We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   971 Ploenchit Road, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #84 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one week and had a good time here. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff is polite and efficient, and the roomservice was always good. The hotel is conveniently located at the Chitlom Skytrain station. Also, main shopping malls can be reached by foot in less than 10 minutes. The breakfast was just ok. We will come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    372
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
142
206
105
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn because of price, but was pleasantly surprised on everything the hotel had to offer. The rooms were clean, big and up to date. The breakfast buffet was one of the best in the area, plus the hotel is connected to the Intercontinental, which is beautiful. If you want a nice hotel, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was fine for our needs when we stayed in Bangkok for 3 days during a Thailand tour holiday.
It was a nice and clean hotel that was well situated in a nice part of Bangkok.
The Sky rail was very close and we went for a run in it to see the sights but found out it is not really good for sightseeing as it can be very crowded but is by far the quickest way to get around if you know where you are heading.
We had booked bed and breakfast and the food was quite good with a good selection, we never tried the restaurant as there are plenty of other nice ones right on the door step, especially the Chinese down stairs.
I do not think I would stay in Bangkok again as I found the whole city too busy for me but if I did I see no reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although this is no posh hotel, it is really cosy with a kids' friendly environment. The kids suite is definitely a hit for families with kiddos under 10 year old. The services from the staff were superb - from the breakfast table to the housekeeping. Look out for the lobby manager, Khun Manop - nothing is too much a trouble for him. He arranged our transport to Hua Hin with baby seat within 1 hour and was always there to advise us about the kids' day out or a shopping spree - we were there for 6 days and everyday was just filled with activities and good food. It helps that the hotel is located right next to CentralWorld and Chit Lom Station, and a 15 min walk to Siam Paragon by the SkyWalk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

the hotel is located close to most important shopping malls like central world, siam paragon and other , and skytrain station is in front, easy to acces other places in bkk , Rooms are convertable. Breakfast is stunning , restaurant cafe G with his buffet is tasty and the service is perfect , friendly staff; The lobby bar is our favorite place to relax after a long day , my special greetings to Ms Thitiporn , who made us a happy time there , her english is very good. We will certainly book this hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights in early December 2012. The hotel is associated with the Intercontinental next door and so access to meeting rooms and restaurants within both properties is easy. The Holiday Inn is a standard business hotel, it's what you get for discounted group rates: a high-traffic scenario with lots of guests coming and going--matched at times by surly behavior from the staff of the concierge desk. On the other hand, the hotel is clean, incredibly well-situated at a skytrain stop and across from shopping and dining options. Its buffet breakfasts are above-average with freshly prepared and a wide variety of foods. Given the high population density both inside and outside this hotel, don't expect a quiet experience--if it's not the traffic outside, it's the doors slamming from other guest rooms and people in the hallways whom you'll be hearing. (Ask for a high floor.) Ultimately, stay here if you have to, especially for work, it's not a bad hotel. However, if it's for pleasure, you can most certainly get more comfort and attention from other hotels in the same price range.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The location of the hotel is ideal, near the sky tram, which by the way seems to be Bangkok's best mode of travel. The staff are very friendly and will not hesitate to assist you when its required. Breakfast is great and very varied. I would have loved a room with a better view, but I guess that is the price you pay for being in the middle of the city. I want to warn unsuspecting travelers from smartly dressed elderly ladies hunting victims on the sky walk just in front of the hotel, telling them about discount stores etc. and giving them addresses to go to and you end up in shops you really don't want to go to, and to find your way back is very risky job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok

Address: 971 Ploenchit Road, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#98 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bangkok is conveniently located across from Bangkok's renowned shopping complexes; Siam Paragon and Central World Plaza. Other nearby attractions include The Jim Thompson House and Museum, MBK Center, Siam Square, Chidlom Skytrain Station, Pantip IT City, Gaysorn Boutique Mall and the world famous Erawan Shrine. Holiday Inn Bangkok's interior styling evokes a unique sense of home and welcome. The hotel offers stylish amenities, state-of-the-art facilities and attention to details that are important to discerning travelers. Guests will find relaxation in the expansive Lobby Bar; the most suitable venue for work or conversation, or just to unwind after a long day. Guests may also enjoy our market style all-day dining venue, Cafe G, or traditionalThai restaurant in contemporary ambience at Charm Thai cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.