We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Save Saved
You added The Siam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Siam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Paradise in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Rarely do I give such high scores to a property. The hotel is first rate, overseen by our 2 butlers, Vit and North, and the restaurant was fabulous thanks to Nat. I loved the location of our room 101, the F&B options, the private taxis on the water, the Spa options (except: no reflexology!) and more. I think that the hotel being up and out of the way far makes up for the extra time it takes to persuade a taxi driver to make the journey. Contact me for any specifics.

Room Tip: Room 101 is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
76
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Forget The Oriental! If you want Bangkok's finest, this is the place. Brand new, and a true luxury experience in the heart of Bangkok's administrative capital. It's as much a museum as a boutique hotel, as the owner extensively collects bric a brac from both Parisian and Bangkokian flea markets, and everything in mint condition. Add to that, paleolitic urns from Ban Chiang, a massive Han dynasty coach and horses (about 1 metre square!) gracing the lobby, Ming dynasty figurines, ancient Buddhas in antique French vitrines, and you get the picture: An ecclectic masterpiece. "Standard" (ultra deluxe) rooms are fine enough and at 72 sq m v spacious, but I suspect river view rooms are even more delightful! Only 39 rooms in all, so anything here is intimate, and 4 staff per room ratio. There's a hammam, plus day spa, Thai kick boxer practice in gym, something for everyone. (We took in the cooking class.) More a destination, than a mere roof over the head. Plan to stay in and enjoy the gallery in all its nooks and crannies, and treat it as a resort.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has gabled ceilings, while third floor ceilings lower but intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

In an otherwise frenetic city, one of the newest luxury hotels in Bangkok, The Siam, on the riverside is a calming oasis. From the minute you arrive at the elegant front door you are transported into another era of charm and graciousness, the staff are both elegant and informed, we arrived late in the evening, nothing was too much trouble, we were settled into our beautiful pool villa effortlessly by our butler. The bed was sumptuous, the most comfortable bed we have slept in for a long time. Breakfasts arrived on time and were delicious, all beautifully served, the in-villa dining was so good, we actually only went once to the Deco restaurant. Like the rest of the hotel interior, the design and decor are both fascinating and interesting, modern colonial chic, with so many interesting pieces to look at, it is like being in someone's elegant home with their favourite pieces oom display. The villa included a spiral staircase to the riverview deck, we viewed some lovely sunsets across the river, the river offers a gentle reminder that this city never sleeps, but very relaxing to enjoy drinks and chill out. A lot of thought and insight has gone into this hotel, the style is gorgeous, the staff make you feel very comfortable, leaving was a wrench to the senses, facing up to the world again, but we definitely left feeling refreshed and eagerly look forward to staying again and exploring more of this very unique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a very special hotel. We stayed in a courtyard pool villa which was absolutely beautiful. We dined in the Thai restaurant and the food was excellent. The design features of the public areas and the suite we stayed in were spectacular we particularly loved our bathroom with the high ceiling.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Bragging rights to all of us who forever more get to call ourselves among the first guests of Bangkok's new and completely out-of-this-world hotel. Just 39 high ceilinged guest rooms and ten drop dead Deco inspired villas smack on BKK's Chao Praya River a few miles north of the royal palace, this is THE place to stay whether its your first trip to the Thai capital or fifty-first. Staff trained at swanky Thai addresses like the Chedi Chiang Mai and Four Seasons Tented Camp, so service was seamless from the first days. The food is sublime and incredibly authentic, even the bagel tasted more Brooklyn than Bangkok while the Thai food had to pass muster with the Thai high society owners, so I am told. Save room in your schedule to mingle among the other guests over sunsets on the boat landing lounge. We met such interesting sorts on our first visit in July, and can't wait to see who checks in next time that we do. What was not ready will make it worth another visit, from the cake shop to the Thai boxing excursions. BIG kudos to the absolutely adorable GM Jason Friedman and his perfect staff especially Nawee who kindly gave me a bit of a behind the scenes tour so I could peek at the new cinema, future mani-pedi room, old fashioned barber shop and conference room currently being used to store countless antique treasures. Oh and the spa is not to miss, well priced for talented insightful therapists and all natural Sodashi products. I was skeptical anyone even someone with Friedman's impressive resume (Four Seasons, Aman, Raffles) could up the ante in Bangkok's super indulgent hotel market but The Siam more than proved me wrong, and I loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: History buffs should consider Connie's Cottage, brought from the ancient capital but silk king J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Siam is an outstanding hotel that has only been open for 3 months. The building is achitectually superb and houses a range of beautiful Thai artifacts and antiques.
The service is of the highest standard and the food exquisite.
Every encounter with staff was highly professional in every way and our every need was met with enthusiasm and pride.
The hotel comprises a succession of buildings leading down to the river, where the hotel has its own private jetty and boat to transport guests into the city, 20 minutes away.
The spa is magnificent, offering a wide range of services in a beautiful environment.
We participated in the cooking school offered by the hotel. The class started with us being escorted to the local market by the hotel's Executive Chef where we toured the wide range of stalls offering fruit, vegetables, fish and meat in great varieties and in authentic Thai style.
Returning to the hotel, we spent 2 hours cooking 3 different meals and enjoying the 'fruits of our labour', (remember, if you do a morning cooking class, be sure to have only a light breakfast as there is so much to sample). The class is held in a beautifully equipped classroom beside the outside dining area overlooking the gardens and river.
The rooms are exquisitely designed and appointed and we could not recommend this hotel hightly enough. A truly beautiful experience from beginning to end!

Room Tip: We had a villa by the pool, looking out on to the river. We had our own private pool, terrace retrea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed at the Siam for five nights. In fact, we were the Siam's very first guests (at least the first guests not in the travel industry), a fact very nicely acknowledged by Jason Friedman, the General Manager with a hand-written note of congratulations.

One of the things that became apparent early on is that the Siam has lofty aspirations - to become the best in a city literally bursting with five star properties. Such becomes apparent in so many ways large and small. Perhaps the most compelling evidence thereof is demonstrated by ownership's investment in the Hotel's human resources - the GM has opened two Four Seasons properties, the Director of Sales and Marketing has experience at three different Aman resorts, and our butler had served at Trisara on Phuket. Each of these gentlemen were intimately involved in delivering superb service at every turn.

On our first night, before we had learned the ropes of the Bangkok Transit System, the Director of Sales and Marketing accompanied my family on the Hotel's launch to the nearest BTS station, made sure we knew how to purchase tickets, rode with us on the train, and then by cab to the restaurant where we had dinner. Earlier that same day, the exceptionally helpful concierge, Khun Teera, arranged for a staff member to run to the store to add talk time to my phone. Most extraordinarily, I didn't have to ask (which is likely a good thing, since I would have been reluctant to do so).

Our butler, North, was similarly exceptional. Each morning, he would review the activities that had been previously arranged for the day and, regardless of the hour, he would be patiently awaiting our return to make sure everything had gone as planned. It always did. I would particularly like to mention that North, in addition to his professionalism, did his work with much grace, warmth, and kindness. We would only hope that, one day soon, we could be so fortunate as to be in his capable hands once again.

Our room, a Riverview Pool Suite, was everything one could hope for. I don't need to describe how it looks, that is easily discovered from the Hotel's website (whose pictures are perfectly accurate representations of what you will see upon arrival). What I could add is the obvious quality of the hard product . . . from the woods used, the fittings and fixtures, the bed clothes, it is apparent that no expense has been spared.

We had two opportunities to eat at the restaurant, Chon. The restaurant has both Thai and Western (Italian, largely) menus. As a lover of all things Italian, I decided to order the gnocchi. Gnocchi is (I have been told) notoriously difficult to do well. In my estimation, they were as good as any I've had . . . little light pillows of sublime goodness!

As wonderful as all this sounds, I do think it is important to realize that, for some, the Hotel's location will be a negative. It is a bit of a long trek (30 minutes) to the nearest BTS station. So, if you've never travelled to Bangkok and want to spend your days (for example) on the BTS traveling from shopping district to shopping district, you'll spend a lot of time in transit. If, on the other hand, you would prefer to allocate your time a bit differently . . . some shopping and sightseeing to be sure . . . but with a focus on getting away to a stunningly beautiful resort hotel in the midst of all the craziness of Bangkok, then the Siam is most assuredly your best bet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the River of Kings, nestled amongst Bangkok’s historical palaces, temples and museums, a lucky few will happen upon our boutique gem, The Siam.Set on 3 acres of premium river frontage, our privately owned and operated 39-room luxury retreat will transport you to a bygone serenity suffused with priceless antiquities, oriental allure and contemporary comforts.Conceived by Krissada Sukosol Clapp and globally acclaimed architect and designer Bill Bensley, The Siam features Bangkok’s most spacious suites and is the kingdom’s premier urban resort offering intimately private pool villas with open-air roof terraces.For an unforgettably unique experience, relish the exclusivity of dining or staying in one of four traditional Thai teakwood houses sourced by silk tycoon, Jim Thompson, and former socialite owner, Connie Mangskau. In these homes, Connie hosted an array of cosmopolitan characters including Jacqueline Kennedy, Henry Ford, John Rockefeller and Roger Moore.An irresistible array of bespoke cultural amusements awaits you at The Siam: explore Bangkok by boat from our private pier; indulge in pampering at our seductive spa; explore the grounds and discover a veritable treasure trove of curios or simply unwind with a sunset cocktail at our riverfront bar.Whatever your desire, we await you with delight… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.