We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jim Thompson Cafe 9

Jim Thompson Cafe 9
9 Surawong Rd, Bangkok, Thailand
0-2632-8100
Improve this listing
Ranked #544 of 8,519 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had lunch recently here during 5 days in Bangkok. The restaurant is very relaxing away from the noise of Bangkok streets. We sat outside next to the koi ponds. We both ordered curries which were very tasty and hot, authentic not watered down for the western palate. Will definately go back next time we are in Bangkok.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try thai iced tea!!!! Yumm!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The cafe is very relaxing, we sat inside ...they had beautiful pink ambiance in their wall, thai silk as the decoration ....it was comforting and also beautifull and they also had good aircon .....because in bangkok every day is a sunny day:):) we ordered 3 meals: green curry, pad thai, n some spicy delicious chicken as a cheft recommendation....the food was nice my favorite is the chicken ....but my favorite is their thai tea, you must ordered their thai iced tea ...it was amazingly good....very recommended, please do not order some softdrinks since you are in thailand:):)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Venue & Good Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A good venue to visit and experience with a good mix of thai and international food options! Well worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“wonderful haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We sat in the outdoor bar area and had small plates, which were quite good (papaya salad with shrimp, for example). The ambiance is lovely and a haven from Bangkok's bustle. We saw next to the koi pond and enjoyed the vista of the house and grounds. The food is more in line with US prices and the wine, in particular, is overpriced. They have a 2-for-1 wine happy hour from 4.30 - to about 7.30, as I recall. That makes the wine price doable. However, they call it "1-for-1" and even though we quizzed the server at length specifically with this question, she did not make it clear that we had to order exactly the same wine (even tho' they are all priced the same) to get the offer. Her manager gave us what we were led to believe was the correct price, but buyer beware here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great for lunch while visiting the house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Good food and Service.
Traditional Thai. All dishes were well served. Portions are a bit small. Price range medium / high. Five people paid almost 4000 baths. 
I loved the cheese cake. One of the best I have ever eaten. Quite environment. Very good staff. 

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Thompson Cafe 9 also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Jim Thompson Cafe 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim Thompson Cafe 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.