We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile AND a friendly greeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service with a smile AND a friendly greeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the reasons we enjoy traveling in Asia is the service and downright good value in 5 star hotels. Three nights at the Anantara Bangkok Riverside was a fabulous finish to our holiday. After check in we were escorted to our (upgraded) room by a lovely lady who was keen to ensure that we were totally satisfied. A small mixup had us allocated twin beds rather than a king. So sorry. Lt me fix that immediately.

A few minutes on the phone and were upgraded (again) to a junior suite. It would be be ready for 90 minutes but we were welcome to use the "wrong" room in the meantime. Why waste 90 minutes in the room when there was a delightfully good swimming pool awaiting and cocktails happy hour was about to start!

Take the evening dinner cruise on a rice barge that leaves from the hotel pier. It was a beautiful first night. If you are lucky enough, book ahead for Dining By Design. This experience is offered to only one couple per night. Sit in a private gazebo by the banks of the river of kings enjoying an amazing dinner served by your personal attendant all night. Totally romantic... but book early.

One night we arrived back from an evening firefly tour and were inspired to visit the pool (it is open until 11pm). The pool bar was closed but one of the staff happily arranged for us to be served at our lounges by staff from the nearby Longtail Bar. Most places would just say "sorry, we're closed". At the Anantara, the staff genuinely wanted to make sure we were looked after.

Room Tip: There are three wings to this resort. A riverfront room on a high floor in the south wing is lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    600
    131
    51
    8
See reviews for
590
1,059
101
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend before heading off to Koh Samui.

A hotel car collected us from Bangkok airport and cold drinks and towels were set out in the back. On arrival, we experienced a welcome at the hotel as though we were royalty; the hotel manager himself came out to greet us!

We were then shown to our suite by Miss Sasinee and all functions were clearly demonstrated to us (nothing was rocket science, but a nice touch anyway). We were then joined by our luggage.

The room itself, a junior suite with river view, was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

As we were in a suite, we were able to avail ourselves of high tea in the Kasara Lounge between 1400 and 1600 hours. If you choose not to stay in a suite, high tea is available at additional cost and is well worth the extra layout. The food and beverage selection is superb.

We also had the sundowner cocktails from 1630 to 1930, which again is available at extra cost and worth the extra if you choose not to stay in a suite. Believe me when I tell you, the girls are not shy with the measures. My head was spinning after my second drink!

Again, we were well looked after in the Kasara Lounge by Miss Sasinee who was always on hand to attend to our needs.

Although a short way outside the city, a shuttle boat runs twice an hour from the hotel and drops you off a couple of hundred yards from the sky train. A day pass for the train is 130 Thai Bhat (approximately £2.60 or Singapore $5.20).

The pool is a decent size and an abundance of sun beds surround the perimeter. There is also a swim-up pool bar. If you like to lie in the sun, avoid the sun beds under the trees - a charming bird took a dump on my chest while I was asleep.

One thing definitely worth keeping in mind is that the hotel being located on the river - it's a prime location for Mozzies so make sure you apply liberal doses of insect repellant in the evenings.

All in all, a fabulous hotel which I can highly recommend and we will most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: River view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is stunning, a little oasis of calm and contentment amidst the madness of Bangkok. For sheer value for Money you would be hard pushed to find a better place to spend a few days(or longer), I'm definitely heading back. The room are fine, comfortable bed, air conditioning, great selection of TV channels, but its not the rooms that give this hotel it's position amongst the best in Bangkok, but the charming, friendly and helpful staff, the wonderful swimming pool, the space and tranquility, the superb breakfast or choice of restaurants.

The hotel is situated just down the Chao Phraya river from Saphan Taksin Train station. Easily accessible from Bangkok airport via the high speed rail link and then the MBT. (day pass is 150 Baht) -The hotel provide a shuttle boat service that runs every half hour, cooling face towels being just one of the many extra's. Loved catching the boat before and after hitting Bangkok, just relax and soak in the sights. if you happen to come back around the sunset, the Anantara looks glorious!

Could wax lyrical about this hotel, loved every minute, felt relaxed, pampered, well fed and ready for the next leg of my travels! or those who don't get to sample five star hotels that often, at this price you'd be foolish not to!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I spent 5 nights in the Anantara for a chill out girly city break. My husband and I have stayed at the Anantara Hua Hin so I had recommended this based in our positive experience. We arrived after a long flight from the UK and were greeted with cool tea and a cold lemongrass towel. We had booked a premium river front room and we got exactly what we expected - a luxurious, newly renovated, beautiful room which is right on the river front. Two large beds, a great shower and a large bath - all you could need and easily 5 star standard. Really quiet rooms too so a great nights sleep.

We ate in the hotel a few times. The first night we ate at the buffet which is outdoor, right on the river. We took advantage of a special offer which was basically a 2 for one deal. We had a complete banquet of oysters, prawns, sushi, fresh meat, curries, stir fries, BBQ and everything else you could possibly think of. Great value, great setting and really good quality food. Another time we visited the afternoon tea/cafe bar for cakes and coffee in the afternoon and this was also really good quality. The pastries were amazing. Prices were also quite reasonable.

We took advantage of our free 15 minute massage in the spa which was great, but we left it at that as the prices in the spa were absolutely astronomical. Compared to a Thai massage in the city centre this was over 10 times as expensive. Worth gritting your teeth and making a visit to MBK shopping mall for just £5 and equally good massage without the grandeur of the surroundings rather than spending money in the hotel spa!

The location of the hotel is slightly outside of town but the free shuttle boat was very reliable and ran every half hour to Central pier. This means that you are 30 minutes from the centre if Bangkok but the positive here is that the hotel feels super relaxing and out of the city so you do get the best of both worlds as you feel truly relaxed and away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We stayed by the pool a couple of afternoons and enjoyed a pizza sat outside made in the wood fired oven. We spend a lot of time in Italy and the pizza was just as good as what you would get there! The pool itself is great with no shortage of sunbirds and great service. A real haven of peace!

The only trouble we had was when we tried to get a taxi from the hotel one night. The doorman couldn't manage to get us one for 20 minutes meaning we were late for a dinner date with a friend in Bangkok, and true to Thailand's laid back culture, nobody was able to share our panic or hurry so it was quite frustrating from our perspective as we are used to hotels snapping fingers and getting a taxi. We tried to book one the night after but they said we were unable to book and just had to wait again. The doormen also struggled to explain to the taxi drivers where we needed to go meaning we had to try to direct the taxi ourselves to the destination.

The other down side is that when in the centre of Bangkok and heading back to the hotel at night, not many taxi drivers know where it is. Not sure if this is because it used to be the Marriott. Even though we had a little card in Thai with the address on, we ended up lost a couple of times which for 2 ladies travelling alone with no command of Thai was a little worrying! Had to go to another hotel and get the doorman to get us another taxi at one point! Take the boat and sky train in future but just make sure you allow enough time.

Overall this wasn't a rally big issue and it wasn't specific to the hotel, it is just something we thought was worth mentioning so others don't make the same mistake! In all we had such a great time, it was mums first experience if Thailand and the Anantara did us proud. An amazing place with amazing people well worth a visit. Relaxing riverside retreat that we will definitely return to.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a great location on the banks of the river. Free shuttle ferries to the Skytrain, public ferries and night markets. Nice pool. We stayed in river room suite with balcony and it was excellent. We will definitely use this as our base next time we are in Bangkok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 2pm and were immediately offered an upgrade. We sat on the daybed in reception and waited and waited. The receptionist that served us said they were getting the room ready and then disappeared. We were here with 4 other couples who all had gone to their assigned rooms. We waited and waited. At 2.45 I went back to the counter and no one knew what was going on and it wasn't even busy.... Another receptionist said she would try to figure out what was going on and organize to get a room ready for us. 15 minutes later she said they would be getting a riverside room for us ready soon.
She said we should go to the Cafe downstairs and get a drink while we waited. 3.30 she finally came down and said our room was ready.
Our friends could not contact us so went and did their own thing. We finally caught up later that night.
On a brighter note our room was beautiful with a riverside view (which we had booked in the first place). I am still not sure what the upgrade exactly entailed, but later discovered we had been charged an upgrade charge for each night that ran into a considerable amount. We tried to argue but gave up when no one understood what had happened. I tried later to sort it out but also to no avail. I eventually let it go because we had such a beautiful time. We tried all the restaurants plus Trader Vics, and the floating restaurant. All exceptional. The ferry service to the opposite side of the river and the sky train is great and runs every 30 mins(15 min trip) ran like clockwork. The pool is impressive with beautiful grounds and plentiful deckchairs(a real oasis so close to the city). The pool bar and the fact that you can order food from here as well is fantastic. We even got a short complimentary massage on 2 occasions. The 2 for one happy hour each day was a bonus and included cocktails!.
The travel desk lady was very helpful and organized us a couple of great trips and the floating restaurant. All went very smoothly.
We would definitely come here again next time we are in Bangkok.
If they say 'do you want an upgrade' I might say no......

Room Tip: Because we had friends in other rooms we saw quite a few. They are all nice no matter what wing you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed there for three nights in two rooms. Our experience is this one is probably the worst one compared with other hotels along the river side.

The air condition was in poor status. It automatically turned into "sleeping" mode during midnight and the noise is pretty loud. We woke up every night because of the high temperature. My friends stayed in another room, the carpet was not clean (a bit moist overall) and the safe wasn't working properly. We mentioned this to the front desk and it was not fixed the first night until we complained this to the front desk.

Forgot about the service at all. The cleaning lady didn't refill everything (say the shower cap, when we used one, we needed to ask for another one instead of refill by the cleaning lady). If you asked the room service for any help, it takes you quite a long time and even they didn't come back.

The ferry pick up also didn't come on time and if you were rushing for an appointment, don't take it!

Overally, we were so disappointed with the hotel service and facility and will definitely not pick this brand in Bangkok or other location again! This is definitely not up to five stars, I would say three stars maximum!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanKK_13, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear karenkcheung,
First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for us not providing you and your friends with our usual high level of services and facilities.
In addition to you having taken your valuable time to comment in this forum, it would be fantastic if you would be able to spare me some time over telephone, allowing me to find out more about your experiences. This would help me and the team a lot and would be greatly appreciated.
I can be contacted at jkirstein@anantara.com. I do hope to be hearing from you.
Once again, I am truly sorry for your negative experience, which does not reflect the normal Anantara spirit, and thanks a lot for your valuable feed-back.

Kind regards,

Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.