We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
30% Exclusive Deal!
Ranked #17 of 771 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

service / overview excellent , suttle sevice and breafast are very well. Price are reasonable. Swiming poor very nice and clean. If bigger may more better.
It's wonderful for family or friend gathering.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    685
    152
    58
    10
See reviews for
677
1,237
117
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 8 November 2012 for one night.
We stayed here in March 2008 when it was part of the Marriott group. As a family we've always stayed at this hotel and have enjoyed the atmosphere of the place. So, it was with trepidation that we returned. We could not discern any real difference between the two managements. Being nit picking there's no complimentary water on the shuttle to the Thaksin bridge or on the return leg. Other than still a great place to stay if you want somewhere removed from the city centre but with ready access to the Sky train ( Thaksin bridge) and the shopping malls or the PAtpong night market.
The staff as ever are very helpful.

Didn't use room service, spa or the gym. Therefore, no comments

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice place to relaxe b4 your boat (15min) will take you to the skytrain station. Explorer BKK and get back to the hotel which makes you feel like you are at a resort. the pool area is great with a 5 står service all day long. excellence restaurant are at the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

When you experience something as good as this it's hard not to rave but Anantara Bangkok Riverside has it all! wonderful, wonderful staff, and an atmosphere that embraces all that a really good holiday requires. We have stayed in many hotels over the 18 years that we've been going to Bangkok and although we are a little further away from the centre of business, we think the slight inconvenience is well worth it. We will always try and stay at Anantara Bangkok Riverside in the future and enjoy the wonderful food and pool and peace and quiet that the river location provides. Can thoroughly recommend it! Jo Kendall

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

In October, my family and I spent 3 glorious days at the Anantara Riverside. We all agreed that our experience was akin to being in someone's home, The graciousness of the management and staff were exceptional.
I would recommend Anantara Riverside, Bangkok to anyone who would like a "home away from home"!! We will certainly return next year!
Sherrie Conrad

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel on and off for maybe 15 years. We are very pleased to see that all of the traditions and fine services have been maintained since changing from a Marriott Hotel to an Anantara Hotel.
The staff cannot be nicer, the facilities are fantastic (including the best pool in BKK and maybe all of Asia), the breakfast are superb, the bakery excellent, the boat service efficient (and now includes stops in the evening at Asiatique, the new night market across the river) and the views of the busy river very fun to watch.
I cannot give this hotel a rating higher than 12 on a 10 scale.
We will continue to make this our first stop for years to come when traveling in BKK.

I totally disagree with Wala69's comments. The new uniforms are crisp and very thai. The old ones had gotten a bit tattered we had noticed on our last visit in nov, 2011.

I should also say that we consider this hotel a real oasis in the madness that is bangkok

Room Tip: we prefer the main central building, but all are convenient and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Since the Anantara has left its former hotel chain alliance it has lost a lot of its flair.
The employees now wear more business like clothing when in the past you had the nice, local feeling when you arrived.
We got upgraded to a room which actually was a downgrade for us as the room was smaller and has not been cleaned in days. We had dead flies on the bed, the bathroom and one every window board. The bathroom was so small that there was no way to fit two people in at the same time. The same with the sink. It was so small that washing your hands became a challenge.
We asked to be downgraded again which gave us a much nicer and bigger room with a nicer view.
The staff was still nice and friendly but no comparison to our earlier visits.
The breakfast buffet was changed as well but still had the nice and fresh feeling to it and was very tasty. Internet was free during our stay.
The main reason for the drop from a 5 Star to a 2 Star review was the feeling you get when you are there. It is more distant, colder and just plain business like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia P, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our resort. I am so sorry to read your review since it is completely the opposite of what we strive for with our team on a daily basis. We have clearly let you down on this occassion and we do apologize sincerely for this.
I personally wish we could get in touch to talk about this further and so I could apologize in person or by phone which is much nicer than by email. I hope you would give me that chance and my email is cpronk@anantara.com

Warm regards,
Claudia Pronk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.