We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Day Sales - 30% Off!
Ranked #16 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were only in Bangkok 2 nights(big mistake!) and found the Anantara to be the perfect place to stay. Though it is 45 drive from airport, the location was where you would want to be. Right on on the river, with boat transportation to the primary destinations, we never had to get in a vehicle until we returned to the airport. The hotel is beautiful, very well maintained, great rooms, pool, many restaurants and activities. Our stay in Bangkok awesome. We're ready to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    688
    152
    58
    10
See reviews for
685
1,252
119
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, OK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Love the Hotel installations, service was good... it is in a very convenient location right there in front of the river. Move to the Palace by boat and avoid traffic hassle. Food and service in site are overpriced. Rooms are nice and clean. Overall a great stayed.

Room Tip: Be ready to pay high price on everything on site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was a wonderful resort on the river. The breakfast was amazing and everything about this place is incredible. My only complaint is that you don't really get a feel for Bangkok here. The resort is so isolated and nice, it makes it difficult to leave to experience Thai culture. If you're looking for a beautiful hotel/resort and plan to relax at a great pool, stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a really beautiful hotel set on the riverside away from the hussle of Bangkok. Our room had two queen comfortable beds put together and good bathroom facilities. The hotel provide a river boat which will take you to the express boats. This is the best way to get around as you dont have to experience Bangkok traffic. In the evening it will take you to the other side of the river where there is good shops and restaurants.
The restaurants in the hotel are good with lovely setting overlooking the river and is beautiful to see at night with the lights.
The pool and swim up bar is lovely with an evening display of Thai dancers to light up the pool lanterns.
We have in the past used this hotel for stay overs before going onto Europe, but this year we returned here with our daughter and grandaughter before visiting other parts of Thailand. This has to be our favourite hotel here we love it and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Anantara , Bangkok is a quaint little maze .. One keeps forgetting the ways around. However that is great for a little more exercise than usual. We were here for a wedding and having our loved ones around plus a great place to stay together was indeed an unforgettable experience. The staff was very good N I must especially thank Kiran the wedding planner who prepared an almost flawless plan. This hotel is in the south side of Bangkok and can be counted amongst the best properties in Thailand. As Indians though we felt that food menu was limited and was short on flavor . Otherwise the breakfast display was sumptuous. Surroundings were leafy and green with strategically placed stone statues of elephants and other deities that added to the holidayish ambience of the place.
Pool room view , river view rooms are good but rooms higher up show up a whole lot more ...we
We're on 5th floor and had fabulous view of the riverside, the pool and around.
Wifi should be completely free of cost as is with most top high end hotels in the world .
Especially favorable was the free hotel ferry service to the sky train station, which was a BIG plus point . It could also take u to the Asiatique with a 'London Eye' replica giving an opportunity to view the entire city scape .
Taxis n Tuk tuks can indeed be a problem with their high fares and one keeps feeling cheated with so many quotations of taxi fares and cut throat bargaining . However don fret the mobike ride can come cheaper ;).

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Quality of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff was excellent.
We traveled as a big group aging from 23-79. Next time we come back to Bangkok with "the elders" we will choose a hotel on the other side of the river
Not much to see in the surrounding neighborhood, but there's a free shuttle boat that takes you directly to the Salthorn Pier where you can board the Sky train or many of the trips. Keep in mind that the last boat departs before midnight. In the evening there's also direct shuttle boat to Asiatique the Riverfront.
.
We only tried breakfast at the hotel, but it has everything one can dream of.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the riverfront have a balcony, however, the heat and the smell of the river might mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzsimon1975
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed here four times now and I almost cry with delight everytime I return. This resort is amazing the staff cannot do enough for you, everyone from the concierge, to the little boat man who has been doing the job for 20 years to the manager who runs the best breakfast in the land, I wouldnt want to cross him if I was doing a bad job but he seems devoted to his staff and devoted to making the breakfast .. in his words great for everyone the tourist and the conference delegate. This time I took my partner who had never travelled outside of Australia.. he felt the same as I did after spending a week elsewhere in Thailand nothing could compare to the Anantara Riverside, the beauty and the staff it felt so beautiful to return and when we were welcomed back by the staff upon arrival it really felt like coming home. Cant wait to get back there. If there were a 6 star property I think due to the level of service, rooms and food I think this would be 6 stars. ******Close to Sky bar, Asiatique and Bangk ra for local food

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.