We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Save Saved
You added The Siam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I initially booked a Riverview Pool Villa for a single night stay in order to see firsthand this amazing new additional to the wealth of amazing hotels within Bangkok. So good is this property that one night turned into several! It's actually hard to write a review on this property without it sounding like a PR team wrote it :-) From the museum quality public areas, private cinema, first-class spa and gym, lap pool and restaurant offerings, The Siam has it all. Backed by a quality staff who will go to great lengths to ensure your every need is met, this hotel has to be on everyone's list to stay in Bangkok.

If you have a day to spare when visiting this city, start off with a sleep-in in the amazing bed, then a lazy dip in your private courtyard pool, a long casual breakfast, explore the myriad collectables around the property, lunch, hit the gym, take a muay thai lesson, work out the kinks at the spa, watch a movie in the cinema, settle in on the mezzanine level of your villa to watch the sun set over the river, dinner at Chon and finally settle in on the dock for evening drinks. A great day done and you haven't even needed to leave the property!! Congratulations to the Sukosol family for another great example for all hoteliers.

Room Tip: Riverview Pool Villas are the best pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
97
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The building itself is impressive - it is new and modern with an Art Deco and traditional Thai twist. It also feels a bit like a museum with antiques all over the hotel displayed in style. The room is beautiful, large, modern, high ceiling with a Thai style look roof.

As for service, I was supposed to be picked up from the Mandarin by boat but they didn't come and told me to wait another 1.45 hours. I ended up going by taxi. They managed to redeem themselves with the excellent service over next couple of days , including giving me a complimentary massage to compensate. The Spa is beautiful and the muay thai massage very good. The butler service was excellent - I couldn't find kettle and coffee in the room and they delivered an espresso machine, I asked for sewing kit to sew back a button and they offered to do it for me.

I would not recommend this hotel for first timers to Bangkok. It is far away and not close to BTS. But if u want to chill in a stylish hotel and stay away from the crowd, it is perfect. The swimming pool is a bit small though. It is a lap pool that fits 2 ppl doing laps but it's a boutique hotel and not crowded at all. The Thai restaurant was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's a vastly different hotel from any others in bangkok, a combination of resort and city hotel. It's located next to the river, on the side where you can still easily access to other parts of the city. Without traffic, you can easily get to the town center in 15mins by cab.

We were treated like a king the moment we stepped into the hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and seem to be always around to cater your needs without being too intrusive. Tried the spa there and the experience was divine. Gym was well equipped with good outdoor lighting and contemporary decor. we also had dinner at Chon restaurant and everything was delicious. The restaurant is inside a small hut with nice river view. Good atmosphere and our dinner time passed by quickly. The food was so good that we were glad we took the cooking class the next day to learn the recipe of couple dishes.

The architecture and interior are one of its kind. I would probably say it's a mixture of colonial influence and Thai substance. Unlike other hotels in Bangkok, all the details are finished with good quality and taste.

To sum it up, we were blown away by the food, facilites, decor and service. what more can we ask for? We wanna try the villa next time with a private rooftop, sound awesome right?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Outstanding service, amazing food and beverage. Some of the BEST THAI food, I have had in Bangkok. Difficult to find but once there, all worth the effort. I am proud to be living in a city with a hotel of this caliber. We have only stayed there one weekend but dine there frequently. The bar on the pier is so relaxing and so BANGKOK and they open as long as you drink! No closing hours. A real treat for someone that gets off of work late. Don't miss the hamburgers also!

Room Tip: Get a pool villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This property is a dream, the taste is amazing, the service excellent, the rooms are vast and each different, all is perfect, you are in a mini paradise, where the house of Jim Thomson has been rebuilt in the river front and is a cosy restaurant, there is a cinema, a magnificent spa, not sure you should try the elephant dung coffee. It is a great place where you feel out of Bangkok, and you are still in .... We loved the pool that is so elegant !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

After visited more than 20 luxury hotels in Bangkok in the past 10 years, I really expect the visit of the Siam could be extraordinary, and honestly speaking, I'm satisfied with it, but not completely prefect.

The hotel itself is absolutely the best in current Bangkok, the room, the breakfast, the service, so I'll only tell the cons.

The greatest problem of the Siam hotel is transportation. It is too difficult to come and go at daytime. we tried to move from Okura Prestige Bangkok in Chitlom to the Siam and waited taxi for more than 30 minutes but no drivers wanted to go there, too heavy traffic jam. Finally the hotel staff suggested us to take BTS to a nearer station (Victory Monument) and transfered by taxi, but it still made us to stuck in the traffic jam for almost one hour(but if no traffic jam, just 10 min taxi drive). It means that it will be very difficult for guest to go anywhere else in Bangkok at day time. Although hotel provides alternatives : shuttle boat to Saphan Taksin Pier, it takes 30 min to get there and the last boat leaves hotel at 1920 and returns at 2000 PM, too early for any evening activities.

There are some minor imprefections which I'd like to mention: first, although the Siam has complimentary wifi, the speed is extremely slow (slower than airport free wifi). Second, there is NO audio system, although hotel have good music choices, they only let music come out from TV. And there are NO complimentary minibar or local calls. The Siam charges one coke for 170 Baht (which just cost 20 Baht at 7-11)! Also we were charged 10 Baht each for 5 local calls(make massage booking), it seems cheap, but if you ask hotel staff to call for you, it's free. We called ourselves just because we don't want to bother hotel staff, but then we have to pay, isn't it rediculus? . The Siam is the most expensive hotel nowadays in Bangkok, 9000 Thai Baht per night plus service and tax, however, nothing is free and you have to pay extra even just a coke.

One other thing I'd like to remind other guests, the hotel is full of antiques everywhere even in the rooms, and the bedroom is too large with photos and exhibition cabinet, guests might have a feeling that was sleeping in a museum.(if you are afraid of that, don't stay here). I have to admit the first night I didn't sleep very well because I had watched many Thai ghost movies before.

The Siam is a resort type hotel, only suitable for those who had visited Bangkok many times and prefer to stay at hotel only but not go anywhere. If you are a new visitor to Bangkok, there are many more appropriate choices.

Room Tip: The basic Siam suite is good enough, the so-called "riverview pool villa" is too expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently visited the hotel and were bowled over as we arrived via a private houseboat. It truly is a wonderful getaway from the frantic pace of Bangkok. We arranged to be picked up by the hotel boat and enjoyed a relaxing tour of the river on the way to the hotel. On arrival at the private pier we realised that this hotel was something very special. Set back in surrounding gardens, the hotel presents itself very well. As you enter the courtyard, you are instantly aware of the beautiful artefacts around the hotel. The antique pieces are amazing! The place is meticulously maintained with cosy corners everywhere to relax and find a privacy seldom available in the larger chain hotels. We had a traditional Thai lunch in the dining room with excellent views over the river. Food was well prepared and very tasty. As we walked around, we came across so many wonderful nooks. This was only a short visit for us but the friendly staff, the ambience, serenity of the place plus well furnished comfortable rooms and cosy areas within the grounds of the hotel, and an excellent lunch definitely would encourage us to return and enjoy the full facilities. Wow! It really is an amazing break from the hectic pace of Bangkok! By all means enjoy the busy bustling city but take time to relax and enjoy the comforts and welcome of the Siam. We were not staying there on this occasion but definitely would choose to stay there on any visits back to Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the River of Kings, nestled amongst Bangkok’s historical palaces, temples and museums, a lucky few will happen upon our boutique gem, The Siam.Set on 3 acres of premium river frontage, our privately owned and operated 39-room luxury retreat will transport you to a bygone serenity suffused with priceless antiquities, oriental allure and contemporary comforts.Conceived by Krissada Sukosol Clapp and globally acclaimed architect and designer Bill Bensley, The Siam features Bangkok’s most spacious suites and is the kingdom’s premier urban resort offering intimately private pool villas with open-air roof terraces.For an unforgettably unique experience, relish the exclusivity of dining or staying in one of four traditional Thai teakwood houses sourced by silk tycoon, Jim Thompson, and former socialite owner, Connie Mangskau. In these homes, Connie hosted an array of cosmopolitan characters including Jacqueline Kennedy, Henry Ford, John Rockefeller and Roger Moore.An irresistible array of bespoke cultural amusements awaits you at The Siam: explore Bangkok by boat from our private pier; indulge in pampering at our seductive spa; explore the grounds and discover a veritable treasure trove of curios or simply unwind with a sunset cocktail at our riverfront bar.Whatever your desire, we await you with delight… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.