We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay- best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Kent
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay- best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have just returned from a 6 night stay here and highly recommend this hotel. The location is perfect -just 10 minutes shuttle boat from the main ferry port and skytrain station in the city. The boat ride s lovely and services each way every 30 minutes. At night there is anew night market / riverside development across the river served by the boat also and this is a great place to go from 7pm. The hotel facilities are very good, room great overlooking the river and the pool and lush gardens make you feel like you are in a beach resort not in a city! Spotlessly clean and a well managed place.
Breakfast is amazing- everything you can think of in the vast buffet (on a par with the shangri la singapore) but at £17 you really do need to make the most of it otherwise if you just want something small go to the Italian coffee shop in the Hotel and choose something off the breakfast menu for £5.
You do need to take mosquito repellent as the gardens and ponds attract them and they do get into rooms . plug in the mosquito guard at night and ask for spray if necessary.
The concierge services are excellent and most staff are willing and helpful (except my housekeepers on the 5th floor who were grumpy and shouting outside my room after 9 am clearly wanting to get into do my room!) that is my only complaint. Also odd that at no time any member of staff asked everything was ok even at check out which is unusual. It would be good if managers checked things to ensure more of a personal touch to balance the efficiency.
I am a fussy customer but will definately return here.

Room Tip: It can be a bit noisy in the west wing rooms above the outdoor restaurant area as you can hear staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    605
    131
    52
    8
See reviews for
592
1,064
101
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just spent 4 fantastic nights here. The location, service and facilities were all excellent. Having not "done" Bangkok before, we were afraid that the whole affair could have been too exhausting for us, as we wanted to do all the sights. However, as our Travel Agent said , this was a "green oasis" to return to after the heat and chaos of the City. Situated on river bank opposite everything of interest in Bangkok, we made full use of the regular shuttle boat to come and go all day and night to suit us. The small crew aboard were great, and added to our enjoyment. Super polite and attentive staff. Great coffee shop, where you could take breakfast, and simply lovely outdoor bar to start off the evening. Must return!!

Room Tip: Were more than happy with ours. We always have a high floor, as we find this seems to work. I suppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa.

We really appreciate your comments referring to our hotel as “Green Oasis” and that you plan to return to our hotel.

Please contact me directly to assist you with any arrangements for your next stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
Resident Manager
mkrebs@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's Heerenhoek (NL)
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is situated along the river near Bangkok. Although some brochures say it is near the city center, the actual Bangkok city center is quite far away (30 mins by taxi). The hotel offers a boat shuttle across the river to Asiatique shopping mall every 10 mins. To go to Bangkok center there is only a shuttle every 30 mins to a skytrain station across.
The lobby is very nice and calm, hotel staff were very friendly and we recieved a nice welcome at the front desk. The rooms are nice and clean with a good bed. Our room faced the street side and with the Chinese New Year, there was some kind of festival just in front of the hotel with very loud music (I mean stadium-loud, we were blasted away and you could hear it through ear buttons!) untill very late (way after midnight). As we were to leave on a tour early the next morning we didnt't sleep much. The next evening there was very loud music again. After complaining we got transferred to a room at the riverside of the hotel wich was a lot calmer. The breakfast is very luxurious and offers both oriental style dishes as western style breakfast. The pool and poolbar are very nice with good atmosphere and nice lighting in the night.
Overall we were happy to stay there. Do remember that this hotel is rather far from the city center and do reserve a room with river view due to very loud street noise.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just departed this hotel for our onward trip to Koh Samui. This hotel has the advantage of being slightly away from the smog and hustle and bustle but with excellent free transportation links provided by the hotel. Staff are so kind, food delicious, very clean. No need to spend the usual 3/4 nights here, this is a place where you could stay a week or more and not feel the need to move on.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your high ratings of our hotel and services in addition to your comments that truly represents what we are all about.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
Resident Manager
mkrebs@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Considering the temp was in the mid-90's (and humidity was about 100%!) during my visit to Bangkok, it was a pleasure to retreat to a hotel that felt more like a resort. The beautiful pool area surrounded by palms was a welcome relief from the heat, the fitness center is well-equipped, and the tennis courts appeared well-kept (although I don't play). The convenient water shuttle service on a converted rice barge runs from 7 a.m. to midnight to the Central Pier, from which commuter boats depart to all the major sites along the river. There is an additional evening water shuttle to Asiatique, which is teeming with places to eat and shop. The breakfast buffet at the hotel offers an amazing variety: besides western fare, there was Japanese, Dim Sun, and Thai breakfast. Seating was both indoor and outdoor. The staff throughout the hotel was friendly but we experienced some deficiencies in the service, mostly with housekeeping. I don't think it's asking too much to return to a clean room in the LATE afternoon; twice during our stay we came back to find the room had not been tidied, and to compound the problem, the housekeeper wanted to clean the room while we were preparing to go out for the evening. After I called housekeeping about it the first time, I thought it wouldn't happen again (but it did). Seemed to be a joint cleaning/turndown service. Apart from this, we had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our riverfront room as well as the facilities throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was in the wing (north, I think) convenient to where breakfast was served, and from our bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As residents of bangkok we wanted a break for the long weekend but didn't fancy the busy roads so opted to stay at a resort in our "hometown".
We arrived to check in earlier than the stated time so we expected the room not to be ready and as it wasn't we went for lunch in Brio which was excellent.
So far so good. After lunch (and now after official check in time) we were escorted to our room and were greeted by a telephone engineer working in the room. The lady escorting us spoke to him and said he will leave shortly and she promptly left. Over half an hour later we called reception and explained that the room was still being worked on and we had been unable to change or relax. The receptionist incredibly, argued and told us the room was ready! I've never been accused of lying in a hotel before! Not a great start to a romantic weekend.
The hotel itself has huge potential because of its location and F&B outlets but has a very tired and unloved feel about it. The electrics in the room appear to be connected to the lights in some way, so if you turn of a certain part of the room's lights the power no longer works, thus if you are charging an appliance it doesn't charge and you only find out when you go to unplug it.
There was construction work taking place by the pool which meant that early in the morning there was the noise of drills and hammering but thankfully this did quieten later in the morning. What was a shame was that this was never mentioned either at the time of booking or on arrival.
The rest of the stay was as would be expected. Brio, Benihana and Trader Vic's were all very good indeed. Brunch at the latter is a must for any visitors to Bangkok, it is by far one of the best in town.The hotel has a shuttle boat to the nearby skytrain station and the newly opened Asiatique night market which is very convenient indeed.
After-service is very prompt. I was sent a customer survey request within 24 hours. I received a reply regarding my issues and the Resident Manager did eventually email me (actually whilst I was writing this review!) and has offered to call to discuss my complaints. But by this stage it is too little too late, (I still cannot get over not being believed) I've had enough and just want to move on.
All in all, a great location, excellent F&B, but not really value for money and as for customer service...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa.

We really appreciate your comments about your great dining experience in Brio, Benihana and Trader Vic’s, especially you mentioning the Sunday Brunch at Trader Vic’s. However, as mentioned in my previous correspondence to you, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations in all areas. This is certainly not what we are striving to achieve for and I would like to apologize for that.

Since you are resident in Bangkok, we would hope you can give us another opportunity to show you what we are all about in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Krebs
Resident Manager
mkrebs@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We frequently stay at Anantara’s when we can, and the Riverside was not disappointing. We came in on an overnight flight that was delayed and with the traffic from the airport, we were completely beat by the time we got there. The staff were so friendly and pleasant from the time we arrived until the time we left. The pool area is surrounded by koi ponds and lush green plants, and a nice place to relax. And the happy hour from 4 – 6 pm (buy one get one free) is a nice plus. They also have a lighting ceremony at dusk around the pool. The resort is on the other side of the river, but they have a shuttle boat that will take you to Asiatique and the train station. We took it to the dock by the train station and caught a river boat up to the Grand Palace, much faster than taking a taxi. We unfortunately only had lunch there as we were short on time, but it was pretty good Thai noodles. The BBQ they had one night at the restaurant on the pier looked wonderful. They also have chain restaurants like Benihana’s and Trader Vic’s. It was also nice the morning we left we had to get to the airport early and the breakfast buffet opens at 6 am.

The balconies are a nice touch, and we had a river view room. It was nice relaxing and watching the boats go by and the city come alive while having morning coffee. It was nice to stay at a place that was away from the noise of the city and had such nice gardens to walk through.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.