We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel I will EVER stay in, in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Bangkok Activities!
Ranked #17 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The only hotel I will EVER stay in, in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I spent 9 nights at this amazing hotel. Check in was fast, polite and we got an upgrade to a premier delux room. The room it's self was perfect, super comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and toiletries (took a few lovely soaps home) and with modern styling. The staff couldn't have been any better! Always smiling and Swadee Ka you every time and they genuinely make the hotel a special place to stay. The pool was out of this world, when at the pool it felt like I was back in Phuket or Koh Samui (not in a huge built up smoggy city).
The hotel shuttle boat was great and ALWAYS on time and also with great staff. It's one place you feel like the staff are being nice because they are happy and want to be nice, not just for a tip! As far as dining goes, breakfast is huge and kept me full until it was time for my evening meal every time, so much choice and very fresh tasting food!

There is a small 7/11 type shop (different name) across the main road from the hotels entrance and up a little to the right which is handy if u want a (non mini bar priced) btl of booze or any other bits n pieces, the shopping plaza is great for cheaper restaurants like a good hangover macdonalds :)
Travellers tip, keep an eye on the Bangkok groupon page before you go, I got some great deals for food and drink. There is nothing negative I can possibly say about this hotel and I can't wait to get bk!! As soon as I pay off the last trip :)
Ps- If your up for a good laugh and want to meet some great and interesting people, once you get off the hotel shuttle at Saphan Taksin, get a taxi boat 30 Bhat per person to pier 13 and go for a night out on Khao San Road!! Amazing night, Amazing buckets and Amazing food!!! And so so so cheap!!! Have fun guys :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia P, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I will keep it very short, but I simply would like to say a big "thank you" for such a great review. This is a great motivation for our entire team.

Thank you and warm regards,

Claudia Pronk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    571
    124
    49
    8
See reviews for
553
991
97
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed at the anantara riverside in Bangkok for 3 nights at the end of November 2012. we arrived not really knowing what to expect and from the first moment of our arrival we were completely blown away. the entrance is gorgeous, reception staff absolutely lovely - i couldnt have been made more welcome. we arrived early so our room wasnt ready yet which i didnt expect anyway so we left our bags with the concierge and lazed by the pool for 2 hours, had a snack at the pool bar before heading to collect our keys and then get escorted to our room personally.
the room was stunning. we didnt overlook the river which i expect would have been spectacular. we had a city view which was great anyway, our own balcony overlooking the tennis courts. the room was amazing - everything you could need and felt really luxurious. the housekeeping staff were lovely and so friendly.
pool area and dining areas in the hotel awesome. we had drinks a couple of nights at the riverside bar sat on this little pier - where you also get your shuttle boat across the river to the nearest sky train station. the hotel runs shuttle boats approx every half an hour to a main pier further up the river (right by a sky train station) and also the main public pier where you can get other boats from to tour the city that way.
breakfast in the hotel was probably the best i have had anywhere in the world. i loved it. everything you could imagine from the continental type stuff - british equivalents if you wanted that type of thing, fruits, pastries, breads, but the thai and oriental food was just out of this world. staff there ready to cook you fresh eggs, fresh pancakes - all sorts. they really catered for every taste and the waiting on staff couldnt do enough for you.

i highly recommend this hotel! it exceeded all of my expectations and i will definitely be going back! :)

Room Tip: i think a riverside view would be amazing but the rooms were lovely regardless
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was my second time at this hotel. Memories from my first vere so good that I wanted to return. My expectations we fulfilled.

This hotel is perfect if you want to combine your citybreak with shopping, sightseeing and relaxing by the pool. The pool area and garden are beautiful - you can't believe that you are in the middle of the big, hot and humid city. The hotel boat takes you every 30 mins to skytrain station in 15 minutes. Many times it is the only fast way to move around as it is not stucked in traffic jams like taxis.

Interior is lush and luxurious. Breakfast buffet is just amazing. I stayed in older room, which was ok and worked fine for me. My friend stayed in renewed room and it was absolutely beautiful. Very tasteful.

If you stay just overnight in Bangkok, this is not the perfect choice for you. But if you stay 2 nights or longer, I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel.

Only thing that I did not like was the price of the hotel van transportation to the airport. It was ridiculous: for 4 persons 3500 bahts. It costs as much as the room for one night. Unfortunately our flight left really early in the morning and we did not want to risk of having problems with getting a taxi at that time of the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We're really thankful to Tripadvisor for this vacation. The reviews for this hotel were consistently good and we weren't disappointed.

We travelled to Bangkok for a short family vacation and wanted a hotel that had easy access in and around the city but still quiet and relaxing when we retired for the day. Of course, for our kids, having a nice pool was a must too. We found all the above at the Anantara Riverside.

Positives:
1. Service: First rate. Smiles all the time and always accommodating; from the moment we checked-in to the time we checked-out. This is what service should look like!
2. Wifi: Loved that it was complimentary in all public areas.
3. Breakfast: amazing spread and all of fine quality.
4. River Boat: punctual and efficient. Takes you to the Saphan Taksin pier for easy access to river boat service up north (Grand Palace) and also the BTS station into downtown Bangkok (e.g. Siam Square).
5. Well maintained facilities for an older property. Extremely clean. Housekeeping should be commended!
6. Easy access to alternative food options. Asiatique is across from the hotel via the river boat service and there is a small strip mall adjoining the hotel.

Negatives
1. Location: a plus for us because it was away from the city but it can be a tad inconvenient to shopping and night life.

Room Tip: To have better views of the Chao Praya, pick the River View rooms 5th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first visit was in July 2009 when this was still a Marriott Resort. Coming back from Laos in July 2012 we decided to spend 3days in Bangkok. The hotel is perfect for a stay in Bangkok. The location is ideal in the quiet part of the city. The boat transfer to the othter bank of te river is Nice and functional.
When our son was ill the reception organised a swift doctor's visit and cold pads. The friendly cleaning lady brought some fruits, very nice.

One negative point : check in took more than half an hour. No improvement here as in 2009 it also took very long.

When returning to Bangkok we will certainly stay heer again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Anantara RS Spa & Resort in November 2012. The staff was exceptionally friendly and always helpful. The rooms were clean, spacious, and beautifully furnished. The river front rooms a beautyful view to the Chao Phraya River. Huge breakfast buffet had a large variety of food and was of good quality. The hotel is located a bit south of BKK center but the hotel provides free boat rides to the nearest access to the sky train. Overall, the Anantara RS Spa & Resort is a beautiful oasis with a great pool area and garden, where you can relax and recover from your citiy tours.

Room Tip: Riverfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

i stayed here by myself before joining up with a group for a buck's party about 2 weeks ago.

overall, very happy with it. friendly staff, good service. nice touches - eg. all lights etc. easy to control from a panel beside the bed. could hear the TV in the bathroom, which was nice to have a shower and listen to CNN. good wifi. pool had a swim up bar, which was a first for me.

i hear the renovated rooms in the newer part are better.

handy free ferry takes you to the skytrain station, so not being in the heart of bangkok wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.