We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Skyy Hotel to your Saves list
Skyy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88/8 Sukhumvit Soi 1,Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey-Nua,Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Kanpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent location and services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in Skyy Hotel for 3 nights with the most comfortable rooms.where service is very good , and a ever smiling staff makes it even better.

Most ideally located, with all eating hubs just a 5-10 min walk away makes it better for the tourist.

Definitely recommended for anyone visiting Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
23
23
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Skyy hotel
Location.
Quiet & somewhat hidden location on Soi 1 in Sukhumvit behind the Bumrungrad hospital.
Closest station is Plhoen Chit station on BTS Sky train, this is around 5-7 minute walk to hotel take exit 4 walk cross the road where KFC is and continue up street, it is on right hand side next to hospital. To get to hotel from Airport, easiest and cheapest way is to take airtrain playa Thai (20 minutes) change on to bts sky train towards Bearing, and get off at Plhoen Chit. Total time from airport 45 minutes to hotel door and will cost 45bht.
Within the area there is the lively Arabic Soi 3 with many shops and restaurants. Nana Plaza is also close by.
Room
Artistically designed looking room, bright white walls with artwork on back wall mirrors with good colourings. The room had a large Samsung TV with many channels and a whole control unit next to bed whereby there is a USB, hDMI, computer port and audio cables so one could connect multiple devices to watch on TV. Above this was a very cool touch pad light control system which was very convenient considering this is no less than 6 different light options one of which is blue and many lighting are below or hidden under furniture creating a relaxing ambient environment. In addition there is flexible reading lights each side of bed. The room also has a comfortable sofa futon style with cushion, a comfortable large bed with soft pillows-slept very well.
The bathroom is also designed artistically with slate flooring and a strong working shower head with a generous amount of amenities.
Facilities
Minimal facilities at this boutique hotel, a small restaurant on the same floor as the reception, again with a lot of artistic furniture. It is rather small but cosy with a balcony. There is a massage place next door in which the menu is in the room but believe this is a separate business, other than that did not notice any other facilities.
Staff
Really friendly and lovely staff, spoke good English were helpful amd always smiled with eye contact. Felt very welcomed at this hotel.
Overall it was an enjoyable experience staying at this small boutique and exceptionally clean hotel, look forward to staying here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed in Skyy Hotel for one night after extending my stay in Bangkok for one night (the previous hotel was fully booked for that night). I paid the walk-in rate which was VERY reasonable - i could have got it cheaper online but I didn’t want to faf around looking for a deal.

Needless to say, the hotel is in a great location in Soi 1, with a 7 Eleven right next door, local food stalls right outside if you wish or simply eat in the hotel, the food was delicious. I had the chicken satay which was very nice as a snack.

The rooms are clean, well kept and everything you need for a comfortable stay. I called for an Iron and within 5 mins there was a knock on my door! The front staff were really helpful in getting me a taxi to the airport and making sure it was metered and safe. If your looking for a hotel in Sukhumvit which is slightly cheaper but not compromising on quality then this is one to look at.

Thank you to all the staff at Skyy Hotel in making my stay comfortable on my final night in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Skyy hotel for four nights. The location on Sukhumvit Soi 1 was good, just a five minute walk to Phloen Chit BTS station. We had booked a room with a balcony which at first we were not given. However, once we showed the hotel voucher we were 'upgraded' to a different room. The rooms are very modern but really rather small. Our room came with plasma tv, air con, tea and coffee making facilities, an excellent bed and large shower room that unfortunately did not seem capable of delivering consistent hot water. Breakfast was included, it was a buffet and was really rather poor given the hotel's four star rating. If they could sort out the water heating problem and breakfast this would be a really good hotel. That said we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a large balcony. The small balconies are blocked off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

ideal location beside the bumrungrad hospital which is the only reason i can see anyone would want to come to this city .
alas not for me but back to the hotel only opened a short time ago 12 months or so .
go the 20 quid a night extra for the suite room its bigger. buffet style breakfast spotless and clean
rooms and hotel are as shown online and despite some reviews i found that all the staff very polite etc.
would book again no problem book online direct with hotel for best price asia rooms expedia etc all came up more expensive anyway happy travelling. ps for transport to and from airport www.bangkoklimo.com just excellent reasonable rates and first class service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Only 2 blocks from the main entrance to the hospital with a budget price compared with the other accommodation near by . Provide a large rooms with nice bed and bathrooms . The reception staff are slightly rude when dealing with the costumer . I thing the hotel management should assign a reception team which can deal with the patients and there family with a slightly sympathy way since that most of the people there are sifting form diseases and other medical problem . Mints walking for the main attraction of shopping and dinning .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYY Hotel S, Manager at Skyy Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We understand that medical clients are more sensitive to situations, and we will work with your suggestions to see where we should improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel it located just past the entrance to Bumrungrad hospital. If you choose this hotel, be aware that there are two other hotels on the same street, soi, with the similar name: Sky and Sky Suites hotel. This hotel, spelled with two 'y's' is further down from either one. This is important info for the taxi driver! As for the hotel itself, is is new'ish'. I think it opened in Feb '12. Because of this, it is clean and modern. The bathrooms are very spacious - especially the showers. The bed too was very comfortable. The room size was ok. Enough room for two people to move around in. We had a king size bed on the 4th floor with a balcony. It was surprisingly quiet (over looked e street). The BTS ( sky train) was in easy walking distance ( just up to the Main Street, turn right and walk across two intersections and you are there). Central World was one stop beyond.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We, however, did not care for the breakfast buffet. It was slim pickings for a healthy eater. The coffee too was horrible. Obviously the person who makes it is not a coffee drinker!
There is no pool or gym, which is unfortunate. We would have liked one.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have balconies which gives you more room. Also, suggest 4th or 5 th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYY Hotel S, Manager at Skyy Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest, we thank you for your detailed description of our property and also for your suggestions. We have worked on the points your raised, and hope to serve you better on your next visit with us. Even though we do not have a gym and a pool, we have arranged for other facilities on site that clients may enjoy, that of reasonably priced beauty salon, foot massage and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skyy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyy Hotel

Address: 88/8 Sukhumvit Soi 1,Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey-Nua,Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skyy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKYY HOTEL is a City Boutique Art hotel. The Interior follows the feel of the sky through the day. Rooms on each floor features a different theme, which is accented in the hand painted headboard and art piece, flooring and bathroom mosaic. All rooms and public are handicapped accessible. As a city hotel, SKYY is designed to be environmentally friendly in all its systems, electrical, air-conditioning, lifts, water and plumbing. We are IT friendly and offer, ADSL, free wi-fi, Blu Ray DVD player, IPOD/IPAD/IPHONE docks and Business Center. Additionally, for all our guest from different parts of the world, we have 40 channel satellite TV, offering entertainment in many foreign languages. Services available on site are Beauty salon, Foot and Body Spa (opening June, 2012), 7/11 convenience store (opening Sept. 2012), GSBank Xpress Money transfer & exchange, and a Tour and Limousine Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Skyy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.