We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Oasis in Bangkok Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Bangkok to your Saves list
InterContinental Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,878 Reviews
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still Oasis in Bangkok Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Once you step into the lobby you will see the difference.
Breakfast - excellent choice.
The room is spacious although the TV should be changed to HDTV.
WIFI is not free - probably one of the things I was a bit surprised.
Conciege - excellent service.
Location convenient - next to Sky Train station.
Walk to shopping area - no problem in the winter months at least.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    402
    73
    28
    17
See reviews for
314
508
205
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here in November ,while on a business trip. First the good stuff ...The location is excellent.. on Sukhumvit and right at the doorstep is the Chidlom Skytrain station, which will connect you to all the major sights and shopping areas. The pick up in the hotel limo is good and swift, the wifi in the limo is an added bonus. The room is very good as well - spacious and functional. I had very low wifi signal in the room and the IT department promptly rectified it with a booster fixed in my room. The gym is well equipped , however they have many members and at times you may need to wait for an empty cardio machine.

The main and biggest concern was the breakfast and service - one of the worst I have ever eaten and for sure no where near what should be at an Intercontinental hotel! Even room service food was only average at best. Moreover the service was slow and the staff was not attentive and neither fluent in English.

All in all is an good experience... if you remove the breakfast and the food... I am particular about breakfast when I travel... however if this is not high on your list then recommended!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have low wifi signals. Ask the hotel for a signal booster in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Shilps17,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Luckily, there was an ongoing promo when we booked with them wherein you get 30% off room rates with breakfast and free internet. We booked for 1 King Bed Grand Deluxe. They gave us a room on the 26th floor with city view which was a huge plus. For my parents 25th wedding anniversary, they set up sparkling wine, plates of fruits and chocolates, and flowers in the room. The room and bathroom were spacious and very clean. You get a separate bath tub and shower unlike other hotels we've stayed in. Newspaper was delivered to the room every morning. Breakfast was really tasty, but the food selection was almost the same everyday. The hotel is connected to Gaysorn Shopping Center, 3 min walk to Central World, 8 to 10 min walk to Siam Paragon, Platinum Mall, and Pratunam Market. 2 min walk to BTS Chit Lom Station. Staff was very helpful and always smiling. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed at the Bangkok Intercontinental a while ago. Superb location, great Italian restaurant but that is it. Room service was a disgrace with no vacuuming of our suite until I complained. Screaming children in hallways was the norm during our stay. English language competency was minimal at main reception & chaos reigned in the club when it came to cocktails or breakfast. For $480 AUD per night, what we experienced was not up to scratch. Staff just did not care. We were very polite in the putting forward of our concerns only to be met with blank stares. The general manage should be ashamed of his or her staff. We transferred over from the Executive floor at Holiday Inn Silom so a to be more central. Should have remained there, as it was a much more pleasant property. Never, never again will we return to the Intercontinental Bangkok.

Room Tip: Corner room or suite if you must.. There are 4 on each level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear adamo123,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I visit Asia each year with Bangkok serving as the arrival and departure location. The Intercontinental is our Bangkok home. We are already looking to coming back to the Intercontinental early next year even though we just left a few days ago. The service is phenomenal and each and every staff member goes out of their way to make us feel totally at home. Recognition for Platinum Royal Ambassador is fantastic. The entire staff at Club Intercontinental deserves to be commended for outstanding service. During every stay, all guests appear to receive the same great service by the Club staff. Even though the weather is now freezing here in New Jersey, the warm glow of the Intercontinental Bangkok sustains us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

As an Intercontinental Royal Ambassador, I get to stay in many Intercon's around the World but for many years the Bangkok hotel has been one of my favourites. This time my stay was even more special. On checking in, Julia in the club lounge noticed my wedding ring and asked when did this happen. When I explained that it was just a few days earlier, she discretely arranged to set up our suite with a full honeymoon package, which was truly magical. Flowers everywhere, bathtowels in the shape of two swans foming a heart, rose petals on the bed and in the bath tub and champaagne on ice. Wow, perfect. Julia and the Club team together with Fay, the lobby manager, always make my stays perfect, but this time it was fantastic! This hotel is luxurious as are most Intercon's, but it is the staff that make this place my favourite place to visit. Having been there more than 20 times now, I can promise you that you will not be dissapointed. Both my wife and I cannot wait to come back to our home in Bangkok!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I travel on business extensively in Asia and when in Bangkok, my default home-from-home choice is the Intercontinental in BKK. The staff there differentiate themselves, at least in my view, from any other "home-from-home" hotels I stay in other prominent cities in Asia.
Legendary Thai hospitality is superimposed on by a genuine desire to serve and to watch out for my needs however small. Proactive service is backed up by the Interconti team's attention to detail. When things go wrong, they own up and fix up, fast, no quibbles.
And somehow it all comes across as being served with genuine friendship, not mere professional courtesy.
This is the essential "soft" overlay which differentiates the best from the rest. It sits on top of the "hardware" which is definitely world class - the room standards, the food and the options, the gym, the conference room facilities. Additionally the location is just perfect with such a central location and walk-on adjacency to the sky-train.

No more to say, really. I rarely take the time to write on Trip Advisor. But the Intercontinental team in BKK deserves this modest pat on the back from me in this instance, and I hope other people get the chance to experience their warmth and service.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the Zen and Central World Plaza complex, which can be noisy until about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bangkok is located right in the heart of Ratchaprasong, the core of the Bangkok's business and commercial districts. Nearby are many international companies, numerous embassies and top-flight medical facilities. The fascinating Erawan Shrine and major shopping destinations such as Central World, Gaysorn and Siam Paragon are within walking distance while access to other parts of Bangkok is fast and efficient by Skytrain, the nearest station being literally steps from the hotel's entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.