We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore BKK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Korbua House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Korbua House to your Saves list
Korbua House
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   239/8-11 Phrasumen Rd. | Taladyod, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Deals Ever!!!!
Ranked #83 of 564 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location to explore BKK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is perfectly based if you want to explore all the temples and grand palace and also the Khaosan road. All in walking distance. The rooms are nice and big and also the bathrooms. The people that commented that rooms smell, well the smell comes from the draining system, and this is the problem in whole Thailand. The personnel is also nice and know english. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
59
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have read that people complaints about the smell of nearby canal and how hard it is to find the hotel. Just print out the hotel's address in Thai alphabets with its phone number, my driver didn't have any problem to find this hotel because I did so. I think this is a nice and very clean hotel! though no lock on the bathroom is a bit of bother. but the bed was clean, and the staff even lent me ironing equipments without any extra charge fee! There was also no big problem when we decided to upgrade a room. The place is located near to sightseeing place, getting to Grand Palace, Wat Pho very cheap by taxi. the busy Khao San Road is in walking distance, lots of great street food! every morning the alleyway is filled with street vendors. their pork sautee is perfect and only for 50Baht!! Shower has hot and cold, I had a nice view because its window was headed thru the canal. and WiFi is nice, fast enough for me to skype. I'm sure there will be a nicer hotel but I don't regret staying in this place. Good one! Cheers!
P.S. Oh, one thing, this place isn't near any public transportations, but taxi is very cheap, so it didn't matter. because even BTS doesn't go everywhere so taxi is nice. Don't take Tuk-Tuk, they're even more expensive than a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very nice little hotel in a small alley, close to the sights (main temples) and restaurants, yet quiet. Great breakfast area overlooking the river. Rooms are clean, nicely decorated yet simple. Friendly staff. Great to travel with family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Clean room with A/C and nice furnitures, big bathroom, everyday 2bottles of water are provided. Even if the hotel is close to khaosan, it is very silent at night. One night we tried the restaurant and is good. Friendly staff, we decided to spend one more night there.
Bad things:
Shower drained very slowly.
The hotel is near a river and sometimes bathroom smells bad:ask for a room on a high floor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I don't quite understand how the hotel has so many good reviews. It is right next to an absolutely foul smelling canal, for a new hotel the rooms were in dire condition, there is no sound proofing, the location is awful and it is way behind the standard of everywhere else I stayed.

I had booked for 4 nights but after arrival decided I couldn't stand staying there any longer than one night so left the next morning.

Please avoid because Bangkok has so many incredible hotels that you could stay at for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Staff were really friendly. The reception woman always smiley and chatty. Good food at the restaurant, but the beer bottles expensive! Get yours at the nearby 7-11. The hotel was close to the Khao San and the grand palace. Nice bathroom with a big walk in shower. The room was cleaned every day.

Bad sides: we requested a basic room, but upon booking added a little note that we would appreciate a canal view. The view we got didn't exactly feature the view we wanted. Our booking said we'd also have a balcony, but instead the balcony we got a small room next to our bedroom with the aircon fan unit in, it was extremely loud and the quality of sleep was really poor. We didn't sleep well at all. Every night there were dogs barking outside, they were driving us crazy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Avoid this hotel. It is on a polluted canal - the whole place smells brackash. The rooms are tiny (there isn't even room for luggage & you will have to stand to use a laptop; no chair). and it's noisy; no privacy from neighbor, you can hear everything. The staff are unhelpful and unfriendly; they could care less.

Breakfast was sub-par. Having stayed at other much better and friendlier hotels in Thailand, I can promise you there are much. much better choices, and the ratings, in this case, do not accurately reflect how poor this place is.

The only possible good thing is that it is near Khao San, but then so are dozens of other hotels and I suggest you look at another place. You will be unhappy here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Korbua House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korbua House

Address: 239/8-11 Phrasumen Rd. | Taladyod, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 564 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Korbua House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Korbua House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korbua House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.