We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i'll be back here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Save Saved
You added The Okura Prestige Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Ventures Ecoplex, 57 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Deluxe Dream Package
Ranked #9 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“i'll be back here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

stayed at Okura's Club Prestige Room for three nights in Jun. it's in a great location, situated next to Ploenchit BTS. It's only a year old and the facilities, design, rooms are very good. Pool can be quite crowded but the view is very nice. The weekend set lunches at the japanese restaurant Yamazato are good value. The room i stayed in was a very good size, and the club lounge was a very pleasant place to chill. Service was attentive and warm, and kudos to the member of staff at the lounge (i think her name was Arithaya?) for helping me get my One Harmony card ready in double quick time.

Room Tip: rooms are on the 26-34th floors, so the views are pretty good all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for giving us such great feedback on your Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at The Okura Prestige Bangkok! We are delighted you enjoyed your holidays with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Okura Prestige on your next trip to Thailand.
Yours sincerely
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    87
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
102
175
41
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
BEIJING
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have booked a Premium Club room for 2nights in The Okura Prestige. We are frequent visitors to Bangkok as always have had vacations in Phuket and other seaside holiday, on the ways back we usually stay 2-3days in BKK for relax and shopping and dinning etc. This is the first time we stay in the Okura, with the great experience in other hotel club level rooms, we chose to stay at the club room as well. But it was not as we had expected or in other words, not quite satisfactory.
Room is ok, for its spacious, nice view on the 33rd floor, good facilities, free minibar drinks and cleanliness. But the service was not good as for the 4-5star level.
1.There has been a bad sewage smell always around in the lobby, corridors and even if rooms.
2.Staff not very friendly, attentive, housing keeping staff did not want to do the evening room due to it was time for his shift. Club lounge staff told us need proper dressing code for tea refreshment and cocktail but when we were there found many guests wearing short pants, slippers without any staff to regulate.
3.Buffet breakfast is ok but be aware it would be very full during 8-9am rush hours, you may need to queue there for a few minutes.
The positive point is the spa, very good skilled staff! However, a bit pricy and when we finished the massage and signed the bills and comments, the staff left us to accompany another guest for introduction tour for a very long time, we have to bring the bill and comment books to look after her.
As it is a Japanese based hotel but there was very few or nil Japanese guests but a lot of Hong Kong guests.
Location is good and convenient for BTS and shopping around.
Overall it is about 3-4star level but definitely not 5star.
Not quite likely to return here for stay in Bangkok due there is a lot better options.

Room Tip: Club level is better for city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your lengthy and very kind review. Guest feedback is the most important feedback we receive, thus we appreciate each word and have shared your comments with our team. We pride ourselves on our exceptional service and cuisine and are surprised you did not experience that completely; it’s helpful for us to know this because it pushes us to do more: we want to ensure that every guest visit is seamless and fantastic. It’s our utmost priority, and one we’ll work diligently to improve upon and achieve. We hope you’ll give us another chance to create a memorable visit.
Respectfully yours
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful japanese experience in a thai city. Everything about this hotel is good. Rooms are nicely done. Very clean. Rooms are well colored and designed. Amazing view. Friendly staff & helpful. Only area of improvements are concierge knowledge of good restsurants & speed of service of help desk (bell boy)on ground floor (main entrance on the road level) as they took more than 20 minutes to come to take our bags.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of our Bangkok Hotel. We’re delighted that you liked the modern design of our rooms and especially the great view we offer from every single floor! I do however regret to read that our Concierge and Bell service were not up to their usual high standards and we will certainly be looking into this area. Thank you so much for letting us know. We hope to welcome you back again soon
Yours Sincerely
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a bunch of friends visiting Bangkok recently, and decided to stay at The Okura. Surprisingly, this hotel didn't even feel like you are in Bangkok. My room had a modern feel yet it was simplicity at its finest. The best part of this hotel was the pool located on the 25th floor. Lots of us were not even swimming, we were just taking pictures inside the pool. This is truly an amazing design and an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review and we understand your comments regarding the setting of our pool, it is truly amazing and it was equally impressive seeing it being built during construction times in 2011. We hope to being able to welcome you back to The Okura Prestige Bangkok for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I brought my family and stayed at the Okura from June 23 to June 25. It wasn't a great start as I had to wait for quite a bit with my young toddler in tow while the hotel searched for my reservation. Apparently there was some issues backend and the system wasn't updated with my details. I thought the service could have been better if the service officers were more attentive and perhaps brought out some drinks or directed us to a place where we can sit and wait especially since we just got off from a flight.

The general condition of the hotel was good, considering it was rather new. We liked the cleanliness of the room, housekeeping service and the service staff at the swimming pool. We did not quite like the executive club lounge as it was rather snooty with its strict dress code. I have no issue with dress codes if the place warranted it but the ambience and the drinks and food provided were rather average. Plus the staff could have been more tactful in conveying the issue with dress codes.

We had breakfast at the main restaurant for both days and the food was ok. On one of the days however, we saw one of the chefs cooking the egg dishes in the kitchen actually sneezed into the food without any attempt to cover his mouth. I think a definite area for improvement here would be for the hotel to require all food handlers to wear a mask!

Overall the entire experience was pleasant but there are still rooms for improvement. The last note I would like to give would be that I hope the level of service provided by consistently good. On Sunday and Tuesday, the service staff was rather attentive but on Monday, which had fewer people, the service quality and attentiveness definitely has room for improvement.

I would still stay in this hotel again if I visit BKK as it has a direct covered walkway to a BTS station only 2 stops away from the main shopping district, but I would hope that the areas for improvement which I mentioned are addressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Okura Prestige Bangkok and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
On behalf of the team, we apologize sincerely for not always meeting your expectations during your stay. We greatly appreciate your additional feedback about our club lounge and our dress code during dinner times which we have taken steps to address. Obviously there were areas where we were not perfect but we can assure you that I and all our 380 associates are working daily on service improvements and your input is of great value to us.
We are very happy to read that we will have the opportunity again in the future to welcome you and your family back to The Okura Prestige Bangkok and we hope to exceed your expectations then.
With my very best regards
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

a very comfortable place, as soon as you walk outside on the right side are the stairs to the metro which was really helpful and fun, instead of taking a taxi or a tuk tuk opt for the mtero, its faster, no traffic jams and faulty meters, if you decide on staying back then you can laze around the pool or the gym or the spa, amazing breakfast which me and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: always opt for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our luxury Bangkok Hotel located in the heart of this bustling city. All mayor shopping centres are easily accessible with our direct access to the sky train system (BTS) and we are delighted that you were able to benefit from this convenience. Bangkok’s renowned Chatuchak or J.J. Weekend market with its over 5000 stalls is also directly accessible with the train from our hotel. We are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed our Up&Above restaurant, with it’s fabulous breakfast buffet spread including Executive Chef Thomas Jacobi’s popular croissants and fresh pancakes. We hope to see you again soon at The Okura Prestige!
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As referred by previous reviewers on Tripadvisor, I can really say that all the good reviews on Okura Prestige Hotel in Bangkok are true! It has Japanese hospitality at its best up to the most minute details. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
There is a good reason why Thailand is known as the ‘Land of Smiles’ and it is a real pleasure to being able to share true Thai Hospitality here at The Okura Prestige in Bangkok. The willingness and friendliness of our employees to show the true meaning of hospitality is something unique to Thailand and being able to share this with you at our boutique hotel is indeed a real pleasure and we are really pleased to read that the ‘Thai smile’ makes visitors repeat their travel time and time again. It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel, where we combine Okura's rich service culture with genuine Thai Hospitality.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Okura Prestige Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Address: Park Ventures Ecoplex, 57 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okura Prestige Bangkok combines Japan’s rich service culture and attention to detail with Thailand’s world-famous standards of hospitality. This new luxury hotel, with 240 rooms and suites, is located in the award-winning Park Ventures Ecoplex building at the heart of the city’s Central Business District. The hotel offers direct access to the city’s BTS skytrain network at Phloen Chit station and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts.Every room and suite offers impressive views across the dynamic Bangkok skyline through triple-glazed tinted panoramic windows that insulate against both heat and noise. The rooms combine comfort and luxury with the very latest technological developments designed to impress business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Okura Prestige Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Okura Prestige Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.