We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chon restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Siam to your Saves list
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand (Dusit)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 806 Hotels in Bangkok
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Chon restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wow, this exclusive retreat at the border of the river is just magical. Decoration is super luxury without the extravagance that I hate, the food is just amayzing, soft skin crab And mango salad is to die, a culinary one way to heaven, And thé grilled Chicken is wow, juicy inside And crunchy skin... Wine is à bit expensive.. 50€ first price for à bottle.. But go there its just unforgetable..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nekeltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amagansett, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights in December and our room was drop dead gorgeous. Every amenity you could want was already there. Best part of the hotel was their collection of art and antiquieties.

We had our lunches there which were excellent.....and spent time sitting by the pool watching the river traffic go by. They eve have their own river boat to transport you up and down the river.

Not the most convenient location, but the hotel makes up for this.

Room Tip: They are located in a residential neighborhood on one side, with the river on the other so noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwickrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is by far the most beautiful Hotel I have seen in a very long time. My compliments and deepest thank you to the Designer and especially to the owners who share their precious collections with their guests. We loved every second we were able to stay there, the most beautiful rooms, the kind stuff and especially very much the food. Yes, it is a little bit away from the center but the trip with the hotel owned long tail boat is much fun (order champagne for the ride). No other place offers such a high standard, we did not want to leave and I had tears in my eyes when I had to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baschehusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is exquisite . The first impression is stunning , elegant , amazing antiquities , the design and layout is beautiful. The staff are excellent . The River View Pool Villa is luxurious. The spa is divine. But bring your wallet as It is expensive but worth every cent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yarrawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed three days at beginning of December w/ bride. This was the nicest urban hotel we've ever stayed in. We got upgraded to the Riverview Pool Suite, drop dead elegant accommodations right on the river. We used their private watercraft to explore the riverfront-florist-bride to visit the remarkable Flower Market, me to find an antique Buddha for daughter at a bewildering antique mall.

GM Jason F, a colorful character and gracious host, sent us to Gaggan, an exceptional fusion Indian restaurant in center. We found an amazing tailor in Dusit, close to hotel and had Armani quality suits made in 24 hrs. We had several superb meals in the Siam's restaurant and an enchanting couples visit to the Siam's spa-all in three days.

We visited a three block long food market, marveled at all the food items we'd never even heard of before and bought ingredients for an amazing lunch we cooked ourselves in their cooking school by the river. We got a really clear idea of how Thai food, which we love, comes together.

OH, and we celebrated the King's Birthday with the hotel staff on their dock. We met the owner, Kriss Sukasol, and heaped praise on his and his family's accomplishment with this place. The Siam was private, attentive to our every needs and full of the kindest, most thoughtful staff. We are coming back!

Room Tip: We toured hotel and looked at other rooms. There are no undesirable rooms. Would gladly stay in le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a fairly new boutique hotel by the Chao Praya river in Bangkok. The hotel boasts a large facility with a very chic design all over. While I didn't stay here, I did visit with a group of friends for dinner. The Thai restaurant is located inside a reconstructed Jim Thompson House (originally in Chiang Mai, was transported down to Bangkok). A very nice setting, traditional Thai, overlooking the river.

Food was surprisingly good, one of the best I have had in Bangkok. Tasty and light, giving the chance for us to try several dishes.

Bangkok has many excellent places to eat. The Siam offers an experience different to what you'd normally find in Bangkok. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at The Siam for 4 nights and i wish it could have been 400! this boutique hotel has a special and unique feel that is unparalleled. It's has a stunning design with amazing antiques in every nook and cranny with beautiful objects from all over Asia so much to look at. The service was the best I have ever had and I have stayed at many hotels all over the world - this one takes first place. The food was amazing, the spa serene and the hotel is run and managed perfectly. Go to this hotel - you will not be disappointed you will fall in love with it for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 806 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#6 of 806 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,222 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 806 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 3 acres of verdant frontage along the city side of the Chao Praya River, The Siam is a private urban luxury resort located in Bangkok's Royal Dusit district. The Siam features 39 of the capital's most spacious suites and pool villas as well as a uniquely historical Thai House, Connie's Cottage. All rooms are outfitted with plush furnishings, super-sized king beds and lofty ceilings. Each suite is individually designed with original turn of the century oriental artwork and antiquities and is catered for by a personal butler. Complimentary WiFi is available property-wide. Guests have an array of superlative amenities at their fingertips: restaurants, cooking school, bar, café, Opium Spa, gym, yoga terrace, Muay Thai boxing ring, beauty salon, library/cinema, infinity pool, gift/antiques gallery, conservatory and traditional Thai houses. The Siam is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing