished daily !

Until then I remain with very best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    300
    73
    19
    18
See reviews for
128
300
164
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Background: I have traveled to Thailand 7 times over the course of 10 years. 4 of those trips were in the last two years. This stay was my 8th in Thailand. When in Bangkok, I stayed the first time at the Oriental. The other 3 times at the Conrad. Both hotels completely surpassed my expectations. I decided to try the JW Marriott on this trip as this was supposed to be in the top 5 luxury hotels in Bangkok. Unfortunately, the stay was not very good. First the good points (and why I am giving two stars instead of none) - the 16th floor lounge is wonderful. The food was good and the service was perfect. Another good point was the service by everyone at the hotel EXCEPT for management. Location is also ok if you like nightlife. Now the bad points (and these are serious things for me at a "luxury" hotel) - I arrived very late in the evening the first night so all I cared about was getting something to eat and sleep. My room was in good order at first glance. But as I started to turn things on I find: 1) no hot water in sink or shower, 2) floor in shower slippery and no mat provided, 3) sink drain did not work, 4) funny smell in room. I ordered room service and the pizza was just "ok". Next morning I asked Prat at the front desk for another room due to these issues. He said ok and when I return from my meetings, I can be switched. When I returned, I was switched, but to the same room type on the same floor. At a 3 star hotel, I can understand this logic. But I am a Platinum Marriott member and this is a 5 star hotel. Normally, I would be upgraded to a better/bigger room. But no. The next room had almost the same exact problems. Very little hot water and no drain in the sink. This is completely disgusting when brushing your teeth or shaving. But here is the biggest issue - the AC never shut off (no automatic)!! So I either froze to death or sweat in the humility. I asked for the AC to be fixed three times. They said they fixed it each time - yet the auto function still didn't work. So I just left it off and had to deal with it. I finally got fed up with the room and hotel and asked to leave early. Prat did give me a credit for the unused night. But did not offer anything else for my inconvenience. Again, I am a Platinum member and this is a 5 star property. There should be something else to make me either stay or happy. So I just left and went to the Conrad.

I think they are renovating rooms one level at a time. Maybe people should wait until this is done before staying here. Unless I hear something from Marriott corp - I will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Here's a tip - stay at the Conrad down the street. Cheaper and a try luxury hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear JamesBay_13

I like to acknowledge the comments you have made in your review posted on this forum 2 days ago. I am deeply sorry to have inconvenienced you for all the reasons you have mentioned.

Having looked into the sequences of your stay by myself I can only conclude that we have dropped the ball on several occasions, something which is inexcusable. We aren't normally confronted with the kind of issues you have detailed and I am indeed much embarrassed that we haven't lived up to our normal service standards - even more so with you being an esteemed Elite Platinum member.

I like you to give us a chance to make up for the shortcomings by inviting you back to the JW Marriott Hotel during your next stay. I will contact you on your personal email for this purpose, sending you the necessary details. I hope this will be acceptable to you.

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott International and sending you best regards.

Sincerely Yours
Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I travel internally quite frequently. I did not think I have had a better experience than when I stayed at the JW Marriot in Bangkok. Pat, who takes care of the gold members, was incredibly responsive. Also, her staff of Aphinya, Patsavee, Aiwarian, Napaporn and Chaba were extremely helpful and efficient and made my trip unusually enjoyable. I cannot wait to go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Stan F

I like to thank you for posting your review and for recognizing the Team at the Executive Lounge for their service and attention to details.

They take much pride in taking care of their guests as they know that a happy guest will return again and again, quite like you have indicated you will.

I appreciate your loyalty and your recommendations and look much forward to welcome you back soon again.

Very best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed for many years in the JW Marriot Hotel in Bangkok situated off Sukhamvit road the main shopping road with easy short distance to the Skytrain service. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the restaurants are all fantastic especially the New York Steak restaurant and the main restaurant for buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. They offer the best buffet meals in Bangkok.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear jrobinson224

Thank you very much for the nice review you have recently posted about your stay at the JW Marriott Bangkok.

It is with much pleasure to read the good words you have for the New York Steakhouse and the daily buffets at the Marriott Cafe. The hotel offers various cuisines to hotel guests and patrons alike including Teppanyaki at Nami Grill, Japanese at Tsu, Chinese at Man Ho and international bakery products at the Bangkok Baking Company.

Looking much forward to welcome you back to the Bangkok and the JW Marriott again, I remain with very best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff is very warm. Every detail was anticipated. We were given great suggestions for transportation, shopping and dining.
The concierge is incredible.
The food in the executive lounge is very good with something for everyone in their international clientele.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Lawfox

Thank you for recognizing the service levels across the hotel and for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok to fellow travelers.

I much appreciate your taking time and trouble to write this review and I do look forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again to the hotel.

Very best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

So it all started the moment we checked in! (14th July 2013)
Wifi refused to work since check in till I start to write this review(15th July).

Complained to multiple staff...one directed us to the reception, other to the lobby and third to the restaurant sayin the network was better in the next place! Called the IT guy and he too could not fix the issue. Manager promised to look into and vanished like hot air balloon!
Room change was promised the previous nighy but when we wanted it to actually happen...their revert is still pending.
No newspapaper in the room was delivered...tub tap not working...horrible response time...other perks of staying here!!! Not recommended at all!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear sshekha2

It is with much regret to read your lines and to note that not all went well during your recent stay at the JW Marriott Bangkok. I hasten to apologize for the inconveniences caused to you.

It is correct that the internet signal in your first room wasn't good. You have been connected to the hot line of the internet provider upon your first call. Unfortunately the problem couldn't be resolved over the phone. The Front Desk then proposed a room change, an offer which you have accepted the next day.

You are right that the hotel should have delivered your daily newspaper in the first morning already and not only from the second day onwards.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention during your stay. I hope that you would be staying with us again in the future, enabling us to restore your faith in our product and our services.

Sincerely Yours

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm a frequent visitor to Bangkok and the restaurants at the JW Marriott have always been favorites that I return to again and again. I never stayed here before because the price of accomodation seemed expensive as compared to all the great value hotels available in Bangkok. But this trip I treated myself to a few nights here and it was absolutely worth it. The professionalism, friendliness and high quality of service are astonishingly consistent, from Food and Beverage to Front Desk Reception to Housekeeping and even Security. The bedrooms are not flashy but everything works well and it's all very comfortable. Bangkok itself is exciting and fun but you need a quiet, relaxing, reliable place to recover from it. This hotel is it! You never have to ask for anything twice, and mostly you don't even have to ask once, they know their jobs so well that your needs are anticipated without having to ask. As others have said, I went for an Executive Level room and the Lounge is terrific and highly recommended - again, a clear cut above the Executive lounges I have always appreciated at other excellent Bangkok hotels, for both food and friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear usa30

Thank you for your recent review. I am thrilled to learn about your feedback on the hotel facilities and particularly on the service excellence in all areas.

Nothing makes us happier than receiving a confirmation from a seasoned traveler like you (and a Senior Contributor to this Forum).

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Bangkok for your stay in Bangkok and looking forward to welcome you back soon again.

With best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Address: 4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the premier luxury hotels in Bangkok, JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. Situated on Sukhumvit Road, this stunning luxury hotel offers a central location near business and entertainment centers, embassies, the convention center, shopping districts and BTS SkyTrain. Guest rooms and suites feature sophisticated decor, plush bedding, an in-room safe and desk, a mini-bar, high-speed Internet access and the new remote Jack Pack plug-and-play system. The culinary delights available on-site are endless. Choose from award-winning buffets at Marriott Cafe, sake at Nami Teppanyaki steakhouse, sushi at Tsu Japanese Restaurant, fresh pastries at Bangkok Baking Company, or a steak at New York Steakhouse. After a day of sightseeing or meetings, visit JW's Health Club & Spa, a destination unique among luxury Bangkok hotels, for an energizing workout or relaxing massage. For events and meetings, our hotel features more than 14,000 square feet of elegant space divisible into 17 rooms including one Grand Ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.