We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square - Great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square to your Saves list
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392/44 Siam Square Soi 6, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Qld
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square - Great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

If you're looking for a crash pad in a fabulous central location, right amidst the central shopping district of Bangkok - then Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square is fabulous.

Literally a 5 minute walk to either MBK or Siam Paragon, 10 min walk to Central World, 5 minute walk to the Sky Train Station and 5 mins by cab to River City shopping complex. Location was amazing!!!

On the other hand, if you are expecting something romantic or elegant, or worth what they charge for the room - perhaps best to look elsewhere.

Have to say that we were particularly disappointed with Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square - we had tossed up between this and another hotel, but decided the Novotel had a better location - and that it did, but that was all this hetel had going for it.
Our main problems were m(in order of ocurrence):
- Check in took over 30 mins and we had to stand in line and wait 15 minutes before this was even started. After long flight standing at a desk for almost an hour was not high on the 'To-Do' list. When check in finally completed we were informed our room with King bed would not be ready for another 40 mins (this was at 7pm at night mind you!) - but we could have another room with a double bed right now for same price - got to be joking!
- Had to leave all our luggage in the lobby while we went to dinner while room was being readied. Was still there when we returned, where we had to take it to the room ourselves.
- When we finally got to the room we were greeted by a less than pleasant smell - for a non-smoking floor the room reeked of cigarettes with a dash of dirty sock - eeew!
- While the Disco Club in the basement may be a drawcard for some, on floor 7 you can still hear the music thumping at 1am - NOT a welcome addition for weary travellers and this continued EVERY night we were there.
- Breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety of food choices, restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, unfortunately this was no classy restaurant - staff are dressed like they worked at McDonalds - hats and all, tables and chairs are squeezed so close together that seating is almost with the couple at the adjoining table. The coffee is HIDEOUS if you must drink it ask them to bring you a cappuccino - I went to the Starbucks 5 doors down the street when unable to hold out any longer.
- Rooms are not made up until after 4pm
- On checkout, Novotel tried to charge us for the 4 bottles of water that we had purchased elsewhere (which we had put in the holel room bin) and even though they were a brand unavailable in the hotel - we had to fill in a form to have the charge to our credit card reversed.

Good points:
- bell hops were lovely and very helpful with acquiring metered taxi's
- lobby beautifully appointed and spacious
- breakfast food plentiful
- location is fabulous

Let downs:
- pillows should be burned and replaced with something other than concrete
- Check in procedures should be streamlined, or more staff put on
- bring back some of the Thai traditions - barely a wai the whole time unless we did this first.
- Rooms need a revamp - pretty dingy, windows filthy, bathroom was marble, but looked very tired. Toilet right behind bathroom door makes it difficult to access - almost impossible for those without full mobility.
- Night club very loud into the early morning
- room reeked

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, The Management at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Your feedback of our hotel has caused us deep concern. The numerous issues you have mentionned are indeed ones that you should not have had to face. We most sincerely apologize for this. We would very much appreciate you contacting us directly at hotel@novotelbkk.com so that we may discuss this with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    1,287
    418
    92
    53
See reviews for
885
745
232
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Being close to all the major malls, it's definitely the place for all the shopping-maniacs to stay! When checking in, they didn't grant us the room we asked for, but they correct it once we informed the front desk. The buffet breakfast is nice too. No disgusting bugs found during my stay. Anyway, I'll definitely stay with them if I head back to Bangkok again!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, The Management at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoy our superb location and we are pleased you found the breakfast buffet so tasty. We will certainly look forward to your next visit and we remain confident you will be just as pleased with that stay too! Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Great location, right in the heart of Siam Square so a great choice of restaurants and shops nearby. I stayed here for 2 weeks with work - our conference was at the UNESCAP building, so was a little trek away.
Breakfast was a highlight for me - a great selection of asian and western foods. I loved being able to have sushi and dim sum for breakfast. Room service was good, but with the selection of restaurants nearby, there were much better and cheaper choices. Free wi-fi was fast and worked well.
The room was a good size and very comfortable. Bathroom was lovely and clean. I liked their environmental policy, where you placed a notice on your bed if you wanted your sheets changed - although I'm not sure that the staff followed this!
The pool was nice, with impeccable service that was typical of the whole hotel. We were welcomed with fresh pandan juice when we arrived and shepherded to a special business check-in room. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
There was a bar and club downstairs, which was loud and seemed to be a bit of a pick-up joint. You could hear the club from the lobby (where there was a middling lounge band that tried to sing through it), but from the 14th floor, there was no noise.
Overall, a great place to stay - I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I stayed at the Novotel for 5 nights- shared a room with my sister and my 78-year old moth had an adjoining room. This was a shopping/sightseeing vacation for just "the girls" as we left our husbands at home! The location is perfect- across the street from several large malls, steps away from the Skytrain station which can get you everywhere in Bangkok.

We got so busy shopping that we got our days mixed up and missed our flight to Phuket! The Lobby Manager Roxie Sharif (who is British) called the airlines for us and helped get us booked on the next flight out! Her assistance was priceless.

They have a very decent and clean fitness center and large pool. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, The Management at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, November 16, 2009
We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and that our location allowed you all to 'shop 'til you drop' as they say! It is lovely to hear that our staff were able to assist you so efficiently, and that our facilities impressed you. We look forward to having you all back with us in the near future for your next spending spree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I have stayed at the Novotel Siam Square on many occasions. The hotel is conveniently located very close to Siam skytrain station, giving you access to the MRT subway and all of Bangkok's districts. This hotel is a shoppers dream with Siam Square, MBK, Siam Paragon, Central Department store and the Zens (Central World) all within walking distance. The hotel staff, from the Lobby Manager and guest relations staff to the doorman are very friendly and greet you by name all of the time. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, The Management at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, November 16, 2009
We are happy that you choose to come back to Novotel again and again, and that our central location works well for you. Regular guests feel like family to us and we are glad that you feel so at home in our hotel. We will do our utmost to ensure that you only get happier and happier as your stays progress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Definitely recommend this one. Really nice room and very central to shopping, restaurants, night markets and rail.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Quality & Standards Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Thank you for sharing your positive comments about our hotel rooms, and convenient central location. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Located next to major shopping centres, lots of restaurants and easy access
around town using the above ground rail system!!
Traffic can be a very busy throughout the day so it takes ages to
get around by road!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Quality & Standards Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
On behalf of the management and staff of Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, I thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent visit to Thailand.

I note your satisfaction with our service and hotel’s facilities. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square

Address: 392/44 Siam Square Soi 6, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#132 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#135 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#139 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square is a 4 star hotel in the vibrant centre of Bangkok. With 423 well appointed rooms, this is the perfect destination for both business trips and holidays. Guests can relax by our pool, in one of our 5 bars, or be temptedby the delicious choices available in our 3 restaurants, while our conference facilities are perfect for meetings and functions. Close to transport, entertainment and shopping, the hotel is ideally located. Parking is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok On Siam Square Hotel Bangkok
Accor Bangkok On Siam Square
Bangkok Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.