We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at JW Marriott Bangkok for a business trip in early February. It's an old hotel but bearing a JW Marriott name, the hotel is well maintained, clean and located in a safe neighbourhood. it's a good hotel for business with excellent hospitality but need some improvements to keep the 5-star rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    250
    62
    17
    15
See reviews for
92
242
143
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
495 reviews 495 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a rather new addition to the JW Marriott hotel on Sukhumvit. Located right above the hotel lobby on the second floor mezzanine, it is fairly small but truly welcoming in a well-decorated relaxing atmosphere. Subdued lights and dark colors invite you to sit on a cosy armchair disposed to take your mind away from stress at the end of a day. Service is attentive and unobtrusive. The far end wall near a small bar is full of bottles gleaming nicely in a relative darkness. Parts of the walls have a collection of black and white photographs of Manhattan, in New York. They do not appear to be signed, but nonetheless they contribute to the general atmosphere. Every evening from 6:00PM onwards, you may come to relax and enjoy their vast array of drinks. They offer a wide selection of wines starting from THB 99. A very attractive price indeed! They advertise it as 'Wine Gone Mad in Manhattan'. Their plus is also what goes with your drinks. At one end of the room, just above a few steps, they display a well-lit table full of tapas ready for order. Their St.Claire oysters, freshly imported from France are absolutely sublime! But they will also serve you a miniature tree of tidbits that come along with your order. This bar is a real hideaway on the Bangkok scene.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently completed our fourth stay at this hotel -- this time for 16 days -- and once again feel that it is one of the best hotels anywhere. Between business and personal travel, we spend about 200 nights in Marriott hotels around the U.S. and in several foreign countries, and no matter how nice the hotels are, how friendly and attentive the staff is, how great the location is, or whatever else you can think of, the JW in Bangkok beats them all!

The hotel is located in one of the truly great neighborhoods in Bangkok (Sukhumvit), in the midst of luxury and near several fascinating "local" neighborhoods. You can walk through many slices-of-life in the city, two Skytrain stations within minutes, and the main luxurious shopping centers just a short walk away as well.

But you can also walk around the hotel itself and get pampered by everyone working there, from the doormen and bell staff to the front desk staff and, maybe best of all, the people working in the concierge room. They have probably the best food in the concierge room at both breakfast and in the evening, though the restaurant downstairs in also spectacular. But even better than the food is the service. Each and every staff member we have met in the hotel deserves praise, and whether you're walking in the front door to the lobby or the entrance to the concierge room, you have to be amazed at the welcome and attentive service you get from everyone.

The view from every room we have had there has been incredible. The hotel is clean, well-cared for, and a true gem. Words alone do not do it justice. But if you are planning a visit to this incredible city, I don't think you'll find another hotel that has this combination of service, quality staff, and location. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed for 5 days on a business trip. Overall, I enjoyed the stay.

Decided to stay here as I was a Marriott member for the past year but wished there could be further improvements made to the rooms. Particularly, it was difficult to work with the chair provided in the room (no height adjustments). I was so jealous of my colleague when i went over to his hotel (Conrad, 10 mins away). They had herman miller Aeron chairs lol.

Will probably stay in Conrad for the next trip unless they make some changes in this area as I have to spend at least 2 hours daily on the computer desk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days at the JW Marriott in BKK last month. The minute we arrived we were so impressed with the "impeccable" service we recieved. The staff are so willing to help you. We upgraded to Executive suite and enjoyed the benefits of the club lounge. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. Sabreena Jacob, the resident manager was so kind and gave us lots of tips for great food and shopping. The hotel is nicely located also. I highly recommend the JW Marriot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed for a week and was very impressed with the honest staff. I left my iPhone on at the hotel lounge table and the maintenance staff kept it till I came back down to look for it. The cafe also served very good omelette and pancakes for breakfast. The overall spread is one of the best I've eaten!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Upon my frequent visits to BKK, i always stay at the JW and have done for a number of years. its the best located hotel for social and business needs and caters for all. in particular, the exec lounge is a place to relax, as well as satisfy the wants of the business traveller or tourist. the staff are welcoming and will not hesitate to go that extra mile. i stay at JW's - Marriotts across the world and this is one of the best. the steakhouse downstairs is rated very highly by locals as well as guests. All in all, a credit to the management and the staff. Tony (HKG)

Room Tip: aim high and get lounge status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Address: 4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the luxury hotels Bangkok offers, JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.