We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed up as Lamb!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   971 Ploenchit Road, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #84 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed up as Lamb!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

Was tempted to try out somthing new in Bangkok as the location is one of the best. However this hotel seems to be trying to be somthing it's not. Although it has been completley renovated and the staff do try hard its all dressed up but missing the essentials.
Rooms are very very small and cramped, with either no privacy (rooms face each other) or face run down old buildings. Very hard beds, tiny lifts (elavators) The reception staff may smile alot but that is all they seem to be able to do. The buffet is a bit of a dissapointment with not much choice and a limited menu and for a 4 star hotel the bar prices are way to high and they have no idea on how to make cocktails. Value wise not really up to par considering the huge choice in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    372
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
142
206
105
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

This is so not a typical Holiday Inn. Very stylish. Brand new.

The hotel is lovely. The rooms are nice. We had an issue with our initial room because our shower was flooding our bathroom, and our concern was treated very seriously and promptly. The hotel responded by upgrading our room. They were very professional and speedy in their response.

The pool is nice, but a bit small. The gym is great, and the ladies' locker room has a steam room which is great.

We found that taxi drivers had a hard time finding the hotel because there is a Holiday Inn Silom and because it is so new. We found that telling them between the two Skytrain stops was helpful.

The location is great. Public transportation in Bangkok is not great, so to be near the Skytrain was key! (Car traffic is just terrible!)

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

Went back to this hotel again as was impressive on the first trip last year. Staff are still friendly and helpful. Location is great, next to Chidlom BTS station, walking distance to Central World Plaza(seems to be forever under renovation), Central Chidlom,Pratunam market and most other famous places like Siam Paragon, MBK etc are just a few stops away.

However, check in was extremely slow and hotel seems overbooked. Was there at 1.30pm but still need to wait for another hour before room is ready.They did offer us welcome drink while waiting though. The next day when we went back after breakfast around 12noon to the room but the room was not made up yet. The hotel manager was apologetic.

Overheard another guest complaining that he called the porter thrice but no one went to his room to collect luggages.

Overall still good but seems that they have to be conscious of the small little things that would have made a more pleasant stay for guest.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

We were in Asia for 3 weeks and this was the best hotel we stayed at.

We love the room although the view from our window was okay. It was clean and modern. Our room was at the end of the hall so it was pretty quiet. The room has cable tv, desk, ironing board and iron, a spacious closet, and a combination safe. The air conditioned room is a plus since Bangkok can get really hot and humid.

This hotel is located right by the Skytrain and down the street from Siam Square. It's across the street from a shopping center and a lot of restaurants. The buffet breakfast at the hotel had a variety of food and the staff at the hotel is super friendly.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 3 nights. When we arrived our non smoking room that we'd reserved was not available so they upgraded us to a delux room. Although the decoration in the room was dated it was clean and comfortable. There are 2 towers - old and new. If you can request the new.

The breakfast was great, a huge selection.

The hotel is near to shops and the hotel has a travel agent who can book trips and flights for you. We found the prices very competitive.

Have seen nicer swimming pools.

All in all, a good hotel for a short visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

I just spent a long weekend in Bangkok. Fantastic hotel in a fantastic location for a fantastic price. The staff were great. Not a tyipical Holiday Inn property. I travel for work around the world and this hotel is holds it's own with 5 star properties. The hotel does not have it's own spa facilities however the hotel is connected to its sister property the Intercontiental and you can even charge your spa treatments to your room account at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok

Address: 971 Ploenchit Road, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#98 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bangkok is conveniently located across from Bangkok's renowned shopping complexes; Siam Paragon and Central World Plaza. Other nearby attractions include The Jim Thompson House and Museum, MBK Center, Siam Square, Chidlom Skytrain Station, Pantip IT City, Gaysorn Boutique Mall and the world famous Erawan Shrine. Holiday Inn Bangkok's interior styling evokes a unique sense of home and welcome. The hotel offers stylish amenities, state-of-the-art facilities and attention to details that are important to discerning travelers. Guests will find relaxation in the expansive Lobby Bar; the most suitable venue for work or conversation, or just to unwind after a long day. Guests may also enjoy our market style all-day dining venue, Cafe G, or traditionalThai restaurant in contemporary ambience at Charm Thai cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.