We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous New Luxury Hotel in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Save Saved
You added The Siam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Cool in Bangkok
Ranked #6 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Alameda, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous New Luxury Hotel in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I just came from a 2-night stay in a Pool Villa at the brand-spanking new boutique hotel in Dusit, Bangkok - The Siam. Absolutely fabulous. Greeted on arrival by the GM, Jason Friedman, and his staff. The architecture is stunning, combining ultra-modern design elements with traditional wooden Thai buildings brought from Ayutthaya by the famous expat Jim Thompson. The hotel is liberally decorated with amazing antiques from the owner's private collection. The restaurant, Chon, resides in the old Thai buildings portion of the complex, while the rooms are in the modern style. My pool villa was secluded, and reached through a pair of old wooden Thai doors that opened onto a private courtyard. A small plunge pool with fountains and jets was most welcome on the searing Bangkok days. A spiral staircase led up to an arbored roof-level deck with lounge chairs that provided a glimpse of the Chao Phraya river, although admittedly not a particularly interesting portion of this water highway. From the lower courtyard, a pair of heavy wood sliding doors gave access to the interior of the villa. Stunning 20-ft ceilings throughout, and beautiful antiques mixed with more modern furnishings. The raised bed was superbly comfy. An intermediate dressing room led into the cavernous bath, with separate rooms for the toilet and shower and 10-ft hanging mirrors over the twin copper sinks. Old Thai photographs graced the walls. Each villa has a personal butler, well-trained by the experienced Head Butler North, whom I had overlapped with during a previous stay at Six Senses Sanctuary a few years ago; it was nice to catch up on news of old friends. Anything one wished was a simple phone call away - I decided to take a trip to see the Grand Palace, down the river a ways; my butler Khun Wit arranged for the hotel boat to drop me off and pick me up from Tha Chang pier, adjacent to the palace. Couldn't be easier. I needed some massage work done on my shoulder (from carrying my 20+ pound camera backpack) - a Thai massage with herbal compress done excellently at the downstairs Opium Spa. The food was uniformly excellent, although I stuck to the Thai menu. One morning was spent at Head Chef Blair Mathieson's Thai cooking class - a morning trip to a local market by tuk-tuk with him, where he explained the various things to be found there and the foods they get used in, and then on to a one-on-one class with the hotel's Thai chef, Oil. I was taught to make three Thai dishes, then we enjoyed the fruits of our labors by sitting down for lunch. An experience not to be missed. Every member of the staff was helpful and friendly.

An absolutely wonderful experience - not a single quibble, let alone problem. Deserves at least 6 stars!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
89
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great hotel. Fantastic service. What a fabulous design hotel. A little far from the main sites with very little to do but a great little getaway from the hassle of Bangkok. Restaurant Chon is wonderful. Beautifully prepared thai dishes and interesting cocktails. A definite visit

Room Tip: Hotel may do better by providing free shuttle to Bangkok central. A little far from everything. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in a riverview room in Sept 2012. It is a lovely new hotel that strives to provide a high level of service and excellent food in a beautiful and unique setting. This is not your standard hotel. The main building is reminiscent of a1940's Colonial style black and white home. At the back of the main building are a series of villa type rooms. Our room enjoyed a second floor balcony with a view up and down the river- delightful at night- when Bangkok always looks a bit prettier! We enjoyed drinks on the dock in the evening and a terrific lunch in the Thai style house on the property. Love the kitschy 1940's style decor and the music- Chattanooga Choo Choo was playing while we ate lunch- so cute! Food and drinks were tasty- service unobtrusive yet attentive. The only downside to our experience was the time it took to wade through Bangkok's notorious traffic to get to the central area. Had the river been open (closed because the royal family was cruising the river) the night we were there, I am told we could have taken a boat and avoided the traffic altogether. Regardless, we would happily go back to this little gem in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have just spent 2 nights at the Siam and Rae it one of the best hotels I've visited. Service was flawless and very friendly. Rooms are large and really well appointed. We used the hotel limo both evenings. Used the pool, spa/massage and ate in for breakfast. The hotel arranged for a long tail boat to take us on a river cruise and had beers on ice in the boat and gin and tonics waiting at the dock when we arrived back. Will return and use this as my base whenever in BKK

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On our 3rd visit to bkk, we found this hotel through he slh.com website! After our flight from Amsterdam we're picked up by the hotel driver from the airport, which secures you with a hassle free arrival to the hotel.

Being very warmly welcomed by the front office staff, and than the butler with the inroom check in is very comfortable. The hotel is just gorgious; the decorum modern luxury with decorations of a rich historical past...

When it comes to the looks this hotel certainly has the wow factor we look for while traveling!

The old traditional thai houses in the riverfront with the restaurant is fabulous, quality of the food, the kitchen staff & waiters...

Writing this on a sunbed at the riverside next to the pool of the hotel, I could ask myself...Need anything else???

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Rarely do I give such high scores to a property. The hotel is first rate, overseen by our 2 butlers, Vit and North, and the restaurant was fabulous thanks to Nat. I loved the location of our room 101, the F&B options, the private taxis on the water, the Spa options (except: no reflexology!) and more. I think that the hotel being up and out of the way far makes up for the extra time it takes to persuade a taxi driver to make the journey. Contact me for any specifics.

Room Tip: Room 101 is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Forget The Oriental! If you want Bangkok's finest, this is the place. Brand new, and a true luxury experience in the heart of Bangkok's administrative capital. It's as much a museum as a boutique hotel, as the owner extensively collects bric a brac from both Parisian and Bangkokian flea markets, and everything in mint condition. Add to that, paleolitic urns from Ban Chiang, a massive Han dynasty coach and horses (about 1 metre square!) gracing the lobby, Ming dynasty figurines, ancient Buddhas in antique French vitrines, and you get the picture: An ecclectic masterpiece. "Standard" (ultra deluxe) rooms are fine enough and at 72 sq m v spacious, but I suspect river view rooms are even more delightful! Only 39 rooms in all, so anything here is intimate, and 4 staff per room ratio. There's a hammam, plus day spa, Thai kick boxer practice in gym, something for everyone. (We took in the cooking class.) More a destination, than a mere roof over the head. Plan to stay in and enjoy the gallery in all its nooks and crannies, and treat it as a resort.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has gabled ceilings, while third floor ceilings lower but intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the River of Kings, nestled amongst Bangkok’s historical palaces, temples and museums, a lucky few will happen upon our boutique gem, The Siam.Set on 3 acres of premium river frontage, our privately owned and operated 39-room luxury retreat will transport you to a bygone serenity suffused with priceless antiquities, oriental allure and contemporary comforts.Conceived by Krissada Sukosol Clapp and globally acclaimed architect and designer Bill Bensley, The Siam features Bangkok’s most spacious suites and is the kingdom’s premier urban resort offering intimately private pool villas with open-air roof terraces.For an unforgettably unique experience, relish the exclusivity of dining or staying in one of four traditional Thai teakwood houses sourced by silk tycoon, Jim Thompson, and former socialite owner, Connie Mangskau. In these homes, Connie hosted an array of cosmopolitan characters including Jacqueline Kennedy, Henry Ford, John Rockefeller and Roger Moore.An irresistible array of bespoke cultural amusements awaits you at The Siam: explore Bangkok by boat from our private pier; indulge in pampering at our seductive spa; explore the grounds and discover a veritable treasure trove of curios or simply unwind with a sunset cocktail at our riverfront bar.Whatever your desire, we await you with delight… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.