We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Siam to your Saves list
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 757 Hotels in Bangkok
Jackson Wy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the Best Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Siam Hotel is truly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. From the the moment of arrival the service is kind, gracious, attentive and utterly perfect. The Butler Service is the best I've ever had. We had a Mae Nam Suite which was extraordinary. The architecture, interior design and decorating are fabulous. The art and artifacts combined with all the modern touches and connectivity are a perfect blend of old and new. The hotel hotel is very quiet and is a perfect respite from the craziness of Bangkok. The gym is excellent, the food at Deco Bar and Chon is excellent and very reasonably priced. Wine on the Pier is a perfect way to end the day. Unfortunately, we did not get to experience the pool or the spa and therefore will be returning to Bangkok just to further experience and relax in the wonderful Siam. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Bangkok and encourage you to plan time to experience the beautiful property and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: I highly recommend Mae Nam Suites or the Riverfront Suites as they are huge with great views. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
108
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is simply amazing, from the wonderful greeting upon arrival to the grand goodbye, the experience will forever remain with me and my friends!
Jason, the GM and staff are to be commended for their level of service ~ simply above and beyond all expectations.
The Hotel is more like a grand private home, and you are made to feel that this is YOUR home!
The location and tranquility has to be experienced to be believed.

Room Tip: We had the Pool side Villa and room 207 ~ both amazing! The Pool Side Villa is situated overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Words can't describe The Siam Hotel in Bangkok. Absolutely everything in this hotel has been well thought out! The service is beyond fantastic, the people who work at the Siam make you feel like you are at home. I could write an essay with -only- amazing feedback but you have to experience this for yourself! This is a must for anyone who loves beautiful interior, antiques, amazing service and overall an unforgettable stay! For those of you tour bus travelers & Sukhumvit types please stay far away from this hotel. Ps our butler Mac was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the property for a weekend break. The hotel is truly an urban sanctuary - the antithesis of a city that never sleeps. The design is a blend of old world charm and style with a modern twist. The Riverview Suite where we stayed was simply stunning. Every item in the room boasts both form and function. The service was impeccable. The staff was extremely attentive and very friendly, particularly Aun. The Spa was beautifully designed. We loved the relaxation area with its high ceilings and fountain. The food at the hotel was also very good. The only disadvantage is the property's slightly remote location which made getting around a bit of a challenge. Given Bangkok's horrendous traffic, it could take any where up to 30 to 40 minutes to get to Pathum Wan which is where all the major shopping centres are situated. We also experienced some difficulties finding a taxi in the city that would take us back to the Dusit district which is where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The combination of attentive staff, including my wonderful butler, Oat made my stay at The Siam simply unforgettable. I spent several nights at The Siam and enjoyed every minute in the spectacular surroundings where even the smallest detail was well thought out. The aesthetics of the hotel included beautiful museum quality antiques, art deco period Asian masterpieces, and surprises in every nook and corner of the beautiful public spaces. I especially enjoyed the memorabilia and coffee table books in the "Library".

Eating breakfast under the veranda every morning was an incredible way to start the day, watching the Chao Phraya River flow past, while enjoying some of the best food I had in BKK. The mangoes were the best of my entire trip - and I made sure to have them every single morning! For breakfast, there were both European and Asian choices available - everything was cooked to perfection, and fun to taste something different than the same old toast, potatoes and eggs served in most other hotels.

Where ever you turn in the hotel there are wonderful staff there to assist, yet there is a feeling of privacy and calm throughout the grounds. From the crew of the private hotel boat, to the serving staff at breakfast, cleaning team, front desk and spa staff - everyone was gracious, lovely and very helpful. On two occasions I left for early morning outings from the hotel, before sunrise - the staff was there waiting outside my suite front door to make sure made my departure on schedule and had a beautiful and delicious take away breakfast prepared for me! Wow!

I could go on for several pages, so thank you to the wonderful staff at The Siam for being part of an unforgettable trip to Bangkok, I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sadly, I only got to spent one night here. But I shall be back for sure. The hotel is a wonderfully converted residence on the riverside, with exceptional levels of service. Room 306, as I am sure all the rooms are, was wonderful; large and fully featured with a sitting area, coffee machine, bedroom area, office area and huge bathroom. The beds were some of the best that I have encountered in a hotel.

The spa was excellent and the swimming pool looked very inviting, although I didn’t have time to try it.

Be warned that there is a step up into the bedrooms (small and easily tripped upon!). And my pet hate in any hotel is ‘musak’ … take note please, managers at The Siam, that on my next visit I don’t want that feature turned on in my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Siam is a beautiful place - the pictures prove it. What the pictures can't show is the incredible warmth and hospitality of the staff. We visited in July and were blown away by the level of customer service. We were passing through Bangkok, en route to another city up north. The manager, Nicky, happened to be from that city. Not only did he type out a list of recommended locations and activities, but he also gave us his personal phone number, in case we should need his help later in our travels! Nicky and the staff looked after us incredibly well. It was a great way to be welcomed to a new country and a new culture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 757 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the River of Kings, nestled amongst Bangkok’s historical palaces, temples and museums, a lucky few will happen upon our boutique gem, The Siam.Set on 3 acres of premium river frontage, our privately owned and operated 39-room luxury retreat will transport you to a bygone serenity suffused with priceless antiquities, oriental allure and contemporary comforts.Conceived by Krissada Sukosol Clapp and globally acclaimed architect and designer Bill Bensley, The Siam features Bangkok’s most spacious suites and is the kingdom’s premier urban resort offering intimately private pool villas with open-air roof terraces.For an unforgettably unique experience, relish the exclusivity of dining or staying in one of four traditional Thai teakwood houses sourced by silk tycoon, Jim Thompson, and former socialite owner, Connie Mangskau. In these homes, Connie hosted an array of cosmopolitan characters including Jacqueline Kennedy, Henry Ford, John Rockefeller and Roger Moore.An irresistible array of bespoke cultural amusements awaits you at The Siam: explore Bangkok by boat from our private pier; indulge in pampering at our seductive spa; explore the grounds and discover a veritable treasure trove of curios or simply unwind with a sunset cocktail at our riverfront bar.Whatever your desire, we await you with delight… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.