We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pefect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bangkok

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 754 hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pefect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We only a night's stopover in Bangkok and chose the Intercontinental over the Banyan Tree. We were not disappointed - check in was precisely two minutes and due to our late arrival we made use of the 24 hr Gym! The concierge was extremely helpful and although we didn't have much of a chance to enjoy all the hotel facilities - our stay was just perfect prior to our flight back to London. Many thanks to Hiru who facilitated our late checkout. Look forward to a longer stay next time!

Room Tip: Go for the higher floor rooms is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with our Concierge Team on their knowledge and recommendations. We have shared your compliments with them and they were pleased to learn of your kind recognition.

We are happy to read that the arrival experience was efficient and you have enjoyed the benefits of our 24 hour GYM.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,258
    362
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
289
479
188
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The level of service in this hotel is just amazing. I did check-in at my room, don't know if it was standard or only when they are not busy. The staffs provide me with a lot of local information and it doesn't take long before I went around Bangkok with their printed guide.

The room was quite big and luxurious even if the hotel had some age. Everybody greeted me everywhere. Breakfast was alright, but again their staffs really put attention to your need. I would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the InterContinental Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased to read your appraisal of our people and their personalized service and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just came back from a very nice vacation in Bangkok, staying at our favorite hotel, the Intercon. In actual fact, this is my continuous stay at this lovely hotel for the past 6 or 7 years at Christmas, and it is also our plan to continuously stay there during our forthcoming visits to Bangkok despite of all the new hotels in Bangkok lately.

To us ,as visitors, the location of this hotel is just perfect, right a few steps to the skytrain which has access to most of the shopping centres, which I believe all ladies are desperate for. Besides the location, all the hotel staffs there are so helpful and friendly, which makes us feel "at home" as soon as we step into the hotel.

What we also enjoyed most is the breakfast at the Expresso, the coffee shop. It is just like a full buffet and everything is so fresh and yummy. When stepping into the Expresso the next morning we arrived on the 22nd, we were so astonished at its new touch up just a few months ago. It looks so fresh and very eye touching especially with some "Asian touch", which makes us feel so much at home. Believe all credits should go to the Director of F&B whom I believe had worked in HK few years ago, so he had brought this "Asian" touch to the Expresso !

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who plans to have a nice vacation or a business visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your continual support to the InterContinental Bangkok with your visits. It brings us much joy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us for the past 7 years during festive seasons.

We have also shared your kind compliments with our Director of Food and Beverage to share with his team members, and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts.

We all look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Traveling 10 years for business and this one was for leisure, I have seen a lot around the world but this hotel nailed every aspect one could do. All staff were friendly and helpful.
Small things that caught my eye to write this review, pop your room key to the lift and the security guard alread calls it for you once he sees you approaching with the card, excellent concierge! We wanted to book a tour which we found too expensive, the gentlemen noticed and recommended a driver for the day instead.
Our room was not ready, we got a drink offered at the bar.
The only thing I did not like was that the cab drivers were allowed to imagine dream prices for a ride, to the airport the driver first insisted on 600 baht and in the end I paid 250 per meter. If the hotel could get rid of this behavior then I would say perfection would be reached :).

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear you were impressed with our hotel facilities and service. We take enormous pride in our service and facilities, and it is always rewarding to know when our efforts have been successful.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay during our holiday vacation on Dec '12. Excellent location with the BTS just at your doorsteps. The room was spacious and well kept. The staffs were friendly and always made you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the InterContinental Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased to read your appraisal of our associates and their service and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts.

We look forward to welcome you back home very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hotel Intercontinental was definitely a good choice, with Best Hotel location in Bangkok
so welcoming and friendly staffStayed 21h Dec for one night using Priority Club Rewards points.with a fabulous view of the Bangkok skyline. The Club InterContinental Lounge on level 37 was outstanding.Breakfasts are wonderful, room was spacious and very clean,The hotel ground floor restaurant serves Italian food all i can say its a Great Ambassador bennies, like 2 free pieces of laundry and internet and a cute plush gift and room upgrade! Gorgeous rooms, fun views .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with hotel’s location, facilities and service. We have shared your compliments with our team members at the Club Lounge and Grossi restaurant and they were pleased to learn of your kind recognition.

We are happy that you had taken the pleasure to enjoy the benefits of our Loyalty Program as an Ambassador member.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a perfect hotel in every way.fab staff,great location,spacious rooms but a little old now but still perfect.would recommend it to everyone and will def stay there again.nice spa and pool area.lao they take care of every detail and made me and my wife very special as we celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary.a big thanks to them and looking corward to go back there.

Room Tip: Take the club room if you enjoy the snack sand drinks and also rooms on south side are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with hotel’s location, facilities and service. We have shared your compliments with our team members and they were pleased to learn of your kind recognition.

We are happy that our associates made your 10th wedding anniversary special.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bangkok, located on Ploenchit Road, is in a prime location at the core of the city s business and commercial districts. A wide range of shopping and other facilities are within easy walking distance, while access to other parts of Bangkok is fast and efficient by Skytrain. Complementing convenience with style, InterContinental Bangkok affords a welcoming sense of space and graceful interior décor. Throughout, guests will appreciate impeccable service and the warm, attentive hospitality that is authentically Thai. **** NOTE: We are pleased to announce that as our refurbishment program is close to completion; the main lobby and Thailand s first InterContinental Concierge Lounge are now officially open as well as Infinity Fitness and rooftop swimming pool. Completely brand new InterContinental Bangkok will soon be unveiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.