We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, near Skytrain and Bumrungrad hospital, and very nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 Reviews
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location, near Skytrain and Bumrungrad hospital, and very nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the JW Marriott because it was close to Bumrungrad hospital, where we were visiting family. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the room was very comfortable, with two large beds. Free Internet with Marriott Rewards program was a surprise bonus, but the breakfast is too expensive unless you want to have a banquet! There should be an option for a light breakfast, as it is much cheaper to have a light breakfast outside the hotel. But overall, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    270
    65
    19
    15
See reviews for
103
259
149
463
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed one night as I wanted to check it out of curiosity for my collection of BKK 5* hotels visited. Not sure who anyone could describe rooms as spacious, certainly not for Bangkok standards. Anyway here we go with Pros and Cons:

PLUS: Marriott has a great loyalty program and they stick to it. As Gold member you're entitled to an upgrade > you gonna get it, no need to even ask. Club lounge is very nice. Great food, lots of drinks and a huge terrace to complement the nice lounge. Staff is friendly, Bangkok 5 star standard. Great lower Sukumvhit location, extremely easy to get around from.

MINUS: It's just a standard Marriott, not a MO or Shangri-La, Four Seasons or St. Regis. Amenities are a bit on the cheap side, rooms are fine but rather small. Pricing is consistent, meaning you don't get some of the real deals to be had at times in places as competitive as Bangkok.

Conclusion: Stay there if you're collecting Marriott points. Go elsewhere if you look for the "wow" factor, special deals or something a bit off the beaten track.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

It was an amazing hotel. Easily accessible control of all room facilities at your comode: light, AC, alarm, ..Very spacious room. Comfortable bed. Home bath. Very good variety of food at breakfast & lunch. Delicious fruits..N.B. I could not like all Asian food. The area around the hotel is live with many restaurants, spa, as well as a lot of offensive prostitution. Watch out its very bad. A lot of Arab food restaurant also near by. Very good business meeting rooms.High level of service. Taxis are all around. A metro station is near. It was a week in Jan 2011.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a business trip. The hotel is nice on the outside and on the inside. The rooms are spacious, but they have the stupid master switch that when you turn off, all the power outlets turn off... so if you are charging the computer or cellphones, you need to leave one light on. Just idiotic!

I used the fitness room, very big, very nice, but avoid rush hours as it can get really busy.

The services is not that good, they try, but they just can't do it. The english language is a barrier, they really do not understand nor speak english, which is not idea.

TWO VERY BAD THINGS DO: 1) PROSTITUTES AND 2) SHARK´S FIN SOUP ON THE MENU.

We were at the bar having the last dinner after a long day working, and there were several tables with older men, and younger asian women. Its a serious hotel, so i find it discussing having to watch the old men and the prostates. I thought it was a serious hotel.... many ladies came came and went as if it was a high school.

The other thing, and perhaps the most terrible thing is that they offer shark´s fin soup at the chines restaurant. Being Marriott an international chain, you would imagine they understand the damage they do to nature when they kill sharks just to cut the fins. Me being costa rican, and being aware of it as these fishermen come to our coasts to kill thousands of sharks, i was shocked and upset to find this in such a reputable hotel.

If you are looking for a decent place to stay in BKK while doing business and a place with a sense of being and social and moral standards, i recommend another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The extra miles the staff at the executive level 16 makes your stay an awesome one. There are just so many staff to thank, just to name a few Khun Pat, Lerky & Pui.

Room Tip: Away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels in Bangkok, many throughout the world, and many Marriott hotels, but this hotel is my favourite by far, from the moment you arrive, the welcome is second to none, the lobby is of beautiful decor, and features tranquil lily ponds, a beautiful bar with piano, the staff are the most friendly you will ever meet and pamper to your every need, I work in Thailand frequently, and I can recommend this hotel with 100% conviction, there is not anywhere else I would try since my first stay here in 2006.

Room Tip: All rooms here are of the highest quality, the executive level gives you that extra luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel. Room, bed, service and food were great. Great location also. It seems to be geared for business travel more, but this is not necessarily a negative, just an obsservation. The pool was small but pleasant. I felt though that it was not great value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Address: 4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#97 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the premier luxury hotels in Bangkok, JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. Situated on Sukhumvit Road, this stunning luxury hotel offers a central location near business and entertainment centers, embassies, the convention center, shopping districts and BTS SkyTrain. Guest rooms and suites feature sophisticated decor, plush bedding, an in-room safe and desk, a mini-bar, high-speed Internet access and the new remote Jack Pack plug-and-play system. The culinary delights available on-site are endless. Choose from award-winning buffets at Marriott Cafe, sake at Nami Teppanyaki steakhouse, sushi at Tsu Japanese Restaurant, fresh pastries at Bangkok Baking Company, or a steak at New York Steakhouse. After a day of sightseeing or meetings, visit JW's Health Club & Spa, a destination unique among luxury Bangkok hotels, for an energizing workout or relaxing massage. For events and meetings, our hotel features more than 14,000 square feet of elegant space divisible into 17 rooms including one Grand Ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.