We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is definatly an oasis in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer with FREE Spa
Ranked #20 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“This is definatly an oasis in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

wow! wow! wow! My wife and two children (11 & 15 ) stayed here 5 days over xmas, We,ve come to Thailand every year for the last 7 to 8 years. We always stayed at one of the other top luxury hotels on the river, we chose the Anantara on a friends recommendation and absolutely fell in love with it.I cannot find any fault,our room was excellent,the staff were very friendly and the meals were of a quality and quantity one should expect.The concierge is extremely knowledgeable about methods of travel and the boat very reliable. Please try to understand that sometimes when communicating with staff if they do not quite understand you the quizzical look on the face of a thai mingles with their own personal embarrassment at not giving the best service and can look as though you've caused an affront, just smile and they will smile,they can't help it.We enjoyed it so much that we went back for one more night in Jan before going home.we saw on 1 occasion the manager mingling with staff and guests at dinner and on another occasion the chef at the italian rest. come out and chatted at the tables. The best way I can think to describe the ambiance of this place is the other luxury hotels are in Thailand the Anantara is in Siam.

Room Tip: corner suites work very well for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear ralph j,
What an amazing way to describe your family’s stay with us. Thank you for commenting positively on our Resort’s excellent facilities and our associates, who are passionate about offering every guest personalised attention and service.

At Anantara we invite guests to experience the culture of this fascinating country and I am pleased you have discovered the real Siam with us.

Please let me know when your family travels bring you back to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,452
    551
    121
    46
    8
See reviews for
512
946
95
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I just had my fourth stay at Anantara Riverside and you bet that every holiday in Thailand - and there are a lot more to come - will be finished with at least one night in Bangkot at Anantara. Beautiful rooms, totally relaxed atmosphere at the pool, perfect service, the mighty Chao Praya nearby, boat-shuttle-service to Sathorn Pier ... what else can one wish for?

Room Tip: As always with bookong hotels no matter where don´t contact directly but try one of the known intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed at Anantara both on business and on vacation. The hotel is perfect for both. The hotel offers good opportunities for conducting business meetings that can be followed up with a good dinner (especially the Italian restaurant is a must) and drinks by the river - the internet connection is free and fast.

Vacationwise, it feels like a resort around the pool and the breakfast set-up, the kids loved the combination of resort and world class shopping in Bangkok only a short boatride away with direct connection to the skytrain system.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile


We stayed at this hotel four years ago and liked it so much that we decided to stay there again for our short stay in and out of Bangkok this time too. This time, we had a river view room which was in the main building with a nice view of the pool and the river. I had requested a high floor room again which is a must to make the most of the view. The rooms have a very decent hair dryer which all the ladies with long hair will appreciate, and an electric mosquito repellent which is a nice touch but we stopped using these a couple of years ago as they don't seem to affect the mosquitos any more :( The pool area is beautiful and serene with little Lilly ponds all around it. There is a very good gym that is open 24 hours and the pool is open until 10pm although no one will stop you if you want to swim at a later hour. There is also free excellent wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel is on what I call the wrong side of the river, so, if you want to go out, there is nothing to do at the front of the hotel. However, the hotel boat that leaves every 1/2hour will take you to either Asiatique for food and a spot of shopping, and/or Saphin Taksin which is the best place for any transfers including the excellent sky train.
The only thing that I found disappointing was that the service at the hotel was no longer what it used to be. This was particularly the case at the breakfast buffet. Also, although you expect higher prices at this type of hotel, the food is very expensive for the amount and quality that you get.
P.s. There is building work going on across the front of the hotel, so, make sure your room is not facing that way.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear tripforthree,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again after your last visit four years ago. I am sorry that our service was a disappointment during this visit compared to before. Our ten bars / restaurants offer a variety of daily promotions, please accept our apologies if this information was not related to you. As for the building works currently taking place a little distant from the resort, this is the construction of our new Avani Hotel, and we have taken measures to ensure that our guests experience minimal disturbance.

However, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our resort’s shuttle boat services, amenities and facilities.

Please let me know when you plan to visit Bangkok again, and I would be pleased to welcome you personally.

Kind regards,

Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hotel was fine, a wee bit out of the way. Its not a resort or a city hotel. Its a bit of hassle getting into the town centre and doesn't have the atmosphere of a holiday resort. Staff were OK. Room OK.
Layout a bit confusing, we arrived by boat from saphan taksin station, we were wowed by the concept but it took us 15 minutes to find reception. Drinks expensive so take a supply as there is nothing close by. If you do decide to go out for a walk from the hotel, turn right at the main road, there are a couple of shops and cafes within 10 mins walk.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thanks for sharing your feedback. It is nice to hear you arrived by boat to the hotel, it is a great way to beat the traffic. I am pleased to inform you that the signs indicating the way to and the location of our Front Desk was fixed this morning. I am sorry our team did not manage to explain the variety of activities available around the hotel where within 5 minutes you can reach Asiatique which houses 1500 shopping and nightlife outlets with our shuttle boat departing every 10 minutes. Our half hourly shuttle boat also connects to the sky train for easy access to the city center.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Wonderful hotel!!! Very nice excursion through canals suggested as bonus. Must see!!! best celebration of new year!!! A lot of ice, champagne and fireworks on the river especially for you!!!
Very nice trips by the boat to the hotel from pier. Delicious restaurants and bars and evening shows of traditional thai dances.

Room Tip: River view could be not total, our room was upgraded to the better one but the river view was only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had an excellent experience at Anantara. Because we went at Christmas, we wanted a quiet place to get away from the crowds. This filled the bill. Coffee and tea in the room, fabulous bathroom and amenities, and a breakfast buffet that was the best on our trip. There is a sushi station, a Pho (made to order) station, omelettes, fruit, smoothies, cereals, and a hot bar with curries and rice and noodle dishes. The breakfast set us up for the whole day of touring! The free shuttle is on the half hour and takes you right to the mono-rail or water taxis and ferries up the river to the Palace areas. The only thing that didn't work for us was the evening offerings - the music in the bar was below average and the dinner offerings were very slim with hardly any patrons taking advantage. Afternoon cocktails on the patio facing the river are popular and fun with better music and the pool - although we never had time to take advantage - was beautiful.

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms up on the upper floors for the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Joan g,
Thank you for sharing your Anantara story. We are happy to know you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast spread and our resort facilities.
We hope you will stay with us again whenever your plans include a trip to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.