We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Bangkok to your Saves list
Chateau de Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Soi Ruamrudee 1, Ploenchit Rd., Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free SIM & Skytrain Pass!
Ranked #154 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Room and Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I've been to Bangkok a few times and none of the hotels can beat this one in terms of room size and wifi speed. There is a walk-in closet, pantry in addition to a TV area and dining area. Even with an extra bed in, there is still a lot of space left. The Wifi speed was fast and there was absolutely no problem with connections.

As for food, there is an alley just next door and the stir fries are alright. I paid 35 baht for a good serving of pad thai. Top supermarket is in a shopping centre just across the road. You can also find Burger King there. 7-11 is a few blocks down the road on the right.

It is a quiet location and when I had to take cabs, many could not locate the hotel. The address on the hotel says Soi 29 but we noticed that the sign just outside the hotel says Soi 1. When on the road, look out for NOVOTEL or TOTO and be prepared to turn into the small road. If you like shopping and like convenience, then you should choose other hotels located in the shopping belt. But if you are alright with the BTS or don't mind taking cabs, then this hotel is good.

If there is anything that I really don't like about the hotel is the expensive price for cab from the hotel to the airport. Elsewhere, I could ask for a metered cab to the airport and it would not have cost me more than 500 baht but this time, at this hotel, the bellboy said that it could not be done. I was very unhappy but still, he insisted that a metered cab was not possible. Finally, he said that he would negotiate for me (as if really) and then the price went down to 700 baht. I should have done some homework. If I had known earlier, I would have taken my tour guide's offer to drive me to the airport.

The receptionists at the front desk are fine. They were really helpful and could be understood. If you are keen to try this hotel, look at the attached image for the address in thai. Show this to the cab driver.

Room Tip: Room 407 is just opposite the hotel store room. It is a little noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Chateau de Bangkok, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi LIMLAYCHOO

Thanks for your terrific four star review of Chateau de Bangkok!

As the new GM here, I appreciate the time you took to detail your positive experience, highlighting the efforts of our team.

It’s great you love our rooms and we could not be happier to learn of your satisfaction with the WiFi. We know how important it is to stay connected while you are away from home base.

Your various comments about the taxis are well noted and I thank you for sharing these. With my team, we will see what improvements can be made.

Thank you too for sharing our address in Thai here on TripAdvisor. We recognise that this is important and will incorporate it into our new website which will launch next month.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Bangkok.

Safe travels!

Sincerely

Richard Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    195
    73
    10
    5
See reviews for
54
131
63
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Friendly service, clean and big-sized rooms (walk in closet is just fantastic), paper delivered in the morning, great swimming pool located at the top of the building (great view while enjoying a morning swim). I have loved every moment spent in this hotel. The only thing is that it is located a bit far from majority of the temples, so if you are planning to spend most of your time by the riverside, maybe Chateau is not for you. If you plan to party in Sukhumvit - Chateau is a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchateau, Directeur général at Chateau de Bangkok, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

My team is happy to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and location.
Please do not hesitate to contact us on your next trip to Bangkok.

Best warm regards from Chateau de bangkok Team.

Andres Rubio
General manager
resv@chateaubkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have stayed many times in BKK so I wanted somewhere quiet yet accessible to Lumphini Park, Shopping Center yet close enough a walk to Soi 8 Sukhumvit. In other words between Silom and Sukhumvit. Very open area with a real feeling of being in Bangkok.

The Chateau de Bangkok is very reasonably priced with a lovely open to the sunshine all day roof top pool with an adjoing Gym, Sauna and I also recommend the spa treatment in the hotel (better than anywhere before for me).

Staff could not have been more helpful and were all 5 star in every way. Housekeeping excellent. I opted for a 65 square room including separate kitchen, Jacuzzi and walk in robe with safe.
I enjoyed my morning walks to the park, shopping centres, night stalls, great thai food - either on the run or at the hotel,. A good holiday break - catching up with old mates at the Kiwi bar soi 8 as well as some great times a short BTS ride away in the Silom area.
I thoroughly recommend Chateau de Bangkok and will be happy to stay again next trip as my decision was justified by the excellent treatment provided by all.

Room Tip: Go for the Jacuzzi room level ten - after a big walk you can relax in the spa with a nice Gin &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchateau, Directeur général at Chateau de Bangkok, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Richard,

We certainly appreciate sharing your comments of Chateau de Bangkok on Tripadvisor.

Our Team is always happy to hear good comments from our loyal guest. We thank you very much high lighting our facilities, roof top swimming pool, gym and spa. As well the new WIFI installations at the hotel. The proximity to the BTS is a great advantage for all our guest.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you back home

Warm regards,

Andres Rubio
General Manager
resv@chateaubkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Rooms - Clean and comfy but decor was a little dated.

Breakfasts - Very nice, wide variety including american style, asian and bakery goodies.

Poolside - 5*, quite small but absolutely gorgeous area to sit, relax and enjoy the views of Bangkok.

Gym - Modern, state of the art machinery, did the job for us.

Staff - friendly and were helpful when we had queries etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchateau, Directeur général at Chateau de Bangkok, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Ms Tiffany,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiance in Tripadvisor.

Our team is always happy to know that our hotel guest have had a good experiance with our accommodation, Spa & Gym and swimming facilites.

Please do not hesitate to contact us on your next trip to Bangkok. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Chateau de Bangkok.

Warm regards,

Andres Rubio
General Manager
resv@chateaubkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I always choose this hotel when staying in Bangkok for their 2 bedrooms apartment. I have stayed there almost once a month for the past 10 years! Fantastic value for money, stunning location, very close to BTS sky train. Staff is very friendly, management always ready to help. They recognize repeat guests and it is very pleasant. My family and I feel at home at Chateau de Bangkok. Of course it needs some refurbishment in some areas but I am sure they will do it soon because they care for their customers. Also they charge for wifi which is a shame nowdays!

Room Tip: the 2 bedrooms appartment is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchateau, Directeur général at Chateau de Bangkok, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Jean,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor from Chateau de Bangkok.

Our Team is always glad to know that our guest are happy. more when our loyal guest come back home to Chateau de Bangkok. Thank you that you have noticed that we have a new WIFI installation where hotel guest can enjoy more then two devises and only logo-in one time during their stay.

We would be delighted to know about your next visit to Bangkok.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to welcome you back HOME.

warm regards,

Andres Rubio
General Manager
resv@chateaubkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

What is good about this hotel is the location.

The rooms are old, the carpert is dirty.
Management didn't want to make dicount 100 thb for the 3d night. 100 thb is not a big deal for me, but they could keep the same price i have paid for the first 2 nights; instead they increased the price for 100 thb, so stupid.

Can't use swimming pool on Friday Night because of bbq or something...nobody informed...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchateau, Directeur général at Chateau de Bangkok, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiance of Chateau de Bangkok on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate bringing to our attention the consistancy of service. We will of course further investigate this matter.

Once again thank you very much for your comments, We hope having an opportunity to do a service recovery to you and your family with a complimentary dinner at the hotel restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andres Rubio
General Manager
resv@chateaubkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I just stay in this hotel one night but staffs are kindly welcome and upgrade room to me. This hotel location is great close to central embassy and wireless road. The room is very comfortable and really large. Hotel separate bedroom, living room, dressing room, kitchen and have very big bathtub in bathroom. really love this hotel and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmchateau, Directeur général at Chateau de Bangkok, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiance at Chateau de Bangkok at Tripadvisor.

Our Team is always delighted to hear that you had a nice stayed with us. You enjoyed our location, service, friendly team and confortable accommodation. As well our new Free internet facilities.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Bangkok. Welcome back home.

Once gain thank you and kind regards,

Andres Rubio
General Manager
resv@chateaubkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bangkok

Address: 29 Soi Ruamrudee 1, Ploenchit Rd., Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#77 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#103 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#124 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#150 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Bangkok would like to extend our warmest welcome. We are a four star hotel and serviced apartment, conveniently located between Ploenchit BTS Skytrain station and famous Lumpini Park, in the heart of Bangkok. Experience peaceful, comfortable Bangkok living for both leisurely short term or extended, long term stays with our wonderfully spacious rooms, comprehensive facilities and friendly service. Our fully furnished rooms feature indulgent bathrooms, generously sized living areas and fully equipped kitchens. We invite you to rejuvenate in our beautifully appointed Jouvence Spa, entertain in our restaurants and bars, meet in our various function spaces - catering for up to 150 guests, workout in our premium fitness centre or just relax by our roof-top swimming pool while enjoying magnificent 360 degree views over Bangkok. We look forward to welcoming you to Chateau de Bangkok - the best choice for your home in the heart of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau de Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Chateau De Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chateau De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.