We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for - Good value, minimal elegance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sasa International House

Sasa International House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sasa International House
Save
You added Sasa International House to your Saves list
Sasa Patasala Building, Soi Chula 12,, Bangkok, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 564 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for - Good value, minimal elegance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a modest hotel, modestly priced but located right on the campus. It is convenient to the Sky Train. There is free internet in each room. The food is adequate but nothing special. The staff had some difficulties in producing a hotel invoice but we got it sorted out eventually. I would not hesitate to stay there again if I needed to be close to the university.
Expect good value and convenience but no pampering or luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is directly on Chulalongkorn University campus, opposite Sasin Business School. It is more a "serviced apartment" type of hotel rather than a tourist hotel; visiting academic and students are by far the majority of guest. Rooms are great and spacious. Location could not be any better if going to Chulalongkorn University (on campus, which is a very nice campus), and still very good if coming for business or tourism to Thailand (walking distance to Siam Square/MBK/Skytrain). Staff and management are very friendly and helpful. There are no sport facilities in the building, but you can use gym/pool/sauna of Sasabol next door for free. Fast, free Internet. Nice restaurant. English is spoken by management/reception, and most staff/waiters. You need to walk out from campus to catch a taxi, but can come on campus with a taxi on the way back. There is nothing really to complain about for what it is, just be sure you are competent in navigating your way around BKK and booking flights, tours etc. yourself. They do not provide tours or anything like that... it is not aimed at tourists.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It's hard to know how to review this hotel, as it is really just for visiting academics and students, and we were given an extremely good rate, so I feel churlish saying anything too negative about it. I have to say our room was very attractive and tastefully furnished, with nothing looking old or worn. The bathroom was tiled with marble or marble lookalike and its only drawback was the slightly leaky shower door. The room looked out onto trees, which made for a nice view but the balcony could have done with a clean and a couple of chairs. In terms of convenience, the skytrain was about 10 minutes walk away; MBK department store was 15 minutes walk; and Jim Thompson House was 15 minutes walk away.The negatives were the public areas of the hotel. The lobby had a nasty smell; the corridor was open air, very hot and steamy; the dining room was not like a hotel restaurant in any way (though they did a mean cheese omelette for breakfast); and the pool was in the nextdoor building so one didn't feel inclined to walk down the street in one's swimsuit and sarong. There was also not much in the way of help if you wanted to book a tour or ask for advice. Having said all that, if you are a visiting academic or student, then this is a very reasonable option. It's just that if you want a fancy hotel experience, this isn't it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at Sasa International House (which everyone seems to just call Sasa) for one week while attending a conference on the campus of Chulalongkorn University. This hotel is a curious mix of modern and modest. The rooms have been beautifully put together and are wonderfully cool. The public areas are spacious and pleasant. The restaurant provides a modest but fine breakfast. The lunch/dinner menu is extensive, and not expensive which is entirely suitable of you're too tired to eat out. But it's easy to eat around the corner at a whole slue of places. The pool is behind the next building but easy to get to (30 second walk). The surrounds may not be fancy, but they are clean and the pool is magnificent. The staff brought us towels each time which was much appreciated. The gym looked just fine, but I wasn't around when it was open. It is less than 5 minutes to MBK shopping centre and therefore central to transport. Very reasonably priced for the standard and great if you're at a conference. I'd go back no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Sasa International House is attached to Chulalongkorn University’s Sasin Business School and is often where exchange students and visiting professors stay. We stayed for 6 weeks as the wife was a visiting exchange student. It’s a great location if you are attending Sasin but also if you want to explore the grounds of Thailand’s top university and surroundings which are lush with grand rain trees. It’s also close (5-7 minute walk) to MBK and the National Stadium BTS. We enjoyed our time especially at the student exchange discount rate (740-860THB). The normal rate is listed at $100 (3000THB) but can be had for 2400THB which includes breakfast. There is a restaurant on the first floor which we were not impressed with – pricey and underwhelming service. We instead ate most of our meals at the various student cafeteria options around which were really affordable – much of the time even cheaper than street food. The main front desk manager at the front desk can be very helpful and the housecleaning staff are wonderful. Rooms are well maintained and very comfortable. Staying here gives you access to the Sasa Business school pool, gym and sauna - all of which are great.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room on the 4th-6th floor, you'll have a nice view over lush trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sasa International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sasa International House

Address: Sasa Patasala Building, Soi Chula 12,, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 564 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sasa International House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.