We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Addicted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Spa!
Ranked #20 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Addicted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Simply looking for an excuse to get back. My wife and myself stayed here for three nights as part of a three destination holiday. On arrival we were giving a free upgrade to a junior suite, very nice.
Our concern that the hotel was a bit "out the way" were unfounded, the hotel has its own free shuttle boat that takesto and from the biz all day. The cleanliness, food,pool, bars & rooms were only exceeded by the staff, who were fantastic, every single one of them!!!
We went onto stay at the Anantara Hua Hin for six nights after here and its fair to say we will try to stay with Anantara if possible in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,470
    556
    121
    46
    8
See reviews for
521
952
95
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Anantara Riverside for 4 nights and loved every minute of it. First of all, we arrived at 6am and we were allowed to check-in and get into a room straight away. We definitely needed the nap before our first tour. The room was beautiful and had a view of the river. We watched the sunrise before crashing after a long flight from the US. My favorite parts of the room were: beautiful wood floors, free wifi (free for GHA members), great smelling toiletries including lotion from a pump instead of a little bottle like at most hotels, and strong air conditioning.

The breakfast was of massive variety and utmost high quality. The food items span all cultures and were fresh and delicious. Just a suggestion to go early if you can, as the restaurant can be hectic when full and the staff very busy and may not be as attentive as when the restaurant first open at 6am. The pool was charming as well. There were plenty of chairs and umbrella shades. No need to bring a towel as they are provided once you arrive at the pool. Only thing is that if you sit on the side with the outdoor kitchen, the smell of food cooking may be overpowering, which is not suitable for an afternoon sunbathing. Not a big deal since you can just move to another side. At 6pm everyday, there is a ceremony where the lights around the pool are lit and there is traditional Thai dancing and drums beating. Very festive!

The location of the resort was ideal ly located. It is farther out than other high0end hotels, but it did not really matter because of their complimentary boat shuttle every half hour to the train station, which we used often to get around. Also, at night, the boat shuttle goes to Asiatique which has boutiques, restaurants, and nice outdoor space to walk around. It is not a typical night market. It definitely caters to tourists or the well-to-do's but is worth a visit. We were there just before Christmas and the place was lit and decorated nicely.

The staff was very courteous. There was a full gym which had free weights and machines. I did use the business center for an emergency and was quite costly. I can't remember the prices in baht but it was something like $1 USD per page printed, $5 USD per 15 minutes on the internet, and $8 USD for each minute fax to the United States. I had to use the internet for a few minutes, print 10 pages, and send a fax that took over 3 minutes to transmit, but they were kind enough not to charge me for everything. I paid just $22 USD, which is still a lot but it could have been worse. All the prices were posted so not a surprise but still was expensive.

Overall, I would totally go back to this hotel if we were to visit Bangkok again. The grounds were so lovely and there were actually several weddings and engagement events there. I would HIGHLY recommend the hotel away from the bustling city.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I usually don't stay by the river because I've always assumed that it would be harder to get to my favorite eating and shopping places, but I was wrong. The Anantara makes it so easy to take their boat from their private pier to the Saphan Taksin skytrain station, that you can get anywhere you want to go quickly and easily. It was so much more pleasant to start with a short, cool, breezy boat ride rather than a hot walk through the hectic streets to a nearby station. Now, in regards to the hotel, let me say that the Anantara Riverside is fantastic. Whether you are a honeymooning couple, a vacationing family, or doing business in Bangkok, this quiet hotel is perfect. The hotel is contained within extensive tropical gardens and provides a comfortable refuge from the city. The hotel has great water features inside and outside, and blends modern decor and sculptures with traditional Thai design. The room was great with a large marble bathroom with rain shower and wi-fi that always worked. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever seen with everything from Indonesian nasi goreng to German breads and pretzels even. Of course, it is stocked with all the normal custom cooking stations, fruits, fresh juices, and everything you would expect from a five star hotel. There are plenty of restaurants on the premises, or you can take to the boat to Asiatique, the upscale shopping and eating area across the river. The staff were great, always greeting me with traditional and genuine Thai hospitality. You get the feeling that they really care and aren't just being friendly because its their job. I like that, and have stayed at dozens of hotels in SE Asia where they could learn from the Anantara. The Anantara also has an on premise "street guru" (and a klong guru who knows the canals) who is an expert on all the local culture, food, and sights and can take you on an "off-the-beaten-path" tour to show you the Bangkok that only locals know. I enjoyed every minute of my time there and rate it better than the highest rated hotels in Sukhumvit. Plus, the spa treatment room was huge and was really peaceful. Get a signature treatment if you stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view. The views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have stayed in Bangkok many times, the Anatara is the best hotel i have used, its a beautiful oasis, with wonderful staff, outstanding surroundings and fabulous location on the river.

Our first fabulous visit was 20 years ago and i can honestly say the service has only improved if anything.

Fabulous

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Peninsula, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

In every respect an amazing hotel. From the charmingly uniiformed staff to the Frangipani blossoms wafting onto our poolside chaise i have never enjoyed a resort that much. Located away from the bustle of street life, my river view room was far enough away to be shielded from the hellish racket of the long- tail boats, whereas the hotel shuttle whisks one in about 10 minutes to the sky train station and pier, where tour and hotel boats all come together.
Breakfast on the terrace in the cool of the day was an international adventure with buffets for every taste , including delicious fresh pressed juices.
Prices at the restaurants are very high, of course, but in the adjacent shopping center there are more modest places to eat as well as $10 massages, beautiful Thai silk goods and even a dentist . Don't miss the cashmere shawls and silk duvet covers in the Kashmiri shop on the 2nd floor.
My only complaint was with the tours I booked through the hotel, which were Ok, except for the guides speaking either very poor English, or having very bad pronunciation and being unintelligible
I would come back to Thailand just stay at another Anantara hotel.

Room Tip: For a river view room be sure to be on the 6th floor or above. Otherwise you look into palm trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel provided the ideal ending for our trip to Asia. We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our holiday and it was so relaxing and peaceful. We were told by the staff that the management are trying hard to bring a Thai flavour to the hotel and I would say that they are succeeding.
We were very pleased to be upgraded to a lovely river view room in the new building and we were escorted to the room and found waiting for us a platter of tiny Thai sweets and fruits, a bowl of orchids and a gift of a box of Thai spices for us to take home. We felt really pampered and welcomed to this beautiful hotel.
The breakfast buffet is superb with a wide range of dishes and is very peaceful. You can sit in or out.
Whilst relaxing by the pool everyone was offered fruit ice lollies, cool towels and later a fruit kebab all courtesy of the hotel.
Each evening at 18.00 by the pool there was a display of classical Thau dancing which was lovely to watch and later each evening there is a BBQ with a classical Thai dance show.This was often fully booked so book in advance.
The hotel boats were great and in the evening they take you over to the market on the opposite bank where there are plenty of reasonably priced places to eat.Back at the hotel in the evening we found 3 or 4 artisans at work glass blowing and soap carving with goods on sale.
Anantara is a very pretty hotel which offers superb service in a lovely environment. It will definitely be my choice next time I am in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel early December for 2 nights before the rest of my holiday through Thailand. I really wish I'd stayed longer or that the hotels on the rest of my trip had been this amazing. It took us about an hour to get from the airport to the hotel. When I walked in I just thought "wow"!! The staff at this hotel were the friendliest thai people I met and so professional. This hotel oozes class. We were upgraded to a better room which was amazing. Really clean, huge room, amazing bathroom, comfy big bed. Honestly loved it. The hotel is so peaceful and clean everywhere. The pool is amazing and its a shame I didn't get to use it that much. The boat service is very useful. The only negative is that it is quite far from everything. It's fine cause taxis are cheap but traffic is such a nightmare in Bangkok that after a busy day/night out you just want to go to bed but have a long journey back. But I would still definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.