We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on the river in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Save Saved
You added The Siam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfection on the river in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed twice at The Siam the last two weeks of March and it was magical. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by the incredibly kind and attentive staff, you know this is no ordinary hotel. The architecture of the building is striking-- think a modern Asian take on the Musee d'Orsay! It is open, light and filled with the extraordinary Thai and Chinese art and artifacts collection of the hotel owners. Walking through the public spaces of the hotel is a joy, each time focusing on different pieces of wonderful art or appreciating the exquisite interior gardens. Being situated on the river is just delightful-- both to sit and enjoy a cool drink while the boats glide by and to hop on the hotel's boat service and avoid the impossible Bangkok traffic.

The rooms are spacious, well designed, comfortable and beautiful-- designed with a modern sensibility. Bathrooms are large and well laid out.

The food is fabulous. Since this was most in our family's first trip to Bangkok, we ventured out to some of the better rated restaurants and ended up finding the food at The Siam better than any we had outside. And sitting on the beautiful terrace and watching the river life pass by is just enchanting.

But, what truly distinguishes The Siam is the service. And, as everywhere, this begins at the top. The General Manager, Jason Friedman, is superb-- he seems to be everywhere, attending to each guest's needs and making sure that his/her experience is nothing short of perfection. He has trained his staff superbly and it shows! Our butler, Ahn, made our stay seamless and stress-free, carefully unpacking and packing our things , making sightseeing and dining plans and even arranging to fix one of our travel bags that had been broken en route! And, the hotel even offered kick boxing lessons in which our teenage sons participated and loved.

Having experienced the oasis that is The Siam, we would never stay anywhere else! Many thanks to Jason and all of the wonderful staff for a completely delightful and wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Any rooms from which you can see the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
97
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed twice at The Siam in the last 10 days and loved it. The room was large and well laid out and the bathroom expansive with a seperate shower and bath. The service was seriously attentive and pretty seemless. The restaurant on the river offered both al fresco and air conditioned dining and was excellent. Its location can be challenging and we used the river rather than roads and taxis. The biggest difference from our previous stays at the Peninsula and Oriental was scale and the absence of crowds in the lobby areas and bar/restaurants which resulted in a much more private experience. We are going back again next week after travelling in Burma and are already looking forward to it.

Room Tip: 308 had a river view but was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I really wanted to like the Siam after reading a stellar review from a trusted source. Unfortunately, I genuinely disliked my stay and moved to a different hotel.

First, a few things to know about (neither credit nor discredit to the hotel, but important for personal preference):

- Having stayed previously in the Mandarin Oriental / Peninsula area, the Siam is in a totally different neighborhood. In traffic, it was 90+ minutes from the airport to the hotel. (Strangely, the car sent by the hotel had the name Crowne Plaza on its door; apparently they use the same service.) Even the concierge couldn't recommend a restaurant on a Friday night that wasn't more than 60+ minutes away.

- The atrium lobby and corridors to the guest rooms are open-air and not air conditioned. Some may like this; others not. It's a very long outdoor walk from the guest rooms to the restaurant area. In some parts there isn't even overhead covering (what if it rains?).

- A significant investment has been made in a top-notch build-out. I would characterize the decor as somewhat colonial / Golden Age of Travel. There are antiques throughout and decorative objects like old dental chairs, tubas, and black-and-white photographs. Some might really like this; I thought it was a bit over-stuffed.

The main issue I had at the Siam was the over-bearing presence of the staff: friendly but solicitous and borderline obsequious.

A simple breakfast order (at a time when the restaurant only had two other tables seated) was delivered incorrectly two times. Three different staff people became involved (ordering some eggs?), one of whom needed to make a phone call (?) to get things right. By the time the order came, one person had finished before the other could start eating.

The room was spacious and well appointed but generally dark. The wardrobe area (where you need to see to unpack and pack) is in a far corner with one recessed light, such that you can't see what you're doing. There are minimal light fixtures elsewhere in the room.

The air conditioning ran loud all night long and never did cool to the set temperature.

Bottom line - if you don't mind walking through Bangkok weather within the hotel and don't intend to leave the property, the Siam has very nice advantages. If these factors aren't to your liking, however, you might want to consider something else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozzano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, I must say! The room was big enough to accommodate all of us. Receptionists were good, and speak very well in english. The breakfast was excellent, and staff were very kind.. we will recommend this hotel to our friends and families. We would also like to thank all the staff, for the good hospitality and kindness that we've received during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

my partner and I stayed here 6 nights, while travelling through Thailand. About a year ago I had met Jason the General Manager, while he stayed as a guest at our property in Morocco. At the time he was telling about the construction, scale and detail of the premises; what an achievement!

The hotel is beautifully located on the river, the scale is impressive; old buildings mixed with contemporary architecture, the most beautiful antique pieces scattered around the hotel, which shows the love for the Tai history and culture.

The rooms are impressive; the smallest one is already immense with a separate seating area, a dream of a bathroom and the exact selection of amenities. The suite, we stayed the last 4 nights in is heaven, private pool with jet stream, a cool courtyard, private roof terrace to sunbathe, the most luxurious bed and a bathroom you want to move into.

Then about the food: you'll have to taste it all, from the exquisite breakfast menu to the dinner menu. What a beautiful fresh products and you can taste the love it has been created with.

From the chauffeur, to the receptionist (who straight away takes you to the room without any hassle at the desk, brilliant after a long flight!) to the staff in restaurant and housekeeping; all polite, attentive, with a great eye for detail and so, so friendly. Glasses of iced water handed to you without asking, wet, scented hand towels, several times a day, what a delight.

The only problem with staying at The Siam: you don't want to leave so we haven't seen enough of Bangkok but fully relaxed and enjoyed The hotel.

As a frequent traveller a say to you looking for a hotel: go and stay there, as a fellow hotelier I say to all of you at The Siam: Bravo and thank you for a wonderful time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

It might be out of town but what a joy to come back to after the hectic pace of the city. It is absolutely gorgeous! The hotel has totally modern facilities but harks back to the past with wonderful ancient treasures decorating its hallways, corridors and rooms. It has been decorated with meticulous care, for the pleasure of guests. The attention to detail is awesome and the rooms and villas are simply beautiful. The riverside location provides a wonderful setting for poolside drinks and sundowners. The staff are attentive and friendly. We loved our short stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This is, quite simply, the best hotel I've ever stayed in, visited or seen. Everything about it is amazing---stunning rooms that are huge and incredibly appointed, phenomenal service, and common areas that must be seen to be believed. I would fly across the world just to stay in this paradise. Oh, and the spa is world class, too. Bangkok is a little overwhelming, but this is a perfect antidote for that chaos. I will forever remember my stay here!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the River of Kings, nestled amongst Bangkok’s historical palaces, temples and museums, a lucky few will happen upon our boutique gem, The Siam.Set on 3 acres of premium river frontage, our privately owned and operated 39-room luxury retreat will transport you to a bygone serenity suffused with priceless antiquities, oriental allure and contemporary comforts.Conceived by Krissada Sukosol Clapp and globally acclaimed architect and designer Bill Bensley, The Siam features Bangkok’s most spacious suites and is the kingdom’s premier urban resort offering intimately private pool villas with open-air roof terraces.For an unforgettably unique experience, relish the exclusivity of dining or staying in one of four traditional Thai teakwood houses sourced by silk tycoon, Jim Thompson, and former socialite owner, Connie Mangskau. In these homes, Connie hosted an array of cosmopolitan characters including Jacqueline Kennedy, Henry Ford, John Rockefeller and Roger Moore.An irresistible array of bespoke cultural amusements awaits you at The Siam: explore Bangkok by boat from our private pier; indulge in pampering at our seductive spa; explore the grounds and discover a veritable treasure trove of curios or simply unwind with a sunset cocktail at our riverfront bar.Whatever your desire, we await you with delight… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.