We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Bangkok to your Saves list
InterContinental Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,878 Reviews
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel Bangkok for 1 night. I was upgraded to a deluxe room as I frequent Intercontinental Hotels often. I stayed on the 29th floor and the room was great. They supplied a fruit basket and some other goodies, as well as free wifi.
BTS (Bangkok Train Service), right outside the hotel, so convenient to get around town and to and from the airport. The station name is Chit Pom station.
There is several bars, and a night club in the basement of the hotel (i had a good time there).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Your compliment on room, facilities, location and service is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    402
    73
    28
    17
See reviews for
314
508
205
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel between the 18th and 22nd of August 2011. We arrived early (around 6:30ish) and even though check in was till much later - we were given our room within an hour at no extra charge. During the time of my booking, i had requested for a surprise birthday cake to be brought in at midnight for my wife and fresh flowers the next day for our anniversary and the hotel staff were wonderful in bringing in my wife's birthday by wishing her in person and also ensured that fresh flowers were placed - along with half a dozen birthday and anniversary cards - all signed by various members of the team!! We had also requested for a late check out and of course our request was granted!! I recommend a stay here as it is close to some of the best malls in bangkok and is also close to the sky trains.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a wonderful review of your stay experience in our hotel.

We are truly happy to know that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you and helped you your wife to have a brilliant time in Bangkok.

Thank you once again. We will always be your “home away from home” in Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

As promised the August update .......We stayed a 5 nights over an 9 day period in Thailand and this place is fantastic value. The Gym/Spa (sauna/whirlpool) is not to be missed. A swim in the rooftop pool / then a sauna and cool down, then into the lounge for early evening snacks and a glass of champagne. Wow what a way to relax. Wifi works perfect / no charge. Staff are the best.

At breakfast the blueberry banana pancakes with fresh maple syrup and the egg white omelets are great.

I gotta hand it to these folks....if you gotta be in Thailand...then I would stay here without hesitation.

If there is any issues its the damn Tuk Tuk drivers that always try to charge you triple and cant find the hotel, while your inhaling car exhaust. Use normal taxi's with meters to be safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Best place for R & R, except i was there for business, and had little time to enjoy the room. Loved the bed and the pillow "menu", where you get to choose the kind of pillows you'd like to have, mine were perfect, slept like a baby.
Location is perfect. It's right smack in the middle of the shopping district.
Food was really good too. Thai food is the best! Thai hospitality is perfect.
Except for the WiFi by demand ( which means, it's NOT FREE). Intercon Bangkok is a place I'd love to go back to. Besides, Starbucks is just right across, I can walk over, get my daily caffeine fix and get my FREE WiFi. :)

Room Tip: Use your Personal Hotspot from your iphone, or mobile provider, wifi is NOT FREE and costs around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your comments on the tripadvisor review.

We are delighted to see that you have an enjoyable stayed with us on your recent visit at our property. However, with regard to WiFi internet, please note that we are now providing complimentary use of WiFi internet access in the public area of the entire htoel. You can simply contact our friendly Front Office Attendant for the user name and password of WiFi internet during your stay with us on your next visit.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind observations, and feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service to achieve the highest level of service excellence. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome and serve you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is our last night of seven at the Intercontinental Hotel in Bangkok and I must say it was one of the best hotel stays we have ever enjoyed. As a frequent traveler, I am quite picky with regards to service and room quality but this hotel is a gem. As an Ambassador with Intercontinental, I appreciate the perks that comes with status but this hotel goes above and beyond. We were in Bangkok for medical tourism at Bumrungrad hospital and the Intercontinental made sure our stay was perfect and if we needed anything like icepacks frozen, they were there to make sure all was taken care of. We booked a "Club" room and was upgraded to a corner suite. It was perfect with two huge screen TVs and DVD players which was great since bed rest was important during our stay. The club lounge is terrific with GREAT food and even better service. The staff there are amazing! We will definately be back and we encourage anyone visiting Bangkok to try this wonderful hotel. You will be pleasantly surprised. By the way, their Sunday seafood brunch is one of the best brunches we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: A "club" room is terrific with great breakfast, afternoon high teaand evening cocktails/sn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback on this review.

We are pleased to learn that you were happy with our facilities and services especially our Club InterContinental on 37th floor while you were staying with us. It is most rewarding to see that our facilities and services are appreciated by our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations, and recommendation on the review. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

very convenient location
several malls and moviehouses located minutes away
the railway transit is in front of the hotel.
everything you need to near the hotel.

the staff at the hotel is very accommodating. the rooms are clean and size is big .
breakfast is one of the best but after a few mornings you might like to explore other options outside the hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a nice review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is indeed a pleasure to hear good comments from our guests.

We are glad that you like the service from our staffs, room, facilities and location. We are also delighted that you found our breakfast was of a great standard and enjoyed it. We will do our utmost to ensure each and every guest’s stay is a pleasant one.

Thank you for letting us know that we are a "Great Hotel Guests Love"

We certainly hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Wonderful location, very central, easy for shopping and business. If you can upgrade to the Executive level they have one of the nicest lounges around. great breakfast and evening cocktails. Rooms are large and comfortable, bathrooms are well fitted and have separate shower and bath. good value.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are great and facilities are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a nice review of your experience in our hotel as well as our Club InterContinental on 37th floor.

We are truly happy to know that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you and helped you to have a brilliant time in Bangkok.

Thank you once again. We will always be your “home away from home” in Bangkok

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Ploenchit Road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bangkok is located right in the heart of Ratchaprasong, the core of the Bangkok's business and commercial districts. Nearby are many international companies, numerous embassies and top-flight medical facilities. The fascinating Erawan Shrine and major shopping destinations such as Central World, Gaysorn and Siam Paragon are within walking distance while access to other parts of Bangkok is fast and efficient by Skytrain, the nearest station being literally steps from the hotel's entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.