We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Leg of Thailand holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer with FREE Spa
Ranked #23 of 745 hotels in Bangkok
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Last Leg of Thailand holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was tha last hotel on our trip to Thailand in November 2012.
A bit difficult to find but a real hidden jewel. We stayed there 3 nights and it was brilliant. First class accomodation. Great food with outstanding service. A very modern hotel.
5 minutes walk to the skytrain at Chong Nonsi BTS station, so very easy to get about. The hotel provides a regular taxiservice to the skytrain station if you cant be bothered to walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,353
    529
    119
    44
    8
See reviews for
472
897
94
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently hosted a 3 day wedding of my nephew at Aanantara river side .The best part about this hotel was to see how cooperative and responsible the staff and the entire management team was.so much so that i was forced to question my self weather hosting the wedding was more comfortable in a foreign country rather than my own city and i must say it was the right choice for me to choose anantara river side as the wedding location and the entire credit for this goes to the superb service provided by the staff there.The rooms were clean and spacious and the view was outstanding. My only concern prior to the wedding was how well the hotel could provide us with good quality indian food over a period of three day.However this was taken care of by the hotel who provided us with delicious indian food through out the wedding. All in all I would conclude my review by stating that had i gone anywhere else for hosting this wedding I'm sure it wouldnt have been as successful as it was made with all the help from everyone at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I used to go to this Hotel when it was a Marriott resort and we tried it again this February under the new Antara brand.
Beside the brand change I must say that the experience was pretty similar, meaning, very good !
The Suite are really great, with a gorgeous view on Chao Praya.
I love the three pillow choice with different texture, I love the private Expresso machine with complentary capsules... Of good coffee, I love the Bose Ipod Iphone sound system, I love the free broadband wifi connection...
Breakfast is still generous with multiple choices.
Night diner on water front with a show offer a very good buffet with fresh sea food including fresh oysters. A bit pricy though, but price is less an issue when quality is there.
The boat shuttle is great, and now, with the opening of 'Asiatique' (the night market which has been moved from Lumpini, they offer a shuttle every ten minutes direct to 'Asiatique' from 18:00 to 22:00. There also a service to Saphan Taksin where you can grab the BTS to Sala deng, Patpong, or National Stadium with the MBK shopping mall, or the river bus to Wat Pho.

Moving from Marriott to Antara, they kept the customers files, and as a multiple return customer, I was awarded the VIP treatment. This was a nice surprise.

Became even better when all chinese customers from Chinese New Year left ;-)

Definitely a great hotel to saty in Bangkok !

Room Tip: Choose rooms either on the river, or on the inner side since on south wing external, there is a noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wasnt happy when I got in the room, dusty floor and toilet, but after we told them about it they clean up the next day. But was disappointed that the flat isn,t as clean as my flat!

We really enjoys the pool and also there's a chocolate cafe that has lots of chocolates and noodle bar- thai style we had lunch there a few times over our stay, and deserts coffee afterwards.

The italian place Brio is quite okay but cannot meet my expectation, also got lots of mosquito bites after a dinner there, would appreciate if they do sth about that inside the restaurant ( didnt get any bites during my stay except in the Brio! I couldn't taste the food since I got so many bites :(

the pool is fantastic since we traveled with a new born infant.

Location is close to the asiatique where you can go for a shopping in evening. Will def come back to the hotel but with mosqito repellant if you want to go to the italian restaurant Brio in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our first rip to Thailand, certainly not our last..! We stayed here for 3 nights before heading down to Krabi.. It is a beautiful hotel and in a great location.. Choice of restaurants and bars.. There is a small shopping mall attached if you wish to have a little wander. [ even has a McDonalds..!]. Breakfast was amazing and a huge t choice. The shuttle boat leaves every 30 minuets into the city and the new night market, great way to travel..Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble.. Free wi-fi in the lobby & pool area.. Will certainly go back to this hotel. In my opinion worth of its 5 stars..

Room Tip: over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had been to Anantara riverside for 3nights for my friends destination wedding.
The rooms are very clean and the service is prompt. Also since it is on river side the free ferry service provided by nearest sky train station (Sapah Taksin) is very useful as it cuts the traffic roads. The breakfast although was not enjoyable , atleast for me. Although it had fair variety the taste was not great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were only in Bangkok 2 nights(big mistake!) and found the Anantara to be the perfect place to stay. Though it is 45 drive from airport, the location was where you would want to be. Right on on the river, with boat transportation to the primary destinations, we never had to get in a vehicle until we returned to the airport. The hotel is beautiful, very well maintained, great rooms, pool, many restaurants and activities. Our stay in Bangkok awesome. We're ready to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Marriott Bangkok
Bangkok Marriott
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.