We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity Amongst The Chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel So Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel So Bangkok to your Saves list
Sofitel So Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special code 25-35% Off
Ranked #20 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Serenity Amongst The Chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The chaotic pace of Bangkok comes to an abrupt stop the second you step through the doors of Sofitel So Bangkok. It is as though every member of the staff has been instructed to ensure that your stay is nothing but the very best. From the moment they greet you to the moment they say good-bye they make sure that your every wish is granted. The rooms are beautiful, the beds divine, and the views spectacular. To top it all off, the breakfast buffet (which was complimentary) was one of the best meals we had on our vacation. I highly recommend th Sofitel So Bangkok to anyone staying in Bangkok. You won't regret it, and you won't soon forget it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Khun Jim A,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

What a wonderful feedback and recommendation here. It is very refreshing to know that you had a fantastic stay at So Bangkok, particularly with the service provided by our team. Thank you so much!

We truly hope this will continue and we will do our very best to make your stay enjoyable and memorable!

Until we meet again.

So Kind Regards,

Akira Y (Ms)
Director of Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    373
    87
    34
    35
See reviews for
207
875
199
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

First i will get the down sides out of the way. We booked a club king suite in the wood element room. On arriving we were taken to the club area for a drink we were left waiting quite sometime to get all our bits and pieces. After a 4 hour taxi ride from Hua Hin this was not a welcome delay. The club area is large and very modern and stylish although some of the furnishings are worn. I have stayed at places that offer a better club with regards to the food on offer. Service was slow in the club lounge on taking a break from shopping we thought we'd get a quick drink before going up to the room. We ordered 2 drinks then waited 25mins, we just got up and walked out which shocked the french receptionist, when asking why we were leaving we explained and she said making a coffee took time. We just left. The club food on offer was limited i've stayed at places for the same price that have pretty much everything you could want with a variety of hot foods. Here there was your usual mini sandwiches, mini cakes and jellies but nothing compared to other places i have stayed in Thailand. The check in and out was prompt and all staff were pleasant and polite. The room service was good and the food was good. The room was a good space with outstanding views overlooking the city, the bed was in the corner of the room where there was all glass meaning you could lay in bed and over look the city. The bathroom was stylish with a huge deep bath. The bar area was very stylish and busy. I know i may sound very grumpy here but the only thing that annoyed me was that we took 2 lifts to our room and outside every lift was a staff member, regardless of if you had been up and down 50 times a day every time you exited the lift you were greeted with an over the top greeting and chatted to death. - bit grumpy i know but i felt a bit harassed at times. I got to the point where i was rude and ignored them. There is a restaurant within the hotel where it is a buffet, the food was of not very good quality for the price. I do not each fish so the options like pasta etc available i tried and were poor quality, you can eat better in the city. Although the desserts were yummy! I short tuck tuck ride to the city centre but take a mini map of your hotel with you as due to the language barrier a few times the drivers took us to sofitel bangkok and not so sofitel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Khun akdjajaral


Sowasdee ka from Sofitel SO Bangkok!

We really appreciate you took the time to share the feedback and good recommendation about your recent expereince while staying at Sofitel So Bangkok.

It is delightful to learn that overall you had a lovely stay. However, we are very sorry to hear that the service at Club Signature was delayed and our associate did not handle and respond to your queiry reasonably. This has been addressed to Mr. Barruti, Director of Rooms to follow up and make sure for proper rectification. Please accept our sincerest apologies on that.

Furthermore, the mini-sandwich, cakes and cookies are set for the afternoon tea. We hope you had the chance to enjoy the evening cocktails and canape hours after that from 5-7 pm as each day, the menu will be rotated per theme cuisine; Mexican, Japanese, Thai, Italian, French, Indian and Australian BBQ.
As for the vegetarian and pasta dishes at the Red Oven in the buffet, made to order dishes are also available. I am sorry that you found both experiences were not as expected.

Khun akdjajaral, please do accept our sincere apologies once again for the disappointment you had experienced.
While I realize there's nothing we can do to change the past, it is very important for us to restore your trust and confident, and therefore, we would like to have the chance to welcome you back and better serve you with a more typical and usual high standards that we are proud of.
Should you consider this, please allow me to be the main contact person to assist you with necessary arrangements. I will make sure your visit will be seamless and excellent.
Kindly feel free to drop me an email via H6835-GM2@sofitel.com and I will get back to you shortly.

Wishing you a lovely week ahead!

So Kind Regards

Akira Y. P. (Mrs.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I love this hotel so so so much, I have stayed in every element and love them all. As soon as you step in the hotel it smells like delicious chocolate from their chocolate shop. The pool area has the most amazing view. You will not get better service anywhere, this place is pure luxury. The deep baths overlooking the city or Lumpini park are heaven. Breakfast here is the best breakfast I have ever eaten, everything from eggs benedict to lavender icecream. I could go on forever about this place, just stay here !!!. I really recommend a club room package, the food in the clubroom is yum as are the free cocktails. I want to be there now !

Room Tip: get a room as high as possible to enjoy the view, sitting on the window seat over looking the lit up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Khun Sara_the_expl0rer,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Looks like you have found your second home in Sofitel So. Great! Thank you so much.

We hope your plan will bring you back to Bangkok once again and So bangkok will receive the opportunity to welcome you back,as we love to see you as our regular guest!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Director of Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here for two nights on my way through BKK coming home from my holiday. It's a great place if you're looking to relax for a couple of days, and offers superb value for money. The gym is good, and the pool/sun deck area is great for catching a few rays. The rooms are nice too - I recommend the 'earth' rooms. The service is probably the best thing about the Sofitel So though. The management went out of their way to compensate me for some issues with my booking, and Laila in Guest Relations is an asset to Sofitel - she went beyond the call of duty to help us out with things a couple of times. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Earth rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Khun Rob H,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you for taking time to give us a wonderful feedback and recommendation here in TripAdvisor. Also, I have share your kind message to Laila. She's sending her best regards to you.

I am delighted to invite you to experience some hotel facilites we have, cooking show at Park Society on the 29th floor and you could also try So Spa for your relaxation from the whole day trip in Bangkok. Please come back soon, as we love to welcome you as our regular guest!

Until we meet again!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Director of Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

5 REASONS YOU WANT TO STAY AT SOFITEL SO BANGKOK

1. That unmistakable Thai hospitality. From the moment you arrive til the day you leave. We had the privilege to be served by Laila, one of their ever attentive guest relations officers. Their uniforms designed by Christian Lacroix is also a feast to the eyes.

2. Storytelling. A stay at Sofitel So Bangkok is like being part of a storied journey. The complimentary welcome drink is accompanied with a Thai fable, under-the-water projections on the Lobby's elevator floor, Siamese fighting fish in mini aquariums that adorns your room to the conversation pieces dotting around the hotel.

3. Lumpini Park. It's safe to say that Sofitel So Bangkok has the best view of the park. Reminiscent to Central Park, New York. All of it's restaurants, bars & pool boasts this spectacular view and make sure you request for the SO COMFY water element room to get the best park view in the house.

4. The Infinity Pool. A great place to just wind down and bask under the sun. Swim mid-air & wade along the edges. And if you like a touch of Bangkok's social scene, Sofitel So Pool Party is the party to attend is becoming a staple in Bangkok's social calendar.

5. The Room. We picked the SO COMFY room with water element theme. LOVE IT! There's a nook for your luggage which also acts as a little boudoir and on the other side is the bathroom with a bathtub overlooking Lumpini Park. And oh, all of the items in the mini bar is on the house and also comes with a coffee machine. HEAVEN!

I know I will be returning to this hotel soon. Thank you!

Room Tip: Request for the SO COMFY room (Water theme) facing the Lumpini Park. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Khun 0ChrisHo,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

What a very fantastic feedback and recommendation we got here in TripAdvisor from you! Thank you so much!

It is our pleasure to welcome you as our regular guest at Sofitel So. Please don't go away for too long, since looks like you have found your second home!

Until we meet again!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Director of Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at the hotel 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is beautiful as it has been designed by Christian Lacroix.... and has a beautiful view on Lumpini Park !!
The rooms are great but what I liked the most was the system on the TV ! You can have all info needed on the hotel, the city, menus... but you can also transform it into a computer and charge your emails, music, content very easily thanks to the MacMini System ! Another way to feel like home :)
I really do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Khun Margaux A,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you for taking time give us a wonderful feedback and recommendation here in TripAdvisor!

Please don't go away for too long, and we are really looking forward to see you again, as we love to welcome you as our regular guest.

I am inviting to experience our relaxing So Spa and beautiful view while having dinner at Park Society on the 29th floor and more!

Until we meet again!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Director of Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel So Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Bangkok

Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 30-storey urban design hotel in Bangkok, created by a reputable Thai Architect and five Thai interior designers, linked to French elegance by Monsieur Christian Lacroix, Sofitel So Bangkok offers themed accommodation inspired by the Five Elements; Water, Earth, Wood, Metal and Fire. Adjacent to Lumpini Park, business and entertainment districts, with easy access to Lumpini Subway and Saladaeng Skytrain station. The hotel is located 25km from Suvarnabhumi airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel So Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel So Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.