We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Elegant - with great design!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Okura Prestige Bangkok to your Saves list
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Ventures Ecoplex, 57 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Okura Experience Package
Ranked #5 of 777 Hotels in Bangkok
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Elegant - with great design!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a bunch of friends visiting Bangkok recently, and decided to stay at The Okura. Surprisingly, this hotel didn't even feel like you are in Bangkok. My room had a modern feel yet it was simplicity at its finest. The best part of this hotel was the pool located on the 25th floor. Lots of us were not even swimming, we were just taking pictures inside the pool. This is truly an amazing design and an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review and we understand your comments regarding the setting of our pool, it is truly amazing and it was equally impressive seeing it being built during construction times in 2011. We hope to being able to welcome you back to The Okura Prestige Bangkok for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    156
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
186
353
81
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I brought my family and stayed at the Okura from June 23 to June 25. It wasn't a great start as I had to wait for quite a bit with my young toddler in tow while the hotel searched for my reservation. Apparently there was some issues backend and the system wasn't updated with my details. I thought the service could have been better if the service officers were more attentive and perhaps brought out some drinks or directed us to a place where we can sit and wait especially since we just got off from a flight.

The general condition of the hotel was good, considering it was rather new. We liked the cleanliness of the room, housekeeping service and the service staff at the swimming pool. We did not quite like the executive club lounge as it was rather snooty with its strict dress code. I have no issue with dress codes if the place warranted it but the ambience and the drinks and food provided were rather average. Plus the staff could have been more tactful in conveying the issue with dress codes.

We had breakfast at the main restaurant for both days and the food was ok. On one of the days however, we saw one of the chefs cooking the egg dishes in the kitchen actually sneezed into the food without any attempt to cover his mouth. I think a definite area for improvement here would be for the hotel to require all food handlers to wear a mask!

Overall the entire experience was pleasant but there are still rooms for improvement. The last note I would like to give would be that I hope the level of service provided by consistently good. On Sunday and Tuesday, the service staff was rather attentive but on Monday, which had fewer people, the service quality and attentiveness definitely has room for improvement.

I would still stay in this hotel again if I visit BKK as it has a direct covered walkway to a BTS station only 2 stops away from the main shopping district, but I would hope that the areas for improvement which I mentioned are addressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Okura Prestige Bangkok and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
On behalf of the team, we apologize sincerely for not always meeting your expectations during your stay. We greatly appreciate your additional feedback about our club lounge and our dress code during dinner times which we have taken steps to address. Obviously there were areas where we were not perfect but we can assure you that I and all our 380 associates are working daily on service improvements and your input is of great value to us.
We are very happy to read that we will have the opportunity again in the future to welcome you and your family back to The Okura Prestige Bangkok and we hope to exceed your expectations then.
With my very best regards
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

a very comfortable place, as soon as you walk outside on the right side are the stairs to the metro which was really helpful and fun, instead of taking a taxi or a tuk tuk opt for the mtero, its faster, no traffic jams and faulty meters, if you decide on staying back then you can laze around the pool or the gym or the spa, amazing breakfast which me and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: always opt for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our luxury Bangkok Hotel located in the heart of this bustling city. All mayor shopping centres are easily accessible with our direct access to the sky train system (BTS) and we are delighted that you were able to benefit from this convenience. Bangkok’s renowned Chatuchak or J.J. Weekend market with its over 5000 stalls is also directly accessible with the train from our hotel. We are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed our Up&Above restaurant, with it’s fabulous breakfast buffet spread including Executive Chef Thomas Jacobi’s popular croissants and fresh pancakes. We hope to see you again soon at The Okura Prestige!
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As referred by previous reviewers on Tripadvisor, I can really say that all the good reviews on Okura Prestige Hotel in Bangkok are true! It has Japanese hospitality at its best up to the most minute details. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
There is a good reason why Thailand is known as the ‘Land of Smiles’ and it is a real pleasure to being able to share true Thai Hospitality here at The Okura Prestige in Bangkok. The willingness and friendliness of our employees to show the true meaning of hospitality is something unique to Thailand and being able to share this with you at our boutique hotel is indeed a real pleasure and we are really pleased to read that the ‘Thai smile’ makes visitors repeat their travel time and time again. It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel, where we combine Okura's rich service culture with genuine Thai Hospitality.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a lovely corner room, with a view of the beautiful Lumpini Park, looks like Asia version of Central Park.

Best in-room Thai food I have ever tried. My boyfriend and I love the satay and the tom yum soup. Best breakfast buffet, with the most variety of food (and juice) i have ever seen!

Facility-wise, we love the infinity pool and the up and above bar. Both offer a unique view of Bangkok city. The only downside of the hotel is that the executive lounge would not allow guests with shorts. It sounds a bit to uptight and Mandarin Oriental in HK (where not as hot) would not have such practice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for speaking so highly of The Okura Prestige Bangkok. It is wonderful to hear that your experience with the staff, your stay, and of course the food was exceptional and we have shared your comments with the Thai Kitchen team which has made them especially proud. We do apologise if you felt that our dress code during cocktail hours in The Okura Club Lounge has been a little too strickt and as we have had two recent comments we are in the process of revising this. We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel and our restaurants!
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Recently opened, therefore ready to be scrutinized by the Kid....

The Okura brand of hotels is known for its 'business'- appeal and this Bangkok branch is no exception to the rule. A hotel that has it's lobby on the 24th floor - now there's a start.
Interior design is great, but does have one flaw: it's all too brown and therefore too gloomy. Not a bright light to be seen, or it must be the excellent staff that smiles and helps as much as they can.

Having travelled extensively throughout the globe, I can fully appreciate the levels of service that Thailand has to offer. But as any form of success, it has to be redefined every day.
The Okura in Bangkok surely does this.
As dark as the place may be in the daytime, with al it's grey and brown and black colours, the brighter it gets at night. You can easily say this is an sort of min-St. Regis ( on Rachadamri) with even better coffee and cocktails. the live-music is stunningly professional and the musicians even though they are young guys and gals.

Greatest hit: the Japanese restaurant Yamazato immediately ranks between the best in Bangkok - without any question. Go eat for yourself. This is an amazing place for lovers of fish and teppanyaki. We will surely come back - a bit expensive it is, but isn't that the case with all things that have quality?

Greatest flaw: the pool. One wonders why they made the effort at all. There are eight (yes 8!) decks to lay on. No shade. Hardly any service. The pool is not big. Even a 99-year old astmatic diabetic with one leg can make it to the other side. If you like to take a swim during your stay in Bangkok - don't go here.

Other than that: the Okura is a good two-nighter in Krung Thep.

Room Tip: As all rooms are on the higher floors, take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our Bangkok Hotel and thank you for rating our services so highly. We place great emphasis on staff training and it is very rewarding to read your very kind comments. We thank you too for the excellent feedback on Yamazato.Chef Hagiwara and his team are proud of what they do as their restaurant has certainly made a mark in Bangkok's competitive dining scene. What made us loose a star was our pool, and it is indeed regrettable. I would like to let you know that sunshades were installed yesterday and we are rearranging the deck chairs and plants in July, allowing more space at this very stunning deck which hovers over busy Bangkok on the 25th floor is certainly an architectural feast. With its length of 25m, it is great for workouts or simply enjoying the city’s skyline from way above! Thank you again for your detailed review we hope to welcome you back when you are in Bangkok again.
Yours sincerely
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were quite excited to experience the new Okura Prestige Hotel in Bangkok but after a couple of days spent, we consider a lack of consistence and atmosphere for this Japanese brand property.

PROS:
-Perfect location adjacent to Ploenchit Skytrain station and at walking distance from Lumpini Park or Siam.
-Very large room (actually we were upgraded to a Premier Room) offering space which is a key for a five stars property as well as oversized windows opening on the Bangkok skyline and making the room full of natural light.
-Scheme of grey and beige colors in the rooms discreet and elegant and an excellent blend of Thai and Japanese designs.
-A staff polite and courteous really implicated in the guests satisfaction, always with a smile even if some are still a bit shy but it's a new property so it's totally excusable.
-Perfect soundproofing giving you the guarantee of a good sleep.
-Relatively excellent bed and pillows comfort helping you to have sweet dreams.
-Seperated TOTO automatic toilets giving you memories of Japan and so hygienic.

CONS:
-No atmosphere in the hotel: a long but not very lively lobby area too straight and without charm and a room where you can't feel anything warm due to a bad lighting and not enough pieces of furniture giving the character so essential in an hotel.
-A few technical problems: TV screen was totally iced at a time and hard and not nice smell coming from the drain right away you turn off the air conditioning. If TV problem has been quickly solved, the bad smell hasn't been regretfully.
-The bathroom with only one sink which is just good for one guest meaning the hotel is much more for business people than for luxury travelers.
-Bath Amenities looking nice but too special and we really didn't like the shower gel.
-No space to open a suitcase apart of a very small one but if you have a Rimowa, forget it... Very surprising for a brand new hotel.
-The over long room explanation after check in... Girl was nice but giving far too much details like how to turn on the boiler, how to change TV channels, what is free is the minibar... We had the impression she'd never stop.
-The ridiculous minibar price list where the complimentary teas, coffees, sugar and milk are mentioned with the price 0 THB... In a five stars, these things are always for free so no need to mention it.
-A certain lack of generosity: 2 green apples, no flowers... If we compare with The Sukhothai for example, there is a big difference.
-Pool area so disappointing with just a few loungers and a mattress only on the ones occupied and strictly no umbrella... Very not welcoming.

Consequently, we have been not so happy with our stay despite of a great comfort and a relatively good service. A five stars property is much more than that and we consider Okura Premier Bangkok only good for a business trip but not for something else and again, some things have to be improved to reach the standards of the best hotels of Bangkok where there is a very strong concurrence.

Room Tip: Better to go for a suite where the bathroom will be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you too for the very detailed comments you left previously via email. Our guest’s feedback is the most valuable to us and we appreciate it! Were glad that you enjoyed the service we provide and that had a pleasant stay. We also thank you for the great review on our bedding and soundproofing of the rooms. We have taken extra care during our planning stages so as to ensure our customers sleep is not being disturbed. Even the windows are triple glazed ensuring that street noise is kept out of the room and on top of this we benefit of up to 30% reduction in energy consumption. Please do excuse us if there was a plumbing issue, we were obviously not as thorough when inspecting the room prior to your arrival. For the pool deck, we have since installed new sunshades and we are very sorry that they were not available during your stay. We pride ourselves on our exceptional product and service, thus we’ll always do everything possible to ensure both of these areas are top notch. Thank you once again for your review.
Sincerely
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Okura Prestige Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Address: Park Ventures Ecoplex, 57 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 777 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okura Prestige Bangkok combines Japan’s rich service culture and attention to detail with Thailand’s world-famous standards of hospitality. This new luxury hotel, with 240 rooms and suites, is located in the award-winning Park Ventures Ecoplex building at the heart of the city’s Central Business District. The hotel offers direct access to the city’s BTS skytrain network at Phloen Chit station and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts.Every room and suite offers impressive views across the dynamic Bangkok skyline through triple-glazed tinted panoramic windows that insulate against both heat and noise. The rooms combine comfort and luxury with the very latest technological developments designed to impress business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Okura Prestige Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Okura Prestige Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.