We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 5 star hotel in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bangkok

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #17 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great 5 star hotel in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fabulouse service, Nice location.The hotel located near by the skytrain,easy to travel and can walk connect to the shopping mall. Service is fabulous i was check in by Ms.Suchitra she is very helpful, give me a local information that make my stay more easier. After went up to the room you will find the modern decoration room. Morning breakfast at the Espresso restaurant is excellent. This is great 5 star hotel in Bangkok that i would recommand.

Room Tip: Face to sport club view are very nice in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear you were impressed with hotel’s location, facilities and service. We take enormous pride in our service and facilities, and it is always rewarding to know when our efforts have been successful.

We are pleased to read your appraisal for Ms. Suchitra on her personalized service and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of her efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,124
    321
    66
    28
    16
See reviews for
253
439
165
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very good hotel. Everything that you would expect of a five star hotel. Lovely spacious room, centrally located. Nice gym facilities. Clean. New building and rooms. Much better than sukhimvit hotels like Sheraton or westin.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on Trip Advisor for InterContinental Bangkok. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and also satisfied with our facilities and location.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is my second stay at an Intercontinental and I am very glad I joined the Ambassador program when I visited the first one. As an ambassador I was able to book a room even though the hotel was full. My colleagues were less fortunate.
However, every day we meet in the club lounge on the 37th floor - and prepare for the next day. On the first day my colleagues told me they liked it better than the Hilton's where they frequently stay (different locations around the world) - simply because the whole club team, without being overbearing, makes sure that you do not forget to take care of yourself. (Thank you Angelena and all the Club Team!).
What is different - they come by and make sure you have a beverage (water, coffee, beer, etc) if you want one, warn you (by taking an order!) before the "Happy hour" ends. For me, this is "business as usual" at InterContinental - which is why I hope to have work where they has hotels - and my colleagues told me they are thinking of making a switch.
Short and sweet - real service, relaxed environment - productive for team work. I'll be back here as soon as the opportunity presents itself.
p.s. as many others have mentioned - also a great location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit at The InterContinental Bangkok. It is great pleasure to read that we been successful in looking after you and your colleagues.

It is wonderful to know you had taken the pleasure to enjoy the benefits of our Loyalty program and we have exceeded your expectations.

We have shared your compliments with Ms. Angelena and the Club Lounge Team and they were delighted to receive them.

We look forward to welcome you to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a great hotel with typically high Thai service levels.  

The Club Lounge is excellent with a comprehensive Breakfast menu and wide choice of hot snack foods in the evening.

The (small) roof top pool is fun for a while, but not suitable for proper swimming.

The room was very well presented especially the large marble bathroom.

The only thing that spoiled my stay was being asked to pay for another full night(!) for an evening checkout - and then having the afternoon sleep that I had paid the extra money for ahead of my evening red-eye flight disturbed by housekeeping!!  This was a very basic mistake, especially when I had switched on the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. How is a phone call less disturbing than knocking on the door!

Anyway, aside from the lost sleep and consequent waste of money, it was nearly a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

We are glad to hear that you were impressed with our club lounge benefits and service. Your kind compliments have been shared with our culinary and service team members.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable stay for our guests and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve our service standard. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which you have experience during your stay with our housekeeping service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at Intercontinental Bangkok for 2 nights in transit from Sydney to Chang Mai.
Absolutely loved this hotel for the high standard of facilities and close proximity to major shopping options surround the hotel. The sky train is very close so it is accessible to venture out to explore the busy city ans sight see. Rooms are large and well appointed with good work desk for corporate travelers.
There is a fantastic roof top pool with amazing views over central Bangkok - also a great place to relax after a busy day working or shopping, and enjoy a cocktail.
The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant was fantastic with a huge range of options.
Staff were excellent, service was in keeping with a 5 star hotel.
I rate this hotel highly and will stay here again when I next visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear you were impressed with hotel’s location, facilities and service. We take enormous pride in our service and facilities, and it is always rewarding to know when our efforts have been successful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

ive decided to stay in this hotel this october, had to check out earlier , i wasnt comfortable
its very boring adn depressing , the food is below average. the service is good as is all over thailand mostly .
but the room quality is average. ... nothing special here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This splendid hotel has undergone some internal upgrades in recent times together with its adjacent walkway to the Holiday Inn sharing the same location.Here you are afforded the choice of either hotel.Marble lobby with columns and plenty of seating.Top class service and welcomed with a smile,it is also attached to the ground floor shopping center and close to all the major big name boutiques.just perfect.As a Royal Ambassador I was upgraded to a corner junior suite with access to the club lounge which is like a hotel within a hotel and service here is top notch.there is a daily buffet of extravagant proportions both for lunch and dinner and a variety of other restaurants on site and within their own shopping center and lower floors.The swimming pool is small and secluded offering a high degree of comfort and exclusivity and can be found on the same floor as the club lounge.Rooms vary in price and size and most have been upgraded and modernised since my last visit with every conceivable gadget and big screen tv.Costly in comparison with other hotels but the old quote of you get what you pay for seems the perfect ending to my review.I will always be happy to return to this hotel as one of my favourites.

Room Tip: Join their Priority Club for additional benefits and upgrades it is worth the annual fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the InterContinental Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with our services and facilities.

It is wonderful to read you had taken the pleasure to enjoy the benefits for Royal Ambassador and we exceed your expectations with our Loyalty Program.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and look forward to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Intercontinental
Address: 973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bangkok, located on Ploenchit Road, is in a prime location at the core of the city s business and commercial districts. A wide range of shopping and other facilities are within easy walking distance, while access to other parts of Bangkok is fast and efficient by Skytrain. Complementing convenience with style, InterContinental Bangkok affords a welcoming sense of space and graceful interior décor. Throughout, guests will appreciate impeccable service and the warm, attentive hospitality that is authentically Thai. **** NOTE: We are pleased to announce that as our refurbishment program is close to completion; the main lobby and Thailand s first InterContinental Concierge Lounge are now officially open as well as Infinity Fitness and rooftop swimming pool. Completely brand new InterContinental Bangkok will soon be unveiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.