We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies and shoppers haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Plaza Grand Rama 9

Central Plaza Grand Rama 9
Rama 9 Rd, Bangkok 10310, Thailand
0635-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 261 Shopping in Bangkok
Type: Malls, Shopping
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
2,834 helpful votes 2,834 helpful votes
“Foodies and shoppers haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A great place to shop and dine. Lots of cute cafés and small stalls for drinks. There is a scrapbooking store here called Mind Memory. Super nice owner! Great selections of scrapbooking supplies too. There is a Muslim prayer room so please ask for directions from concierge. 6th and 7th floor are food galore!! Go and explore!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to shop, eat, and excellent cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming here ever since it opened one year ago November/December 2011. Easy access from MRT, as its right at the station Phrama 9. Have just found out its the largest in Bangkok. Makes Siam Paragon look very outdated.

Toilet facilities are very good, and plenty of them too!!!!!

On lower ground floor is Tops supermarket, as well as numerous places to eat. Cinema located top floor, where there also very many places to eat. Coffee shops ect and Ice cream parlours are located all over the place.

Numerous banks are on the 5th floor, all have currency exchange facilities.

My Thai wife brings me here to help me spend my money!!!!!! I come for the cinema....ps for those who have never been to Bangkok all English speaking films are in English with Thai sub titles, and some Thai films have English sub titles, some are well worth watching.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Biggest Mall in a City of Malls, with Good Restaurants, and Atrocious Toilets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Saying that Central Plaza Grand Rama 9 is the largest mall in Bangkok is saying something.

There are so many malls in this town. The big ones are CentralWorld and Siam Paragon. They are eclipsed in size by Central Plaza Grand Rama 9.

This mall has innumerable shopping options, and there are plenty of brand name stores. There is a Columbia Sportswear. Robinson's is the anchor property, occupying several floors at one end of the mall. Pretty much anything that you need can be found. There is a Top's grocery store in the basement. There are bookstores, computer stores, beauty outlets, banks, pharmacies, and weight-loss franchises.

I enjoy cruising past the weight-loss shops, as they often have their uniformed staff standing in front of them offering brochures and promising amazing results. I am a very large man. I am very much their target demographic. When they ask me if I am interested in weight loss, I ask them, "are you saying that I am fat?" I put a lot of mock outrage in the question. It is all in good fun, but it is not obvious to them at the outset. So I play with them a bit. I keep myself entertained. Few things are more enjoyable in life than teasing Thai girls. Ask the chubby ones if they patronize the establishment. You get the idea.

The cinema is on the 6th floor. It is the same, wonderful movie experience offered in all other Bangkok cinemas: reclining VIP couches in the back, reserved seating throughout, plush seats, teetering on the edge of too hot, with alcoholic beverages available. Like theaters worldwide, the nachos, the hot dogs, the potato chips, the popcorn, and the soft drinks and even the bottled water are insultingly expensive, but they are better, somehow, in Bangkok theaters, compared to anywhere else. This mall has digital theaters, and 3D is supported, though there is no IMAX, as can be found at Siam Paragon.

Dining options abound. There are tons of unfamiliar restaurants, all waiting to be discovered. Some are pretty good. Some are bad. The worst that I have experienced is Cucina by CalderazzO. This restaurant purports to offer Italian food. It is invariably vacant. When you eat there, you will know why. The food is terrible. The indisputable champ of Italian dining in this mall is at the Spaghetti Factory. This restaurant is far from perfect, but it is consistent, and as long as you know what to order, you will walk away more or less satisfied. Just do not order a pizza there, and be advised that portion sizes are not generous. Even the meat platter appetizer is barely sufficient for two gourmands. If you are sharing it among a family of four, it will be gone in a blink.

There is a Sizzler's, which can be a relatively affordable option, if you confine yourself to the salad bar. Do not think that this is such a sacrifice, as the salad bar also offers surprisingly good soups, and it has pastas and at least two sauces, usually a cream sauce and a tomato sauce. So you can load up on salad, and scratch your variety itch with either pasta or soup. I do not recommend steak at Sizzler's. If you want a real steak in Bangkok, you have to go to an establishment like the Landmark Hotel, or a Marriott.

If you want pizza, there is a Pizza Hut. Get your pizza there, rather than at the Spaghetti Factory. There is a KFC. There is a McDonald's. You can get sushi and sashimi and Japanese noodles. There are so many restaurants in this mall that a hungry man could easily spend a week just testing the ones that appeal to him, omitting those that look strange, or unappetizing.

The bathrooms are a scandal. For a new shopping mall of this size to have bathrooms that already look 20 years old is perplexing, and I cannot understand why the management believes that there is nothing wrong with sinks that have live electrical wires hanging beneath them. Somebody is going to get electrocuted. When it happens, I sincerely hope that the victims sue the pants off of the owners of this mall. The materials used in the design of the bathrooms at Central Plaza Grand Rama 9 look worn and dirty, and when you consider that this mall is not even a year old, you shudder to imagine how the bathrooms will look on successive anniversaries.

I cannot rail enough about the terrible condition of the bathrooms. Most handicapped bathrooms have doors that cannot be locked from within, with broken latches. There are no sanitary hoses, much less any Japanese robotic toilet seats. I strongly advise taking a pack of baby wipes in with you when utilizing the facilities at this mall. You will need them. I do not want to touch anything in these bathrooms. Not even the door handles. Especially not the toilet flush handles.

Whatever executive made the decisions about the bathrooms in Central Plaza Grand Rama 9 should be ashamed of himself. I sincerely hope that this review percolates up the layers of management to end up on the desk of the CEO of the owning corporation. Someone needs to lose face. Someone went cheap, and you can really tell.

Fortunately, there is a Starbucks on the ground floor, by the main entrance. You can access the MRT Underground there by walking outside, or you can directly walk into the station below ground on the basement level of the mall. This is a real convenience, especially during the rainy season. The only other malls with this sort of convenience are the Emporium, which adjoins the Prom Phong SkyTrain station, and Siam Paragon, which adjoins the Siam SkyTrain station. You can also take a covered skywalk to CentralWorld from the SkyTrain, but it is a long, sweaty walk. For some reason, an underground connection to the MRT at the Esplanade shopping center has not been opened, even though provision was made for it when the mall was built several years ago. There is a blank wall promising access to the Underground, a promise which has not been kept.

There is scads of parking at Central Plaza Grand Rama 9. The people-watching is spotty, for some reason. I do not know why Bangkok's beauties do not flock to this mall, as it has entire floors dedicated to nail salons and hair salons and spas and establishments offering facials and all manner of skin conditioning. There are pretty girls here. But Esplanade has more of them, as does Emporium. Even CentralWorld, perhaps the behemoth of Bangkok malls, is a better destination for girl-watching. There are public benches distributed around the concourses of Central Plaza Grand Rama 9. Hard, plastic benches that are long on aesthetics, and very short on comfort. They look cool, but your posterior will ache if you sit for longer than a little while. If your womenfolk are shopping, find yourself a restaurant to sit in. You will not want to while away an afternoon on the benches in the concourses.

Hope that this helps. Enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Enjoyable shopping experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We actually took a cab from Holiday Inn Bangkok to Fortune Town/City to buy IT stuff and since this mall was just across the road, we used the underpass meant for the MRT (underground subway) to get across.

This place is not as crowded as Siam Paragon. Easy to navigate and looks like it is owned by a Singaporean company due to the fact that both food courts are Singaporean (Kopitiam and Food Republic).

We shopped at Narai Phand for Thai bags/pouches for gifts. Hubby had ice cream at Freshy Freeze (similar to Cold Stone Creamery) which uses mostly fresh fruits. Bought plenty of clothes from AIIZ. There is a huge Robinsons there and in the basement, the are many stalls with creative clothes targeted at those in the late teens to early thirties.

There is also Krispy Creme there but the doughnuts at this branch were kind of tough. Not worth it.

Easy to get a taxi back to hotel but beware the traffic delays. Might be better to use the MRT and change to BTS at Asok station.

Hope that helps.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
528 reviews 528 reviews
342 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“One of the best shopping malls in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The mall opened last December 2011. It has quickly become one of the best shopping centers in town. It holds lots of animations. It is not only a pleasant place to be for shopping or relaxation, but it has a vast array of shops and entertainments. The top floor has a Cineplex, an ice-rink, an amusement park for children, many restaurants and a newly opened Fitness First. The 6th Floor food court is one of the best in Bangkok: pleasant, nicely decorated, great choice of foods and drinks and very reasonable prices. Robinson Department store has opened an outlet there. There are many electronics outlets: Mac, Sony, Panasonic,etc. Most of the brand names can also be found there: Lacoste, Yves Rocher, L'Occitane, Levis, etc. There are many cafes among which the ubiquitous Starbucks. Tops supermarket is on the lower level and the mall is directly connected to the MRT line / Rama 9.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Plaza Grand Rama 9 also viewed

 

Been to Central Plaza Grand Rama 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Plaza Grand Rama 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.