We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but bad housekeeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Swana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Swana Hotel to your Saves list
Siam Swana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   359/1 Soi Phayanak, Phetchaburi Rd., Phayathai Bangkok, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 467 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice place but bad housekeeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Siam Swana with a friend for 5 nights while we were in Bangkok. Location is good, easy to find, few minutes walk from the BTS station. Do note that BTS stations do not have lifts or escalators so you have to carry your own luggage up and down the stairs from BTS station if you take the train to the hotel. The hotel is located down the alley next to Asia Hotel, the alley is safe and there are a few Thai massage shops and restaurants along the street. Just opposite the hotel is a 7 Eleven and there are many stalls open for dinner and supper at night outside 7 Eleven. There is a pharmacy right around the corner behind of 7 Eleven.

Room decor was quite good, a bit dark in my opinion, no windows. Bathroom is very small and compact, basin is outside. Aircondition was a little noisy. There is no lift so you will have to climb the stairs. When we checked-in, we already noticed that the room was not very clean, we could see some rubbish and hair on the dark tile floor. Everyday after we were back from our shopping and the room was cleaned by housekeeping, it was the same thing, they did not do a good job in sweeping the floor. We had to call them to sweep again. The housekeeping was pretty bad overall.

Receptionists were friendly and speak English. We had an early flight back and they helped us to call a taxi. They are ever-ready to help you with any questions or requests that you have.

In conclusion, the hotel is nice and modern, location is good but I would have to think twice if I'm returning to this hotel again as the rooms has no windows and the hotel has no lifts, hopefully housekeeping will be rectified soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have no windows, so don't bother asking for one that has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    89
    45
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
71
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dingo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Man, we rocked up in our cab with 4 people and a ton of luggage and the staff was all over it! They ran up and took all of our bags to the reception and would let us carry anything. It was great. So much enthusiasm!

The rooms were very clean and man the beds were soft. The rooms were slightly small but hotel in a great location and very friendly staff.

A little pricey but would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days upon arriving in Bangkok. Reasonably central and only 2mins walk to skytrain station; very handy.
Our room was very clean, facilities were good but room a bit on the small side.
Nice pool and reception area. Free wi-fi but charge for internet.

Overall a good hotel to stay at for a brief period and for a budget hotel we would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochiminh City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great place for whoever look for a convenience hotel in Bangkok. beside that, the Sushi restaurant in front of the hotel is a best sushi restaurant in Bangkok ( in my opinion). The room is small but we only stay after a day trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I love this boutique hotel so much, not only with the nice decor of the hotel but also its proximity to anything in bangkok...

1 minute walk to trains...
1 minute walk to thai massage
2 minutes walk to bars
10 minute walking to the famous MBK shopping mall...

so much thing to do in this place... super recommended to my friends!

Room Tip: all rooms ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice design small boutique style hotel with a mini pool at the front yard, 2 minutes walking to the BTS. Good for young travelers with affordable price. There is a famous Japanese Restaurant attached to the hotel but very pricy. Can find cheap street food and pharmacy walking further down to the road.

Very friendly and helpful staff!

Have to bring your own adapter, because they have limited adapter lend for guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were on the third floor, no elevator but had great help carrying up and down our very large suitcases. Price was absolutely great-room failed to cool to a good temp-it was cooler when we closed the bathroom door. Good location for Sky train and excellent opportunities to purchase food from the local vendors. Laundry services right around the corner, 7-11 across the street, wonderful massage and pedicure across the street also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Swana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Swana Hotel

Address: 359/1 Soi Phayanak, Phetchaburi Rd., Phayathai Bangkok, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siam Swana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Siam Swana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Swana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.