We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chon restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Save Saved
You added The Siam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Cool in Bangkok
Ranked #5 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Chon restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wow, this exclusive retreat at the border of the river is just magical. Decoration is super luxury without the extravagance that I hate, the food is just amayzing, soft skin crab And mango salad is to die, a culinary one way to heaven, And thé grilled Chicken is wow, juicy inside And crunchy skin... Wine is à bit expensive.. 50€ first price for à bottle.. But go there its just unforgetable..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
89
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amagansett, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights in December and our room was drop dead gorgeous. Every amenity you could want was already there. Best part of the hotel was their collection of art and antiquieties.

We had our lunches there which were excellent.....and spent time sitting by the pool watching the river traffic go by. They eve have their own river boat to transport you up and down the river.

Not the most convenient location, but the hotel makes up for this.

Room Tip: They are located in a residential neighborhood on one side, with the river on the other so noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is by far the most beautiful Hotel I have seen in a very long time. My compliments and deepest thank you to the Designer and especially to the owners who share their precious collections with their guests. We loved every second we were able to stay there, the most beautiful rooms, the kind stuff and especially very much the food. Yes, it is a little bit away from the center but the trip with the hotel owned long tail boat is much fun (order champagne for the ride). No other place offers such a high standard, we did not want to leave and I had tears in my eyes when I had to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is exquisite . The first impression is stunning , elegant , amazing antiquities , the design and layout is beautiful. The staff are excellent . The River View Pool Villa is luxurious. The spa is divine. But bring your wallet as It is expensive but worth every cent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed three days at beginning of December w/ bride. This was the nicest urban hotel we've ever stayed in. We got upgraded to the Riverview Pool Suite, drop dead elegant accommodations right on the river. We used their private watercraft to explore the riverfront-florist-bride to visit the remarkable Flower Market, me to find an antique Buddha for daughter at a bewildering antique mall.

GM Jason F, a colorful character and gracious host, sent us to Gaggan, an exceptional fusion Indian restaurant in center. We found an amazing tailor in Dusit, close to hotel and had Armani quality suits made in 24 hrs. We had several superb meals in the Siam's restaurant and an enchanting couples visit to the Siam's spa-all in three days.

We visited a three block long food market, marveled at all the food items we'd never even heard of before and bought ingredients for an amazing lunch we cooked ourselves in their cooking school by the river. We got a really clear idea of how Thai food, which we love, comes together.

OH, and we celebrated the King's Birthday with the hotel staff on their dock. We met the owner, Kriss Sukasol, and heaped praise on his and his family's accomplishment with this place. The Siam was private, attentive to our every needs and full of the kindest, most thoughtful staff. We are coming back!

Room Tip: We toured hotel and looked at other rooms. There are no undesirable rooms. Would gladly stay in le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a fairly new boutique hotel by the Chao Praya river in Bangkok. The hotel boasts a large facility with a very chic design all over. While I didn't stay here, I did visit with a group of friends for dinner. The Thai restaurant is located inside a reconstructed Jim Thompson House (originally in Chiang Mai, was transported down to Bangkok). A very nice setting, traditional Thai, overlooking the river.

Food was surprisingly good, one of the best I have had in Bangkok. Tasty and light, giving the chance for us to try several dishes.

Bangkok has many excellent places to eat. The Siam offers an experience different to what you'd normally find in Bangkok. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at The Siam for 4 nights and i wish it could have been 400! this boutique hotel has a special and unique feel that is unparalleled. It's has a stunning design with amazing antiques in every nook and cranny with beautiful objects from all over Asia so much to look at. The service was the best I have ever had and I have stayed at many hotels all over the world - this one takes first place. The food was amazing, the spa serene and the hotel is run and managed perfectly. Go to this hotel - you will not be disappointed you will fall in love with it for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the River of Kings, nestled amongst Bangkok’s historical palaces, temples and museums, a lucky few will happen upon our boutique gem, The Siam.Set on 3 acres of premium river frontage, our privately owned and operated 39-room luxury retreat will transport you to a bygone serenity suffused with priceless antiquities, oriental allure and contemporary comforts.Conceived by Krissada Sukosol Clapp and globally acclaimed architect and designer Bill Bensley, The Siam features Bangkok’s most spacious suites and is the kingdom’s premier urban resort offering intimately private pool villas with open-air roof terraces.For an unforgettably unique experience, relish the exclusivity of dining or staying in one of four traditional Thai teakwood houses sourced by silk tycoon, Jim Thompson, and former socialite owner, Connie Mangskau. In these homes, Connie hosted an array of cosmopolitan characters including Jacqueline Kennedy, Henry Ford, John Rockefeller and Roger Moore.An irresistible array of bespoke cultural amusements awaits you at The Siam: explore Bangkok by boat from our private pier; indulge in pampering at our seductive spa; explore the grounds and discover a veritable treasure trove of curios or simply unwind with a sunset cocktail at our riverfront bar.Whatever your desire, we await you with delight… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.