We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a beauty, what a service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Siam to your Saves list
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 774 Hotels in Bangkok
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“what a beauty, what a service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

my partner and I stayed here 6 nights, while travelling through Thailand. About a year ago I had met Jason the General Manager, while he stayed as a guest at our property in Morocco. At the time he was telling about the construction, scale and detail of the premises; what an achievement!

The hotel is beautifully located on the river, the scale is impressive; old buildings mixed with contemporary architecture, the most beautiful antique pieces scattered around the hotel, which shows the love for the Tai history and culture.

The rooms are impressive; the smallest one is already immense with a separate seating area, a dream of a bathroom and the exact selection of amenities. The suite, we stayed the last 4 nights in is heaven, private pool with jet stream, a cool courtyard, private roof terrace to sunbathe, the most luxurious bed and a bathroom you want to move into.

Then about the food: you'll have to taste it all, from the exquisite breakfast menu to the dinner menu. What a beautiful fresh products and you can taste the love it has been created with.

From the chauffeur, to the receptionist (who straight away takes you to the room without any hassle at the desk, brilliant after a long flight!) to the staff in restaurant and housekeeping; all polite, attentive, with a great eye for detail and so, so friendly. Glasses of iced water handed to you without asking, wet, scented hand towels, several times a day, what a delight.

The only problem with staying at The Siam: you don't want to leave so we haven't seen enough of Bangkok but fully relaxed and enjoyed The hotel.

As a frequent traveller a say to you looking for a hotel: go and stay there, as a fellow hotelier I say to all of you at The Siam: Bravo and thank you for a wonderful time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    35
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
153
19
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

It might be out of town but what a joy to come back to after the hectic pace of the city. It is absolutely gorgeous! The hotel has totally modern facilities but harks back to the past with wonderful ancient treasures decorating its hallways, corridors and rooms. It has been decorated with meticulous care, for the pleasure of guests. The attention to detail is awesome and the rooms and villas are simply beautiful. The riverside location provides a wonderful setting for poolside drinks and sundowners. The staff are attentive and friendly. We loved our short stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is, quite simply, the best hotel I've ever stayed in, visited or seen. Everything about it is amazing---stunning rooms that are huge and incredibly appointed, phenomenal service, and common areas that must be seen to be believed. I would fly across the world just to stay in this paradise. Oh, and the spa is world class, too. Bangkok is a little overwhelming, but this is a perfect antidote for that chaos. I will forever remember my stay here!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Does it make sense to travel half way around the world to stay at a hotel? If it's the Siam in Bangkok, definitely!
This is an exceptional property, exceptionally well designed and well run. Arriving at 1am, we were greeted by a doorman, fully staffed front office,and the night butler. Even at the late hour, we were wonderfully taken care of.
Our room was superb. Our butler, was both knowledgeable and extremely attentive. And we have nothing but great things to say about the GM, Jason Friedman. He is personable, present and a truly gifted manager.
The design of hotel by Bill Bensley is both modern, "cool," and incorporates traditional Thai Teak houses, very expertly spanning the architectures of the past and present.
It would seem unfair to single out any individual staff member, as the staff as a whole operated flawlessly.
The food at the restaurant Chon is exceptional. Eat only Thai from the menu, and your really don't need to go anywhere else for your meals.
If you are traveling to Bangkok, this is the place!

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from Thailand and staying at the Siam was definitely the highlight. Jim Thompson is my husband's great uncle so when we read about his teak houses being used in the construction of the hotel, well..naturally we had to stay here. And it exceeded our expectations in every way.

The service is phenomenal. It is a combination of the friendly Thai people, a great natural resource, and the direction of the Siam's general manager Jason Friedman. I am not surprised at all that Andrew Harper, the luxury travel writer, named him as "Innkeeper of the Year" this year. The Siam is small enough and the attention so personalized that we felt like we were leaving friends when we checked out.

So, the food. We ordered almost exclusively from the Thai menu and it was so good, we ate there three nights in a row. We have never done that before, but with the food, atmosphere and service so great, we couldn't think of a reason to go anywhere else.

Our room, 101, is just lovely with a private plunge pool and rooftop terrace overlooking the river. The bathroom knocked our socks off. Congratulations to the designers. It is one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. After long, hot days battling Bangkok traffic and seeing the sites, the Siam is an oasis of calm and elegance. That's another reason we didn't want to leave for dinner!

From a personal standpoint, it was a very emotional experience sitting in the teak dining rooms and knowing that Uncle Jim had been there. I believe he would be very grateful that the houses have been preserved at the Siam. We'll be back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had thought from most of the photos I had seen and descriptions that the Siam would be totally over the top. I was quite surprised to see it isn't as over done as it looks. They are a few odd things like ropes around pieces of sculpture which ar abit ugly and a bit silly. If the thing is so precious why put it there in the first place.
The area by the pool is tiny and you have to go up stairs to get to the pool from a sunbed.
But all that aside service is pretty good for a new hotel. Lets hope thay cna keep it up.Food doesn't live up to the standard of the hotel though

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked dinner at Chon restaurant. We'd been to Jim Thompson's day earlier in the day and marvelled at the architecture and Thai antiquities. The Siam hotel is like eating at JT's house, it's just stunning. The service and food is top notch, it's pricey for sure but put into context of the environment wholly justifiable. A memorable experience :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 774 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the River of Kings, nestled amongst Bangkok’s historical palaces, temples and museums, a lucky few will happen upon our boutique gem, The Siam.Set on 3 acres of premium river frontage, our privately owned and operated 39-room luxury retreat will transport you to a bygone serenity suffused with priceless antiquities, oriental allure and contemporary comforts.Conceived by Krissada Sukosol Clapp and globally acclaimed architect and designer Bill Bensley, The Siam features Bangkok’s most spacious suites and is the kingdom’s premier urban resort offering intimately private pool villas with open-air roof terraces.For an unforgettably unique experience, relish the exclusivity of dining or staying in one of four traditional Thai teakwood houses sourced by silk tycoon, Jim Thompson, and former socialite owner, Connie Mangskau. In these homes, Connie hosted an array of cosmopolitan characters including Jacqueline Kennedy, Henry Ford, John Rockefeller and Roger Moore.An irresistible array of bespoke cultural amusements awaits you at The Siam: explore Bangkok by boat from our private pier; indulge in pampering at our seductive spa; explore the grounds and discover a veritable treasure trove of curios or simply unwind with a sunset cocktail at our riverfront bar.Whatever your desire, we await you with delight… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.