We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want vegetarian food? This is the place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sri Ganesh Restaurant

Sri Ganesh Restaurant
19/13-14, Sukhumvit Soi 13 | Sukhumvit Suites,Opp to CITRUS Hotel, Khlongtoei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
02-2581425
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 8,046 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Want vegetarian food? This is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are looking for shiny floors, dim lighting and uniformed waiters, this is NOT the place for you. This is a family owned and operated place. The owners wife takes the orders. She speaks clear and good English.

Sri Ganesha is named after the Indian deity - elephant God. The owners are God fearing and it shows.

I had the South Indian Thali. This "Thali" is a rectangular stainless steel plate with small steel bowls which allows you to sample the vegetable of the day along with Dal (lentils), white rice, plain yogurt and roti. I did not want to eat the sweet dish so they exchanged it for an extra bowl of yogurt. Again the size of these bowls are tiny...they are little bigger than the plastic cups used in McDonald for ketchup.

The food was tasty and I ate everything on the Thali. It reminded me of Mom's cooking.

The owners do most of the work themselves. The overhead is low and so are the prices. The prices include 7% VAT which is not the case in most Bangkok restaurants.
You get good food and save more of your hard earned money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chennai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good South Indian Veg Food at Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my first visit to Thailand (Bangkok) i was worried because i was a pure Vegie, after reaching the bangkok at Shukumvit, I called the hotel through local phone, got the guidance and reached the resturant ( I stayed for 2 days), The Foods which were prepared were purely of South Indian taste, and i have tasted the special Items, like Paratto with Kurma, Daal Vadai, Pongal with Vathaka Kulambu, pesarat Dosa, South indian thali, Filter coffee...I can say much more list...I would strongly recommened the Vegies who are fussy of south indian foods can have a Homely food.....Thanks to the owner Mr. Senthil who was welcoming every one and helping the clients with his simily face.....I wish him to create a very strong base in other parts of thailand.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The looks of the restaurant are average, however the food is perfect.They have many items on the menu which they usually deliver extremely fast. The idly will come to your table within 5 minutes. The Prices are also fantastic. Me and my family have been eating here for years!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

You will not find south indian food this good anywhere else. It's authentic and rich in flavor, served on a traditional banana leaf, and there are plenty of options to choose from. All menu items are vegetarian. Their best items by far though are their dosa and their idli. Don't look at ambience when you arrive as it is a small, hole-in-the-wall type of place but everything is 100% clean and hygienic. Delicious food at a cheap price! Absolutely amazing

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best South Indian food in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is the only authentic South Indian food with great taste.i have been to almost all South Indian Resturants in Thailand.This is the only place,the food is great since the Resturant started 10 yrs ago.Dosa,vada,idli,uttapam,pesarattu and Thali is simply great.No one can not beat the place.Excellent and superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Ganesh Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Sri Ganesh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sri Ganesh Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.