We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Luxury!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great hotel, they really do think of everything you might want. It is in a cool location on the river with a free riverboat to a central skytrain station. They have a onsite travel guide who will arrange what you want (without trying to sell you all the extras you don't want). The pool and on site restaurants are great if you don't want to head out for dinner. Our room was upgraded to a suite which was stunning so thank you Anantara. We will definitely stay here again when in Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    600
    131
    50
    8
See reviews for
586
1,059
100
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This Hotel, previously The Marriott Riverside Resort & Spa, has everything you require for a pampered holiday in the Tropics. There are approximately 5 restaurants, a day spa, gym and amazing pool with swim up bar set in amoungst beautiful gardens. A hotel shuttle boat runs regularly to transport you to the BTS skytrain which takes you to many shopping destinations plus the airport. The rooms are lovely and in keeping with Thai furniture and architecture. The staff are friendly, and seem to remember us from previous stays. You won't get a better breakfast with as much variety anywhere in the world! I cannot write highly enough of this beautiful hotel!!! Five star luxury at its finest!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have you ever had the feeling of chasing a distant memory as it's only a dream? I did, but the dream became a reality. In the year 1975 I went to Thailand and became spellbound by the country and it's gentle people. In Bangkok I stayed in one of three top hotels at the time. The stay in Anantara Riverside Hotel exceeded my lovely memory and left me with an even greater memory. For your great Siam experience I suggest you choose the Anantara Riverside Hotel, it will give you a great feeling for a lifetime.

Room Tip: I got a room facing the river and it was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've been there for business purpose but extended stay for a short family vacation.
It is a wonderful resort hotel, with carrying people and friendly staff. It's a oasis of relax in a crowded Bangkok.
It's enough to visit hotel's web page to see its beauty so i won't write unnecessary words.. just tips for future travelers, do's and don'ts.

First thing you have to do after check-in is go and talk to GRO and Concierge, it's a must if you want to know you're way around. There are some difficulties in getting any advice and tips from regular staff since not everyone speaks fluent english.

Another "must" in my opinion is tiping the right people. This is my rule when i travel in any country in the world and i know some of you disagree, but let me tell you that if you want to receive quality service you have to offer either a huge amount of politness and share a lot of happiness with the staff, either give them a tip. Even the service charge is included on almost all the bills, i still gave them some extra for having a good time.

Best way to go around the town is crossing the river by boat from hotel's pier and than take a taxi towards city center. Second best way is taking a taxi from the hotel, it's a longer trip but good for bad weather.

Bangkok malls? I hated most of them. They didn't impress me. There are a lot to visit but not shopping in my opinion...

Back to the hotel - room was perfect, bathroom perfect, amazing amenities and a nice comfortable bed. Oh, and a pillow menu of course.

BKF - it is my first breakfast experience with sushi at 07:00 AM, i was surprised but enchanted in the same time. In rest, they have almost anything.

F&B outlets - there are quite many restaurants & bars so you have options for many tastes but Benihana remains my favourite, Trader Vic's being the second. A dinner cruise with Manohra is not to be left out as well, so, there goes 3 nights of your vacation :))

In case there are some unfortunate incidents or you need anything just dial or go to reception desk and they are happy to help.

It was a really enjoyable experience to stay in Anantara and i will stay again there if i will visit Bangkok again.

Room Tip: facing the pool not the bridge on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed three nights at the Anantara Riverside Spa & Resort. Had also stayed there some years back when the property was under Marriott management. Equally enjoyed my stay. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable and the grounds make this more than a regular hotel. You can wander around beautiful grounds without having the impression of being in the middle of Bangkok. One minus though...we had booked two rooms (one regular and one suite) and both were definitely in need of more ligthing at night (jet lag times). Decent lighting is inexplicably absent.
Being a bit off hotel alley on the Chao Praya, the boat ride to the central pier downtown is an experience to do again and again. Service remains top notch at all levels. The hotel is next to a small mall so you can go for fast food if you don't want to pay hotel restaurant prices. The sports conditionning room is top notch on equipment and is open 24 hours. I did couple of sessions at 4am and can vouch for it being open round the clock. Breakfast was included. Excellent. Both east and west choices. There are other higher end restaurants on the property which were not sampled.
Beautiful pool area. Can't wait till next time.

Room Tip: Get a River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizhou, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel and had another fantastic stay. The hotel is 5 stars for good reason. Set outside the hustle and bustle that is Bangkok, this place acts as the perfect retreat after a long tiring day exploring the city. The hotel and grounds are simply gorgeous and believe me when I say that you will enjoy exploring the hotel especially in the evening when the balcony is wonderfully lit with gas lamps and fairy lights. The staff was helpful and very accommodating. Nothing was ever to much trouble for them. There are a range of restaurants within the hotel offering various intercontinental cuisines as well as a well equipped fitness centre. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi area is fantastic and again best to be enjoyed in the early evening. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. The only thing I felt was a little off was the charge for wifi but this is in keeping with most hotels of the same caliber. Enjoy!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family and live in Bangkok and have stayed at this hotel roughly 5 times. We really enjoyed it due to friendly service, great facilities, and many choices of restaurants and spa offerings. Their business center is thoroughly equipped and the breakfast buffet is fabulous. The pool is beautiful, equipped with both a kiddie area and a very large jacuzzi. The rooms are quiet and a good size.The plaza across the street and the ferry to Bangkok. make it very convenient. If you live in Bangkok, be sure to ask for the local rates. We will be back again!

Room Tip: We haven't had a poor room yet, but we particularly enjoyed watching fireworks from a riverside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd | Samrae Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.