We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the main draw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Bangkok to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   971 Ploenchit Road, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #92 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Location is the main draw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 young children stayed at the executive suites of the hotel for 4 nights in late November. It is one of the few hotels in BKK which could accommodate 4 within the same room which suits us well.

Going there was easy by Airport Rail Link to Phaya Thai station where one could transfer to BTS. Note that both the City Line and Express stop at Phaya Thai. As most BTS stations do not have elevators, and escalator is only for going up, it could be a challenge if you have several bags and children in toll, but somehow we managed.

The hotel is conveniently located and a short walk away from Chit Lom station, which to us is a main draw as there are plenty of F&B choices nearby, especially at Central World - which is within walking distance. Just across the road there is a Boots pharmacy and McDonald's at Amarin Plaza.

Our executive suite is fine, and where it comes with free WIFI. Breakfast at Cafe G is also okay and it includes a reasonable spread of local and international dishes. Cocktail at Executive Lounge is served daily from 5.30pm to 7.30pm, which I visited once. Again, I have no complain for it, though I have seen bigger spread elsewhere. I have used the gym (which is located beneath the pool) twice and found it okay. As for the pools, parents may wish to note that the shallowest point is 1.3m and may be a bit too deep for young children.

The only negative takeaway from this stay was the need for a plaster. Usually we would bring some for our trip but somehow it was left out. I went downstairs to seek assistance from the concierge. The gentleman at the counter was perhaps too pre-occupied with his phone conversation and directed me to the reception. The lady was helpful and went backroom to search but could not get one. She advised me to get them from Boots, which I did. Perhaps I could have called the operator for help, but I could not imagine that such simple amenities could not be made available at the reception.

Staffs were generally polite and helpful, but the experience with the concierge was disappointing. There was another occasion where I was looking for a map at the desk and the lady there was rather oblivious of my presence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    406
    43
    11
    7
See reviews for
149
217
110
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nites from 24-29Nov with my family(total 2adults+2kids). I used my IHG points to redeem a room and when I checked in they told me I was upgraded from a Standard Room to Superior Room. I'm not sure what is the difference but I guess one is at the old wing and the other is at the newer wing.
Anyway, the King-sized bed was just nice for the 4 of us. Did not have much room to turn on the bed but just nice.

Location wise is very strategic as it is located around Ploenchit/Sukhumvit area. In front of the hotel is the BTS Chitlom station. You can use the skybridge to walk all the way from the hotel to MBK passing Siam Paragon, Siam Center, Siam Square, Siam Discovery. A 5min walk will take you to Central World and another 5min will take you to Pratunam Wholesale Market. It can't get better than this if you are into eating and shopping.

My room redemption did not come with breakfast but tried the breakfast on one morning and it was not bad.

Wifi reception was also good and it was free for me since I was a IHG Rewards member.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room at the higher floor so you have better views of the city. Those on the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santipong, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and find yourself very convenience in our hotel location. Both wings South & North has been renovated at the same time, the difference is the size of the room which Superior is slightly bigger than Standard room by 4 Sqm. Thanks again for your recent visit and we look forward to welcome you back again at soom time.

Kind regards,
Santipong S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Bangkok for a week in a superior room. First off, the room is very comfortable, with a large shower, quality bed, and outlets that accept US plugs. The upper half of the bathroom corner is a window covered by wooden blinds, and while they're obviously there for aesthetic purposes, I had a tendency to walk into said blinds while aiming for the bed. Sort of a hazard there. The hotel provides complimentary bottled water and the usual instant coffee and tea. The miniature refrigerator is packed with items that you pay for, however, so there isn't all that much space if you decide to stock up on things from Big C--I wound up fitting a bottle of milk and two packets of fruit at a time.

This hotel does charge for internet, which is a terrible inconvenience, unless you have another deal worked out through IHG Rewards or a group block. The food downstairs also adds up, and you may be better off visiting street vendors just around the corner if you're on a bit of a budget. Additionally, the maid had a tendency to take used robes without replacing them, though two phone calls to the front desk fixed that issue.

Speaking of the front desk, don't be hesitant to ask the concierge for help--he booked us some outstanding Thai massages at Health Land and made other recommendations to our group.

The greatest advantage of this hotel is probably its location: right at the end of the driveway is an entrance to the Chitlom BTS Skytrain station, and a short walk away is the Ratchathewi, so you're pretty much set for any place you want to go in Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Paradise, an Holiday Inn?! It was if you had just fled from the appalling Miracle Suvarnabhumi (see my review) Even in normal circumstances one would have to say this is an Holiday Inn at the top of its game. The hotel's own public spaces & restaurants are first class but one can also use the facilities of the adjacent InterContinental including its excellent business centre.All the staff we dealt with were helpful & efficient during our four night stay. I thought the tariff was very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santipong, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your reviews on your recent visit at Holiday Inn Bangkok. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and find our hotel's location and facilities meet your expectations.

Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to welcome you back again shortly

Kind regards,
Santipong S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Really good hotel offering excellent service and located adjacent to Skywalk and Skytrain. Close by are some outstanding shopping Plazas including the not to be missed The staff are an absolute delight where nothing is too much trouble. Make sure to have the breakfast, there is no better way to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santipong, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on your recent visit at Holiday Inn Bangkok. We are very happy to hear that you find our hotel location very convenience, easy to shop around as well as the good service provided by all staff to make your stay most remarkable.

We're all appreciated your great feedback and look forward to welcome your back again at very soon time.

Kind regards,
Santipong S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel has it all. It is within 2 minute walking distance to Central world center and 1 minute walk from Chitlom MTS sky train.

Don't let the outside of the building fool you, the rooms are modern and spacious. The bed was a little too soft for my lower back, but still a great room.

In addition to breakfast, the hotel offers a buffet lunch and dinner for the best price ever, 350 Thai Baht net!! Super value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I'm sorry to say that one thing overwhelmed all other aspects of our stay: the fact that we were put in a smoking room. Either their non-smoking rooms leave a lot to be desired (honestly, who puts a non-smoking room on a smoking floor?), or they lied through their teeth when we realized we had been put in a smoking room and asked for another and they told us our room already was non-smoking.

All of our things smelled like smoke, and we had to keep the air constantly running else the smell came back even worse. And whatever miracle housekeeping fix they have to make the room smell better (I'm guessing febreeze?) never showed up after we complained.

Honestly, the response to "but there's a (obviously used) ashtray in our room should never be "oh, we can remove that." Removing an ashtray does not a non-smoking room make.

Needless to say, we won't be returning. I'll check out one of the Hilton properties instead.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santipong, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review concerning your recent visit to Holiday Inn Bangkok. It is very useful and important for us to learn from our guest feedback in order to improve our quality of service.

Please accept my sincere apology concerning unpleasant service experience you have encountered upon checking in. I have investigated and discussed with our Front office team on this matter and address the issues seriously to ensure reoccurrences will not happen again in the future.

Thank you very much for your continue support and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Santipong S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok

Address: 971 Ploenchit Road, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#67 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#72 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bangkok is conveniently located across from Bangkok's renowned shopping complexes; Siam Paragon and Central World Plaza. Other nearby attractions include The Jim Thompson House and Museum, MBK Center, Siam Square, Chidlom Skytrain Station, Pantip IT City, Gaysorn Boutique Mall and the world famous Erawan Shrine. Holiday Inn Bangkok's interior styling evokes a unique sense of home and welcome. The hotel offers stylish amenities, state-of-the-art facilities and attention to details that are important to discerning travelers. Guests will find relaxation in the expansive Lobby Bar; the most suitable venue for work or conversation, or just to unwind after a long day. Guests may also enjoy our market style all-day dining venue, Cafe G, or traditionalThai restaurant in contemporary ambience at Charm Thai cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.