We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supern Italian dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medici Kitchen & Bar

Medici Kitchen & Bar
55/555 Langsuan Road | Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+66 (0) 2 630 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 8,076 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 243 Reviews
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Supern Italian dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to Medici for a nice dinner to celebrate a special day and we were not disappointed at all. I have seen the hotel website and heard it was good.

As we walked in, the restaurant was beautifully decorated with a European theme from the entrance and the winding stairs down to the restaurant.

The staff were nice and warm and they lead us to our table.

We ordered several starters to share amongst the families ... seared foir gras (twice since it was so good) ... imported cold cuts & cheese delicacies from Tuscany (very food) ... beautiful beef carpaccio ... Tuna tartare ... juicy muscles with tomato-based sauce ... Caprese ... all pretty good.

Then we ordered main course ... few of us ordered the recommended "Stuffed homemade ‘candy pasta’ with French foie gras & Ricotta cheese in truffle emulsion" and Tasmanian ‘all natural’ 150-day grain fed beef topped with French foie gras & black truffle from Norcia ... again very good. Few other dishes were ordered and were pretty good too.

There was also a nice twist, between 8:30 until 9:30 everyday apart from Sunday, the dining area becomes a stage for an opera. Four attractive performers sang Opera. They do move around the and you can feel the power of their voices. Definitely was an unexpected but very pleasing indeed.

The desserts were also very good and it was a nice fitting end to our evening.

This is definitely a place to visit for a nice and chic ambiance and great Italian food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    43
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Chef and service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

An other genius chef in Bangkok who will serve you an amazing italian cuisine and some fantastic chef 's specials .It was a real and a nice surprise as I am not fan of the restaurant in the Hotels.The food was excellent with an impeccable sevice.
Try the scallops with foie gras poele and black trufle,a MUST...from the Chef
A great atmosphere as we had some opera singers who came along for a spectacular
entertainment..
Will definetly go back for such amazing and unique experience

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“ITALIAN FOOD AND OPERA- MAGNIFICENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The ambiance of the Muse Hotel strikes one as soon as you enter the door. Not a bland 5 star chain property but a truly unique boutique hotel like a large old Italian house complete witha wonderful collection of artwork.

One descends to the Medici Kitchen Restaurant, and what a lovely place it is. Dark panelling, warm lighting, and smallish, not the vast brunch edifice we are usually confronted with.

The staff were most attentive - maybe the management was a little TOO attentive as it was the first time there was an Opera luncheon, and they wanted to get everything right. A good selection of cocktails, both standard and some unique Italian creations, and free flow prosecco, white and red wine - and for the four hours we were there, unlike Oliver, we never had to ask for more!!

The brunch area was not large, so we were not confronted with a vast selection of tables groaning with food. Antipasti, starters, soups and entrees were all there, with some unusual selections, like drunken sausages. The main courses were ordered and brought to the table when guests wanted to eat....a great idea.

The sound of three magnificent tenor voices in a small room with low ceilings was perfect. The guys were so excellent. And then joined by three sopranos which was a real conversation stopper - thank goodness!. The shows were in three bouts, each 8 minutes in length...just perfect.

There were a couple of miscommunication between one of our party and the wait staff, but the management could not have been more apologetic and put things right immediately....there was a wonderful PR gesture when the bill arrived, and it had been reduced drastically.

It was a wonderful occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

As a Swiss graduating from Switzerland in food and beverage management with many-years experience in Bangkok hotels and involved in menu creation for world class airlines  with many experienced European chefs,I had to learn from the young Italian chef of the Medici restaurant that my perception of Italian food was not up the standard of his cuisine creations. All I said is that the rocket salad was placed on the plate without any dressing, the ravioli dough was undercooked, the spinach filling was tasteless, the saffron risotto was less than al dente. One of my friends commented on the pork dish As being bland. The explanation for the mediocre food was that we came to eat at the restaurant on the first day of a new menu. This is an excuse you may get away with with a guest totally ignorant of hotel and restaurant practice when it comes to launching a new menu. The only thing really outstanding was the testimony of an extremely low food cost percentage when 6 pieces of ravioli, each filled with half a teaspoon of blanched spinach cost 350.- Baht plus tax and service. My friends and myself have decided not to change our standard to the one of the Italian chef.

Ha capito?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It has been a month since we went there so I can't quite remember what we had. All I remember is that everything was wonderful! We would for sure go back again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medici Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Medici Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medici Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.