We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Modern hotel in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   981 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #153 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 Reviews
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean Modern hotel in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I really recommend to Every one who are planing to to travel in Bangkok to Staying here for safe and nice Atmosphere, So for shopping and travel to city. for the view you can take room 1003 it would be great view of National stadium and smoke, i really like this hotel and staff are more helpful. and if you need any travel information you could speak travel desk old man can help you everything.,

Room Tip: 1003 and 1117
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    499
    175
    47
    26
See reviews for
202
383
144
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We booked a room on the Executive Club Level, which included many extras such as; Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and Light refreshments throughout the day, plus a “Happy Hour” from 6pm to 8pm. There was a separate check-in for Executive Club guests in the Lounge where we were provided with drinks while our reservation and passports where processed.
The Executive Club staff were efficient and friendly and the service was impeccable. Our room was spacious and well appointed with all the toiletries. Our room was on the same floor as the Executive Club so we only had a short walk to all its facilities. The hotel also had a large outdoor pool with warm water.
The Cafe on the ground floor was handy for a quick snack. We did not use the main restaurant.

I would highly recommend the Executive Club Level in this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive New Club Room on the "Lounge level".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Definitely recommend staying here for a safe, modern, european type room hotel, so convenient for nightlife shopping in Patpong, without being too close. Added bonus of having a lower than expected price for standard of hotel/rooms, in fact the cheapest Holiday Inn in Bangkok.
(and Bangkok has many great value hotels by European price points.. in Bangkok I have paid more for nowhere near as good a room, don't hesitate to book Premier Room here you won't be disappointed)

Chose as I needed a decent 1night cheaper non 5* hotel near to the Patpong night market and this HI definitely fit the bill, and as IHG brand hotel for which I have Platinum status, received hoped for free room upgrade and free internet.

HI Silom has the cheapest rate rooms of a few HI's in Bangkok, I can't imagine the other HI's rooms are any newer, bigger, nicer. With taxi's so cheap by USA/Europe standards, location is not massively important unless you need to walk somewhere in evenings. HI Silom is good for the Patpong night market.

Staff friendly, checkin smooth and painless, a clean and safe hotel. I would have no worries staying here when I needed a budget hotel. Very Nice HI room, better room when compared to many European Exec rooms where HI's have just Standard and Exec room types. Hotel offset back from the main road, 2 towers joined together, 600 rooms in all, but not noisy.

Note (Warning) - for IHG Platinum Elites - 4x Room types here, booking the lowest room type gets a 1-level upgrade to an excellent (imo) Premier Room. But if you pay more for a higher room category you will not be upgraded. (though Premier gets pseudo upgrade to unbookable 'Corner Premier' )
I booked basic room, was immediately upgraded 1-level to a higher floor (22 of 28) Premier Room, and even offered late checkout upto 18.00 if needed. .Very happy with my room.

Nice large room, modern, clean, light/neutral colour, and good unworn furnishings,
Premier Room is very acceptable, 22nd floor (of 28), but views restricted anyway by other nearby (opposite even) high rise buildings
o Quite Large Room, lots of room to walk around
o King Bed, Sofa, Wardrobe + Drawers, Workdesk+Chairs
o Loads of Lighting + Multi-Connector plug sockets (no adaptors needed)
o 32" wall TV, reasonable channel selection
o Laptop Safe, Dressing Gown, Weighing Scales, Mini Bar (no drinks comped)
o Aircon good + not noisy
o Bathroom - Bath and separate Large Shower Cubicle
o Coffee/Kettle + 2 complimentary bottled water

Facilities -
Sorry to say I did not use bar, restaurants as a 1night only visit/stay for nearby Patpong night market. Room menu looked decent and not too costly. Plenty of options both in the hotel and within a few minutes walk.

Location -
A 15min 1km walk to Patpong night market, just turn right, a straight street to follow, you can not miss Patpong market, the main reason for this booking.

Room Tip: If IHG Platinum Elite book Std to get upgrade to Premier, else book Premier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is my "hotel of choice" when visiting Bangkok which is 3 or 4 times a year. Rooms are of good size with large bathrooms, good amenities, nice bath towels/robes and great beds. Many rooms have a nice view of the city. Buffet breakfast is very good with a nice mix of cultural foods. To most members of their frequent guest program, WiFi is free however if you don't travel with a WiFi device the business center internet access is expensive so use an internet cafe.
Short (7 minutes) walk to BTS Surasak Station (Sky Train) which will get you to most parts of the downtown area including connections to the MRT (Subway) or Airport Express (City Line) to the main international airport. Public transport in BKK is not overly "disabled friendly" if you have that need.

Room Tip: Stayed a dozen or more times and never had a bad room. Might want to join their frequesnt guest prog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Given the price this is a great hotel if you want somewhere for the night you arrive or the night you leave or a short stay. It's not an hotel for pool lovers as the pool is small, but the bedrooms are clean, well equipped and the staff deal with a vast ammount of coming and going in an efficient and plesant manner. The other disadvantage is that it's a bit of a walk to the sky train, I was there in the rainy season, but it's near the river and some good restaurants.

Room Tip: you get what you're given
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear bettystaffs,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have just returned from yet another great experience at this wonderful establishment. With its great location and comfort still in mind I wasnot disappointed yet again, even after my previous review.It was apparent that a multi million baht investment had been made to make all rooms luxurious. The staff are a credit to management, even down to the lowly chambermaid who could not have been more helpful. I only have one small grumble, directed at management and the architects. As a tall guy @ 6 ft 5 inches I thought the architects would have put the shower heads on to riser rails rather than fixed at below 6 feet.It makess it awkward for us tall guys. On a more positive note the chef should be complimented for the excellent cuisine prepared for each buffet style meal. Eating both breakfast and dinner, buffet style, I was not disappointed in he choice of different meals from eastern cuisine to the more modern western cuisine. My stomache did not leave that restaurant empty and as for his staff, no meal was too hard to make. Very well done!!
Having my thai family with me, they were equally impressed with both accomodation and food and are eager to return soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, soundproofed and high enough from every road. NO LOUD MUSIC at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here on our first night in Bangkok and were impressed with the hotel room, which was clean and modern. the bathroom was huge and had a tub and separate shower. It was clean and looked recently renovated. The room was great overall, I have no complaints about it. The location was a couple of blocks from the elevated highway and at the time we arrived (Saturday night) we were totally spared the infamous Bangkok traffic.

Though we had requested a single (king size) bed we were told that they didn't have any rooms with king size beds left, so they "upgraded" us to a room with two queen beds (that were really closer to full size). I would rather be told that they ran out of our room type than be fed the "upgrade" line for something that clearly isn't an upgrade but this wasn't a deal breaker for me, just a little annoying. After a long flight we just wanted to settle in and get a good night of rest before departing early the next morning. We didn't get a full sense of the area as we arrived late and left early the next morning, but there seemed to be a fair number of places to eat within walking distance.

Based on this experience, we booked two nights in the same hotel for the following week when we'd be in Bangkok again. When I booked online I chose the cheapest available room, which was a mistake. This room was in the older of the two towers and we learned that there is a big difference in the room quality between the new (renovated) tower and the old (un-renovated) tower. The two towers feel like two unrelated hotels.

First problem: they gave us a smoking room (we requested non-smoking) that smelled so strongly of cigarettes that we immediately went back to the lobby to get a different room. Second problem: the room was really dingy and dated.

To be fair: the rooms in the old tower seemed clean enough but looked run down; especially the paint on the front door. The bathroom was very dated and tired looking. If all you want is a relatively inexpensive hotel room that's clean and you don't care much about what it looks like, then you will probably be fine with the old tower.

However, I was turned off by the bathroom and musky/old feeling of the room and hallways and asked if we could be moved to the newer tower, which I didn't know when booking was so different from the old tower. The person checking us in wasn't helpful or accommodating and said he could only move us to the newer tower if we paid about 950 baht more per night. We had to negotiate with him and he ended up charging us the fee (that showed up on our bill upon checkout as an "upsell") for just one of the two nights. It was disappointing that they did not value returning customers at all.

Another thing that was slightly disturbing is that there is a special check in desk for Emirates airline crews that stay at the hotel. At their check in desk was a sign mentioning the protests in Bangkok and advising them to stay in the hotel for their safety. There was no such sign at the regular check in desk and absolutely no mention was made of it to us when we checked in. We had to ask and were eventually shown on a map some areas that we might avoid, but the staff didn't seem too informed about the location of the protests. It seems incongruous to advise one group of customers to stay in the hotel due to unrest but not even mention the unrest to regular customers.

As we were checking out I heard another guest also checking out complaining of having a bad experience with check in and with his stay and saying that he had already spoken to the manager, so I don't think we were the only ones who weren't totally satisfied with our stay.

Long story short: the new tower rooms are great, I recommend them without reservation. The location is good - 5-10 minutes walking to the Surasak skytrain station, two blocks from the Sky Tower/Lebua with the famous rooftop bar, and food options very close to the hotel. The old tower rooms seem clean but are run down. Overall, the customer service was lacking and really needs improvement. The staff at the check in desk was unfriendly and generally unhelpful but the bell boys were always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Book the renovated tower. I had read that in other reviews before booking but didn't realize wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear beso14,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the service you encountered which affected your stay negatively. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Address: 981 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#94 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#122 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#124 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book the grand, twin-towered Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom hotel for a spacious Guest room close to Bangkok's sights.A 10-meter long walkway links the 2 palatial towers of the huge Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom. Glistening chandeliers will make an impression as you step in from the bustling Silom commercial district. Avoid Bangkok congestion and turn onto Srirat Expressway, 200 meters away, for the 25km drive to Suvarnabhumi International Airport.It's just 4 stops to Bangkok highlights like the National Stadium and MBK Center mall on the Bangkok Skytrain from Surasak station, 7 minutes walk away. Neon-lit nightlife in the Patpong district is 1.5km away. Catch the express taxi boat from Sathorn Pier, 1km away, along the Chao Phraya River to the golden, 46-meter-long Reclining Buddha at vast Wat Pho.Get to your meetings with ease at offices on Silom Road and Sathorn Road in this traditional business district. The Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom is in the hub of the local gemstone trade with the Jewelry Trade Center next door.The hotel offers 700 guest rooms situated in two towers (Plaza Tower and Crown Tower) including refurbished Premier rooms and Executive Club rooms have been made even more luxurious. All Premier and Executive Club rooms feature 32-inch LCD TV, high speed internet access and separate bath tubs and showers. A new spacious Club Lounge, on 23rd floor, offering breath taking views of the city. Guests staying in the Club Room can enjoy breakfast, complimentary internet access and evening cocktails in the comfort of the Club Lounge or in the outdoor smoking terrace.Unwind in the 6th-floor leisure area at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom with tennis on our floodlit court and laps in the 20-meter pool. On the same level, you can enjoy the city's best North Indian cuisine and live music in Tandoor restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Silom Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.