We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for both business and leisure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   981 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #157 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good hotel for both business and leisure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for both business and leisure travellers. Well located within good distance from the BTS station and the night markets, it is also close to all the major business and conference centres.
The staff are well trained and in combination with their innate Thai hospitality can make the stay very comfortable. As an IHG rewards member I received special check-in (private desk) got free welcome drinks and daily news paper (Bangkok Post) delivered to my room.
Rooms are well cleaned and updated towards the latest HI standards. They offer a very good work area, 48" plasma with a good range of international and local TV channels, a safe, mini bar, iron board and iron, kettle and complimentary coffee/tea. The bathroom offers both bathtub and shower.
If needed, laundry and dry cleaning or ironing service are extremely efficient and reasonably (for European standards) priced.
The minibar is well equipped but I found the prices extortionate. I would suggest a 3 mins walk to the closest 7-eleven to find everything in the 1/4th of the price.
Breakfast (normally included in the room rate) is a very rich buffet of all types of western and Asian food one can have and not to be missed. Coffee is slightly stronger in Thailand everywhere I have been. Try the juices offered they are all fresh.
Taxi service is very effective through the hotel. On your departure, for the international airport make sure that you agree a price with the taxi driver before you enter the taxi (400-500 baht including toll fees should be more than enough).

All-in-all for less than £70 a night with all these extras, this is a great hotel offering a great value to its customers.

Room Tip: Tip: Free internet is provided to Golden Elite IHG rewards members but from July 2013 to all members...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    539
    195
    57
    27
See reviews for
223
423
150
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Silom many times and am always impressed by the price, size and cleanliness of the rooms, and especially the friendliness of the staff. Located at the river end of Silom Road, it's in a great location, easy walk to the BTS station, or Phatpong night markets, and lost of great restaurants and spas close by, or you can walk down to the river to catch a ferry, or longboat tour. My only criticism is that the building exterior is in desperate need of a face lift as it is looking rather shabby. They also need to train the staff in the coffee lounge a little better, as the quality of the coffee can often be less than what you would expect of a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors of the Crown Tower, preferably a corner room, or river facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Shane W,

I would like to thank you very much for taking time to post a review on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom. I am delighted to learn from your review that you were thoroughly satisfied with our room and service. It is always motivating to recieve such a wonderful feedback from our valued guest. The staff also gains tremendous satisfaction and encouragement with such feedback. Moreover, thank you for bringing up the Orchid Lounge issue to our attention. We will definitely make it better.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Kanchanika S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very clear and quite, service is top class. What else can you expect? The only tiny minus are the prices in a mini bar. This htl is also well located. No more than 8 km to all must see places in bangkok.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Seba_Poland2012,


Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have a great time while you were staying at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom. It is always encouraging to receive great feedback especially from our valued guest. We will definitely keep up the good work.
Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards,
Kanchanika S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our 3rd time at the Holiday Inn, Silom. It is a short walk from the BTS and close enough to the river for a leisurely stroll. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel on the 21st floor. It was a fair size and very comfortable with the amenities you'd expect.
The reception staff were really efficient and our check in was seamless. They also helped us to book a show at the Calypso Club. If you do take a taxi, make sure it is metered: THB400 from the hotel and only THB51 for the return!
Breakfast was pleasant enough. If you want a drink, avoid the lobby bar. Expensive and slow service. If you are given a voucher for a free drink, it is only valid for a pineapple juice.
There is a wine bar and an Irish pub downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom again as this is your third time with us. We highly appreciate your kind words about our Premier room and front office staff. I will share you kind comments you have made to the staff and I am sure it will continue to inspire them to provide an exceptional service.

I am also delighted to learn that you appreciated our hotel's location situated Silom area and within a walking distance to Surasak BTS station.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom.

Kind regards,

Kanchanika S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've stayed at the HI Silom three times, and always enjoyed my brief stays there before I set out on other adventures. Flying from SeaTac to either Narita or Busan/Seoul believe me you're ready for a rest. As a Northern climate guy you get that blast of heat when the doors open to the awaiting taxis at Don Muang, making you want to head into a property and chill.

Upon arrival I was greeted with many Wai's from the staff, then escorted to the Manager who took me up to the room.
Being an Ambassador member of HI I scored a great place to stay. Awesome for the price-of course the Baht is a bit stronger now but currencies fluctuate daily.

Holiday Silom features the upscale amenities-Bathrobe, slippers, turndown service, great fruit bowl, a bar on the floor I was staying in, and a few shops in the lobby (clothing etc.).

Views overlooking Bangkok from the room were great. Bedding was soft. laundry service was fast-and I have no idea what additive they use (Soapnuts, Dragon fruit?) but my clothes smelled great. Room service is first rate and the food from the in house restaurant is 5*-Try the Singapore noodles...a few Singha's or Elephants before heading out to Soi Cowboy.

Warning about traffic around the complex if you go out to do some shopping. Be ready to dodge scooters and cars. Best bet is to stay in the crowd while crossing the streets. Going solo just makes you a bullseye at times.

World Travel in the lobby offered a 6 hr excursion to Ayutthaya, along with other "touristy" sites. Opted for the ancient ruins-made for an informative day walking around the site and taking the history in.

I will return, that's for sure.

Room Tip: If you are a member of Holiday Inn's Priority, or Ambassador club you will receive upgrades upon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is my first time to Bangkok, and wanted to stay in a place where everything is close by. It has a great location, with everything close by. The hotel itself is really huge. I had to wait a few hours though for my room to be ready, the staff were warm and apologetic about it. The room itself is quite good. Comfortable like all Holiday Inns.. everything is available for travellers. I just tried the room service, which was prompt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our 4th hotel of 4 whilst visiting Thailand and comes in bottom of the pile. We were unimpressed. Arriving late afternoon we were told the room type we had booked was not ready and would we like to pay to upgrade. When we declined we were taken to the lobby bar for a complimentary drink and told someone would come over when our room was ready. The woman at the bar took the voucher for our drink, without acknowledging us. Didn't ask us what we wanted to drink and just brought over some horrible pineapple concoction. After waiting 45 minutes we went back to reception to find out what was going on. The person who had checked us in had gone and our room keys had been sat waiting for us for some time. When we finally got to our room (1422) it was of a pretty poor standard. It was tired, dingy and in need of a serious refurb. Perhaps we had been spoilt at our previous hotels but this was not my idea of a deluxe room. Location wise, it's within easy access of the Skytrain. The Irish Bar downstairs was good. The staff member who checked us out was really helpful. Overall. There are better places to stay in Bangkok.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear NP1242,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and room condition. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Address: 981 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#124 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#133 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book the grand, twin-towered Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom hotel for a spacious Guest room close to Bangkok's sights.A 10-meter long walkway links the 2 palatial towers of the huge Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom. Glistening chandeliers will make an impression as you step in from the bustling Silom commercial district. Avoid Bangkok congestion and turn onto Srirat Expressway, 200 meters away, for the 25km drive to Suvarnabhumi International Airport.It's just 4 stops to Bangkok highlights like the National Stadium and MBK Center mall on the Bangkok Skytrain from Surasak station, 7 minutes walk away. Neon-lit nightlife in the Patpong district is 1.5km away. Catch the express taxi boat from Sathorn Pier, 1km away, along the Chao Phraya River to the golden, 46-meter-long Reclining Buddha at vast Wat Pho.Get to your meetings with ease at offices on Silom Road and Sathorn Road in this traditional business district. The Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom is in the hub of the local gemstone trade with the Jewelry Trade Center next door.The hotel offers 700 guest rooms situated in two towers (Plaza Tower and Crown Tower) including refurbished Premier rooms and Executive Club rooms have been made even more luxurious. All Premier and Executive Club rooms feature 32-inch LCD TV, high speed internet access and separate bath tubs and showers. A new spacious Club Lounge, on 23rd floor, offering breath taking views of the city. Guests staying in the Club Room can enjoy breakfast, complimentary internet access and evening cocktails in the comfort of the Club Lounge or in the outdoor smoking terrace.Unwind in the 6th-floor leisure area at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom with tennis on our floodlit court and laps in the 20-meter pool. On the same level, you can enjoy the city's best North Indian cuisine and live music in Tandoor restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Silom Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.