We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect value for money business hotel at excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Bangkok to your Saves list
InterContinental Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 773 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Perfect value for money business hotel at excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed there for one night in July 2012. Friendly reception, speedy and efficient at 6am. All information correct on file. Room was very spacious and tastefully appointed. Despite location at a busy corner, perfectly quiet room. Very clean and appeared nicely refurbished. Nice and inviting lobby bar (balcony) and good breakfast with nice and fresh choices. Staff extremely friendly and attentive. Perfect location immediately next to Chit Lom BTS skytrain station which enalbes you to get to virtually anywhere in central Bangkok within minutes. Will certainly go back there on my next trip in August.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with InterContinental Bangkok.

We are glad that you like our location and overall comfortable service. We are also delighted that you found our breakfast was of a great standard and Nice Balcony. We will strive to ensure each and every guest’s stay is enjoyable.

Thank you once again and we hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,520
    439
    80
    29
    18
See reviews for
356
572
216
556
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is in a good location with easy reach to the Sky Train station and other amenities. Checking in was a breeze with great service from front desk staff. The deluxe rooms are really good with quality fittings and the bed is very comfortable. Bath gel and shampoos are of good quality unlike some hotels that provide cheapo stuff. Internet bandwidth is good for both wired and wireless. Breakfast spread is awesome .. still can't get over the mango smoothie ... just perks me up every morning. Will not hesitate to go back to The Intercontinental, Bangkok. Two thumbs Up !!

Room Tip: The hotel has promotions at times via the internet and is of good value eg. with breakfast and inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience in our hotel.

Your beautiful comment on room location facilities and staff served as further inspiration for us to do what we do best which is providing memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Must have been my10th stay at Intercontinental Hotel, Bangkok! And each time, I was greeted by the warm and friendly services of K Suchitra and K Umavadee. The location is excellent, within walking distance to the skytrain, shopping centers and restaurants. Factors for my returning to this hotel although the rates are a bit expensive. However, the reward point system should be improved to recognize loyal customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your beautiful comment on the staff served as further inspiration for us to do what we do best which is providing memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. It is our great pleasure to know that we met your expectations and have created a delightful experience for you.

Thank you once again. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this hotel 2 months back with a internet package available on the website, just before traveling we show a new package available on the web called monsoon package that was priced lesser than the one we booked with better amenities. We asked hotel to at least give us an upgraded room with new package and they flatly denied. We were at checkin told that we already have very good pricing. This left a bitter taste and felt never should book intercontinental in advance in the off season.
Now good points, this is centrally located and clean rooms. Food is great but very expensive. Overall two stars but may not ever go back again.

Room Tip: Never book this hotel in months advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

the hotel is in the best place in Bangkok, close to everything walking distance, the breakfast is good, it's a real 5 star hotel, BUT 2 problems 1- check in takes 1 hour and then they will tell you they did not find your booking, I booked thru AGODA.COM which never fails to deliver in any hotel in Thailand,i have been to Thailand 12 times, never had a problem, so i had to call Agoda and etc after 2.15 hours i was checked in. Problem 2- Don't ever order in room Massage, because they will bring you prostitutes from the street, my wife and i called the reception for in room massage because the spa was closed it was after 9pm, so they brought us 2 prostitutes from the street of course we send them out after 5 minutes of their massage it was NOT GOOD i don't want to go into details, any way we called the reception and explained the situation they gave us our money back without any kind of apology what so ever, But the best was when he said after all my complaint and explaining how embarrassing it was and how awkward it was he simply said THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENT. That's all i have to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Fahad A,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. It's nice to hear that our that you gave us excellent scores on Rooms, Location, and Sleep Quality. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced at check in. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Well located in Bamgkok sukumvit area - easy access to BHS train service, and you can walk to Big C, Central Mall, Saigon Paragon etc etc.
Nice big lobby with lots of places to sit around, and a good bar area for chatting and meeting people.
This hotel has big meeting and conference rooms so you do see groups here for meetings and conferences.
We had our company meeting here, and they managed everything very well.
Staff is helpful and friendly - in the spirit of Thailand good service ESP when it comes to hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during staying with us. Your compliment on our location and staff is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Me and my husband have always liked InterContinental hotels. This one in Bangkok didn't disappoint us either. Actually we were thinking of staying in Peninsula just for a change this time but in the end turned back to InterContinental for its modern design and central location, and we thought we were right.

Everything in the hotel is as expected: clean, simple & streamline design but still feel luxurious, breakfast is delicious with a lot of choices. Location is really unbeatable. It is just besides the sky train and Central World shopping mall. If you fancy you can even walk to the Siam Paragon complex via the sky train bridges.

The only thing I think the hotel can improve is the daily cleaning time. It seems to take rather long. We arrived to hotel at around 3pm. Normally you expect to be able to check in without much waiting. But we were made to wait to almost 5pm since the room has not been made yet. The next day we were in and out of the hotel and also found that at 1 or 2 when we were back for a break the hotel room was still not being cleaned. The cleaning trolley was still at the corridor and there didn't seem to be many staff around.

Nevertheless, apart from the check-in time this didn't disturb us much. Our stay in the hotel and in Bangkok has been fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for always choosing InterContinental Bangkok and your great feedback highly appreciated.

Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience at check in and delay service of room clean. We, however appreciated your patient and kind understanding in this matter and we can assure you that this is an isolated incident and that the InterContinental Bangkok can indeed do better to accommodate you.

We hope you will allow us to restore your confidence by returning to stay with us for your next visit to Bangkok so that we may demonstrate our commitment to serving you better.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Chutima Tatiyaratanaporn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bangkok is located right in the heart of Ratchaprasong, the core of the Bangkok's business and commercial districts. Nearby are many international companies, numerous embassies and top-flight medical facilities. The fascinating Erawan Shrine and major shopping destinations such as Central World, Gaysorn and Siam Paragon are within walking distance while access to other parts of Bangkok is fast and efficient by Skytrain, the nearest station being literally steps from the hotel's entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.