We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square to your Saves list
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392/44 Siam Square Soi 6, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. Our standard room was clean and fresh and it had been renovated in the last couple of years. The size of the room was adequate for 2 people, but not large (it wouldn't be suitable for more than 2 people). The smallish bathroom was clean and renovated, but it did have a shower over the bath, so it wouldn't suit everyone.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel also had a good sized pool for Bangkok, as well as a fitness centre. We found the breakfast buffet to be very good, lots of variety of food, good service and the food was fresh.

The best part about the hotel was the proximity to shops. The MBK shopping centre was a 10 minute walk away, whilst the Pratunum markets were a 20 minute walk away. The Skytrain and Skywalk were right next to the hotel. At the end of the block were several large shopping centres. They come in handy for air-conditioning, money changers, food courts and toilets. They also have many stores with expensive goods (I prefer the local markets). The night bazaar (Suan Lum market) was a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Overall the hotel is good value, for the price it charges. We enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Liked — Modern
  • Disliked — Size
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    1,288
    418
    92
    53
See reviews for
885
745
232
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

What exactly qualifies this as a 5-star hotel I don't know! I suppose a property can just do what needs to be done to qualify for 5-star status without really providing 5-star quality.

My GF & I stayed here for 3 nights while we visited Siam Square in Bangkok. Our room was average to slightly above average, the view from the room is nothing impressive. The size of the room is good and I liked the sofa in the room (we had a "Superior Room", which I think is their basic room). The TV and cable package was unimpressive.

Room service was good but a bit pricey. Stay away from the mini bar, unless you like paying $5 for a bottled water or $5 for a small orange juice! The prices for the mini bar are NOT posted in the room - just one of many examples I found of a hotel trying to rip you off. The room does provide a hot water maker which you can use to take advantage of the free tea and coffee in the room and an iron is provided as well. The safe in the room is particularly nice, and easy to use.

We never made use of the pool, but it looked nice. Very large pool. I attempted to make use of the gym located in the hotel, but I was stopped at the entrance and told I needed to wear sport shoes (I was wearing sandals). Since I didn't bring any sport shoes on this trip (only sandals and dress shoes), I can't comment on the gym at their hotel!

There was something about the staff at the hotel that was very unsettling. Other reviewers have described the staff as rude. Perhaps that it is. It seems more like they enjoy sticking it to you every chance they get. I was coming in one night from the club with my GF and we were stopped attempting to get onto the elevator and asked if we were guests there. Is this good security or profiling? I look good, my Thai GF looks good - are only ugly people allowed to stay here?! hahaa....I don't know! Also, the housekeeper that cleaned our room was very rude. Basically coming into the room even when I had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. She insisted she needed to clean the room NOW! I told her to come back later anyway. About an hour later, she called on the phone and again insisted she needed to clean the room NOW! I'd expect this sort of treatment at the Super 8 in America, but at a "5-star" hotel paying about $100 a night, you expect to be treated a little better!

The front desk staff seemed okay, but the hotel doesn't accept the Sofitel card, even though they are an Accor hotel (both Sofitels and Novotels are owned by Accor). I didn't understand why they wouldn't take my Sofitel card, which would have entitled me to a late checkout, free drink in the bar and some other items.

Overall, the hotel is nice. But disappointing! I'll be heading back to Bangkok in a couple of months, but I won't be returning to the Novotel on Siam Square! It's just not worth it!

  • Liked — The room was nice & clean
  • Disliked — Staff ... particularly houskeeping
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

I stay in the hotel for 2 nights. Overall the room of the hotel is spacious, clean and cozy, the location is good, it is near to alot of shopping mall
The drawback are hotel lobby and lounge is small, swimming pool is small, service of the hotel is poor.
When i check in at 2pm, i was told that the room can be ready only at 4pm, but when i ask for late check out, they only allow 1 hr late checkout after arguing with the reception
At the price of novotel, i can stay in a bigger and better hotel in bangkok, i will not go back to novotel my next trip in bangkok

  • Liked — Location and Cozy Room
  • Disliked — Front desk Service, Size of the lounge and swimming pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

I am a travel agent and did a sight inspection at this hotel as part of a work trip.

This would have to have been one of my favourite hotels in Bangkok. I would recommend this as a great alternative to Pathumwan Princess. MBK Shopping Centre is at the end of the road, less than a 1 minute walk. It is surrounded by shops and restaurants. It has been open for 18 years but had a major refurb last year and it looks stunning.

The guestrooms provide modern comfort, a unique feeling of spaciousness and contemporary decor for both business and leisure travel. The hotel offers 6 meeting rooms for hosting business meetings, banquets, seminars and other events. Furthermore, recreational options include a fitness centre, massage, an outdoor heated pool and sauna. Guests can also enjoy at the nightclub after a tiring day of business or excursion.

Room categories include Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite, Executive Suite, Master Suite & The Siam Suite.

  • Liked — Location to MBK & the decor
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

A great experience staying at Novotel On Siam Square...In the middle of the Heart of Bangkok city...easily accessible to other tourist shopping attractions via the BTS skytrain...just a few minutes walking distance to the Siam Station...very near the Hard Rock Cafe and yes that is also a walking distance..
And the most important thing is...the hotel room is sooooo clean..and very modern decor....( I doubted my choice of hotel when i read some of the reviews here but lucky enough it doesn't turn out to be as bad...Phew!!) Staffs there are very polite and efficient...like the check in process...very fast and professional as we were lead to a business centre while they process our check in and were offered with warm face towel to freshen up, just like up on the airplane...the Singsation Trio performance at the lobby was also very good with the complimentary drinks...i like it very much but only the Tammachart Spa service was not that good..as in the massage was not as effective as the one we tried elsewhere in Bangkok...however the ambience in the spa is of course very nice and relaxing...will make a come back there for sure....


  • Liked — Location,ambience,service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing that i can think of....
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

This is the place to stay in Bangkok. It's in the heart of the city at Siam Square. Very vibrant locale with lots of great restaurants and shops nearby, not to mention the Skytrain is just a short walk from the hotel. Novotel is 5 star quality at a 3 star price! Oh yea, the roof top pool is quite refreshing after being out in the heat all day long.

  • Liked — Professionalism of hotel staff. Prompt services. Cleanliness and location of hotel.
  • Disliked — Heavy car traffic
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the Novotel Bangkok this past weekend and had a pleasant experience. Most of the descriptions I have read about this property discuss how it's focused towards business travellers. However, the in-room internet rates were in the US$20 range per day, which seems to belie that description. Rooms were neat and clean with fairly standard modern decor. To echo an earlier reviewer, we were on the 9th floor and we could feel the vibrations from the music down in the basement club. It wasn't loud enough to require ear plugs or disturb sleep, but it was there. Breakfast at The Square was included and the quality/selection of the buffet was a little better than the standard breakfast buffets usually served. We tried for a late checkout, but they would only extend to 1pm. Anything later and they will charge you.

The hotel location was great - right across from Siam Paragon at the Siam Skytrain station. Hence, easy access to most of the cities sights, markets, and such.

We didn't try the spa services in the hotel, but went to one of the places across the street (there are at least 4) and had heavenly foot reflexology sessions for 300 baht (60 minutes).

If you're not looking for luxury hotel services and dining but instead want a good place to sleep with easy access to the rest of the city via foot, train or MRT, then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square

Address: 392/44 Siam Square Soi 6, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#131 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#135 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#139 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square is a 4 star hotel in the vibrant centre of Bangkok. With 423 well appointed rooms, this is the perfect destination for both business trips and holidays. Guests can relax by our pool, in one of our 5 bars, or be temptedby the delicious choices available in our 3 restaurants, while our conference facilities are perfect for meetings and functions. Close to transport, entertainment and shopping, the hotel is ideally located. Parking is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok On Siam Square Hotel Bangkok
Accor Bangkok On Siam Square
Bangkok Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.