We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, service, food - compete package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Siam to your Saves list
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, service, food - compete package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have just spent 2 nights at the Siam and Rae it one of the best hotels I've visited. Service was flawless and very friendly. Rooms are large and really well appointed. We used the hotel limo both evenings. Used the pool, spa/massage and ate in for breakfast. The hotel arranged for a long tail boat to take us on a river cruise and had beers on ice in the boat and gin and tonics waiting at the dock when we arrived back. Will return and use this as my base whenever in BKK

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    35
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
157
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On our 3rd visit to bkk, we found this hotel through he slh.com website! After our flight from Amsterdam we're picked up by the hotel driver from the airport, which secures you with a hassle free arrival to the hotel.

Being very warmly welcomed by the front office staff, and than the butler with the inroom check in is very comfortable. The hotel is just gorgious; the decorum modern luxury with decorations of a rich historical past...

When it comes to the looks this hotel certainly has the wow factor we look for while traveling!

The old traditional thai houses in the riverfront with the restaurant is fabulous, quality of the food, the kitchen staff & waiters...

Writing this on a sunbed at the riverside next to the pool of the hotel, I could ask myself...Need anything else???

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Rarely do I give such high scores to a property. The hotel is first rate, overseen by our 2 butlers, Vit and North, and the restaurant was fabulous thanks to Nat. I loved the location of our room 101, the F&B options, the private taxis on the water, the Spa options (except: no reflexology!) and more. I think that the hotel being up and out of the way far makes up for the extra time it takes to persuade a taxi driver to make the journey. Contact me for any specifics.

Room Tip: Room 101 is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Forget The Oriental! If you want Bangkok's finest, this is the place. Brand new, and a true luxury experience in the heart of Bangkok's administrative capital. It's as much a museum as a boutique hotel, as the owner extensively collects bric a brac from both Parisian and Bangkokian flea markets, and everything in mint condition. Add to that, paleolitic urns from Ban Chiang, a massive Han dynasty coach and horses (about 1 metre square!) gracing the lobby, Ming dynasty figurines, ancient Buddhas in antique French vitrines, and you get the picture: An ecclectic masterpiece. "Standard" (ultra deluxe) rooms are fine enough and at 72 sq m v spacious, but I suspect river view rooms are even more delightful! Only 39 rooms in all, so anything here is intimate, and 4 staff per room ratio. There's a hammam, plus day spa, Thai kick boxer practice in gym, something for everyone. (We took in the cooking class.) More a destination, than a mere roof over the head. Plan to stay in and enjoy the gallery in all its nooks and crannies, and treat it as a resort.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has gabled ceilings, while third floor ceilings lower but intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

In an otherwise frenetic city, one of the newest luxury hotels in Bangkok, The Siam, on the riverside is a calming oasis. From the minute you arrive at the elegant front door you are transported into another era of charm and graciousness, the staff are both elegant and informed, we arrived late in the evening, nothing was too much trouble, we were settled into our beautiful pool villa effortlessly by our butler. The bed was sumptuous, the most comfortable bed we have slept in for a long time. Breakfasts arrived on time and were delicious, all beautifully served, the in-villa dining was so good, we actually only went once to the Deco restaurant. Like the rest of the hotel interior, the design and decor are both fascinating and interesting, modern colonial chic, with so many interesting pieces to look at, it is like being in someone's elegant home with their favourite pieces oom display. The villa included a spiral staircase to the riverview deck, we viewed some lovely sunsets across the river, the river offers a gentle reminder that this city never sleeps, but very relaxing to enjoy drinks and chill out. A lot of thought and insight has gone into this hotel, the style is gorgeous, the staff make you feel very comfortable, leaving was a wrench to the senses, facing up to the world again, but we definitely left feeling refreshed and eagerly look forward to staying again and exploring more of this very unique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Bragging rights to all of us who forever more get to call ourselves among the first guests of Bangkok's new and completely out-of-this-world hotel. Just 39 high ceilinged guest rooms and ten drop dead Deco inspired villas smack on BKK's Chao Praya River a few miles north of the royal palace, this is THE place to stay whether its your first trip to the Thai capital or fifty-first. Staff trained at swanky Thai addresses like the Chedi Chiang Mai and Four Seasons Tented Camp, so service was seamless from the first days. The food is sublime and incredibly authentic, even the bagel tasted more Brooklyn than Bangkok while the Thai food had to pass muster with the Thai high society owners, so I am told. Save room in your schedule to mingle among the other guests over sunsets on the boat landing lounge. We met such interesting sorts on our first visit in July, and can't wait to see who checks in next time that we do. What was not ready will make it worth another visit, from the cake shop to the Thai boxing excursions. BIG kudos to the absolutely adorable GM Jason Friedman and his perfect staff especially Nawee who kindly gave me a bit of a behind the scenes tour so I could peek at the new cinema, future mani-pedi room, old fashioned barber shop and conference room currently being used to store countless antique treasures. Oh and the spa is not to miss, well priced for talented insightful therapists and all natural Sodashi products. I was skeptical anyone even someone with Friedman's impressive resume (Four Seasons, Aman, Raffles) could up the ante in Bangkok's super indulgent hotel market but The Siam more than proved me wrong, and I loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: History buffs should consider Connie's Cottage, brought from the ancient capital but silk king J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Siam is an outstanding hotel that has only been open for 3 months. The building is achitectually superb and houses a range of beautiful Thai artifacts and antiques.
The service is of the highest standard and the food exquisite.
Every encounter with staff was highly professional in every way and our every need was met with enthusiasm and pride.
The hotel comprises a succession of buildings leading down to the river, where the hotel has its own private jetty and boat to transport guests into the city, 20 minutes away.
The spa is magnificent, offering a wide range of services in a beautiful environment.
We participated in the cooking school offered by the hotel. The class started with us being escorted to the local market by the hotel's Executive Chef where we toured the wide range of stalls offering fruit, vegetables, fish and meat in great varieties and in authentic Thai style.
Returning to the hotel, we spent 2 hours cooking 3 different meals and enjoying the 'fruits of our labour', (remember, if you do a morning cooking class, be sure to have only a light breakfast as there is so much to sample). The class is held in a beautifully equipped classroom beside the outside dining area overlooking the gardens and river.
The rooms are exquisitely designed and appointed and we could not recommend this hotel hightly enough. A truly beautiful experience from beginning to end!

Room Tip: We had a villa by the pool, looking out on to the river. We had our own private pool, terrace retrea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the River of Kings, nestled amongst Bangkok’s historical palaces, temples and museums, a lucky few will happen upon our boutique gem, The Siam.Set on 3 acres of premium river frontage, our privately owned and operated 39-room luxury retreat will transport you to a bygone serenity suffused with priceless antiquities, oriental allure and contemporary comforts.Conceived by Krissada Sukosol Clapp and globally acclaimed architect and designer Bill Bensley, The Siam features Bangkok’s most spacious suites and is the kingdom’s premier urban resort offering intimately private pool villas with open-air roof terraces.For an unforgettably unique experience, relish the exclusivity of dining or staying in one of four traditional Thai teakwood houses sourced by silk tycoon, Jim Thompson, and former socialite owner, Connie Mangskau. In these homes, Connie hosted an array of cosmopolitan characters including Jacqueline Kennedy, Henry Ford, John Rockefeller and Roger Moore.An irresistible array of bespoke cultural amusements awaits you at The Siam: explore Bangkok by boat from our private pier; indulge in pampering at our seductive spa; explore the grounds and discover a veritable treasure trove of curios or simply unwind with a sunset cocktail at our riverfront bar.Whatever your desire, we await you with delight… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.