We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis among the hustle and bustle of Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
25% Exclusive Deal!
Ranked #16 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An oasis among the hustle and bustle of Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Although a large hotel it never felt crowded. Lots of space, greenery and fabulous pool. The hotels ferry took you from its pier across the river in 12m linking with the public ferry, tourist boats, long tail boats and Bangkok's MRT transport system. After a day in Bangkok the hotel ferry takes you back on a relaxing ride to your own oasis. Some guests I suspect never venture out enjoying the Spa and pool.

Bangkok is relatively cheap for hotels and therefore we upgraded to a suite. It was the same price as a basic room in Singapore yet 6-8 times the size. It also came with a wrap around balcony overlooking the river. The suite also comes with the Kasara package which meant each day we returned at 5 pm we could have complimentary cocktails and nibbles a great way to unwind. Also had the best bed on our South East Asian tour so far.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a riverside suite, you can't justify it in London, New York, Paris etc but here why n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    688
    152
    58
    10
See reviews for
684
1,251
119
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is my third stay here after trying all the river hotels. The shuttle to Taksin and Asiatique is great, river view nice, and the breakfast is very well done. The grand smile of Pim greeting everyone in the reception is a major asset for the hotel, as she helps everyone with details. A very good serene Bangkok hotel with a resort feel in the middle of the crazy city. I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

went for wives 60th birthday only had 2nights there wish we had longer on to Vietnam after but the 2 nights were great free ferry to central pier then £3 all day ticket on ferry up and down river hotel superb could not fault it we had side view of river in a beautiful room and a plentiful breakfast ,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place is super the staff even made us a honeymoon cake and gave us a great room
The little buzzers to request staff to bring drinks to sun loungers are a nice touch
Drinks are very pricey here though I thought and as below the taxi drivers don't always seem to know the place even if you have the address so best to take a map I reckon to avoid wasting time when you want to go back

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnen
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very nice newly renovated rooms. The location is not the best but with riverboat you can be anywhere in the City in reasonable time. Foodwise, the Hotel has so much to offer. from the very nice market Restaurant to Benihana Japanese etc. .just experience it yourself. I cant wait to go back to this cozy and friendly Hotel.

Room Tip: They have diff. categories you have to ask for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

During our 4 weeks trip in Thailand we were guests in several 5 star hotels and now are able to make a fair comparison. The location at the riverside and the tropical pool area are the main advantages of the Anatara Riverside in Bangkok. The rooms are quiet nice .. We have had the renovated Premier room with riverview ( in total for 7 nights) . The rooms are not as large like f.e. In the Renaissance Phuket or Chedi Chiang Mai, but clean and comfortable. The reception staff was very polite and helpful, but the service in general was not as good as we experienced it in Chedi Chiang Mai , Renaissance Phuket, The Racha Resort and Mandarin Oriental. The welcome drink (without cold towel) was unkindly put on the desk. No relaxed check in . The service staff at the Longtail Bar, the Market ( breakfast) was friendly but inattentively. The tables weren't cleared up after the guests left. There are a lot of pigeons around, but nobody of the staff had even tried to banish them while they were sitting on just prepared tables and were picking on clean plates and cuttlery. There is a lot of service staff around but most of them only stand around. The hotel own ferry to Taksim Bridge (perfect way to start sightseeing) offers cold towels and water on the way back to the hotel, but not always...It was a fifty fifty chance to have the pleasure. Similar experience with the pool staff. Really unpleasant are the old and flumsy pool
towels - blurry and dark-stained. They looked as they haven't been washed after use. That's not a standard of a five star hotel. The Renaissance in Phuket - similar 5star hotel of the same size was more service oriented and luxurious. I would recommend Anantara because of being a tropical island in the midst of a Mega City but only as a 3-4 star hotel.




  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Ilsebein,
Thank you for choosing The Anantara Bangkok Riverside for your stay in Bangkok and for taking the time to post this review. I am never proud to know that we failed to delight a guest but I am always grateful for feedback so that we may learn and improve. Your comments about some staff members being inattentive will be used in our daily training sessions and I can assure you that we will address
the issues of pigeons around the breakfast area as well as what you conceived not to be top class pool towels. Once again, thank you for sharing these remarks with us. If I may be of further assistance in any regards, please do let me know. My team and I would be delighted to welcome you
back to The Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The grounds were gorgeous, breakfast was phenomenal, and service was excellent. We had connecting rooms, and were there to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. I emailed ahead and asked for a small gift and cake, and they were very accommodating. The only downside to this hotel is that there is really nothing around it. And, the taxi drivers that we had did not know of it, and could not speak any English (and I don't speak Thai), so it was very hard to find the place when we would leave. Even handing the taxi driver the card with a map on it didn't usually help. Other than that, it was great. If I wanted a weekend to lounge in luxury, I'd go back here for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Scott C,
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences. I hope your daughter had a great birthday!
I would like to apologize for us not clearly enough explaining the options you have around the Resort.
From 5pm we have complimentary shuttle boats to Asiatique, Bangkok’s latest landmark for shopping,
nightlife and the Joe Louis puppet theatre and the Calypso cabaret. On our side of the river we have Senafest a new shopping mall just 5 minutes from the Resort.
Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and when this is the case I would like to introduce you to our Streetwise Guru who has a morning filling program, with amongst others, local temples and restaurants.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,

Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.